We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“As good as it can get! Excellent accomodations...”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Saint-Sorlin-en-Bugey, Ain, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
ModestoSe...
Modesto, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“As good as it can get! Excellent accomodations, peaceful, enchanting village in a scenic Rhone valley. Best ever.”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Where to begin? For our 8 family members (3 couples,2 single) this was the most relaxing, delightful, enchanting even, vacation together.
The HOSPITALITY of Isabelle and Serge was incomparable, they were as welcoming as longtime friends or family would be. Isabelle helped overcome some of our travel problems as several came from various parts and at different times (namely picked up our son at Amberieux train when we got delayed en route from Paris) and there were many more instances of their gracious welcome.
The GITE was exactly as presented in the detailed description and accompanying photos, but what could not be included was the beauty of the area. The house was very spacious, 5 large bedrooms (queen or more bed), some with nearby antechambers to acommodate a single bed. Some bedrooms had an additional single bed (for a child?), and 4 full bathrooms, and 4 or 5 WC. The fully equipped large kitchen made it easy to prepare meals as we all enjoy cooking. The dining/living room area offered plenty of elbow room for dining and relaxing. The back patio/vineyard and BBQ served us well. We used the available bicycles to stroll alongside the Rhone, passing various castles old and older, as we rode to a neighboring village for a beer by the river. ALL TRUE, no exaggeration!
The REGION with the enchanting beautiful village of Saint Sorlin, the surrounding Rhone Valley, and many nearby medieval villages, the friendliness of the residents we met. A true wonderland of pristine beauty. Did we mention ancient Roman ruins?
WHY WE WENT: Booked the Gite for 17days, June 2016, as an anchor to Lyon (35km) where we booked to see Euro 2016 football cup. As exciting as the games were, I wished we did not have so many games (6) so that we could pass more time in the village and savor the peace and serene beauty of the environment. So quiet! Wake up to birds singing over the vineyard behind the house, see a couple of deer, and wonder of the medieval castle ruins above head. Or maybe awakened by the tempting aromas of the fresh baked bread/croissants two doors down. The cafe restaurant (very good) around the corner invites you for a morning coffee and croissant of the terrace. The beautiful Rhone Valley and river half mile away with bike/walking trails,
If you are still reading, I may have convinced you that this is a REALLY nice place to stay at. But for selfish reasons (we want to return) I hope you think it too good to be true. Well, Isabelle and Serge made it that wonderful, they are the nicest of people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting, the friendliness of Isabelle/Serge, the house is splendidly appointed, the area enchanting.
Liked least: there is nothing to not like!, There are small stairwells between floors that may limit older folks or with mobility problems
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain M
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salimadal...
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
Google Translation

Traveling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joël c
Lyon, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Avec mes amis
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Meursault, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
Google Translation

Traveling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOCESERAF...
Belvaux, Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
Google Translation

Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priscilla...
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
Google Translation

Traveling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing