We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the view and grounds!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orondo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Canyon Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orondo
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Can't beat the view and grounds!”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

- Decor and finishing is extremely tasteful for a resort/timeshare
- View from pool and hot tub is seldom rivaled
- Fantastic decks
- Quiet, private, peaceful setting
- Wonderful walk/jog path (somewhat hilly, not too challenging)
- 20 minutes to very popular Chelan
- Family water vacation paradise
- Economy has resulted in some struggles for resort, but overall - still an absolutely great place to stay (we were there during their busiest weeks)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iheartagreatroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hope, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Although we enjoyed our time in Orondo - The 2 bedroom suite we were in was of ill repair. Reeked of vomit, filthy carpets with many things broken in the room. The hideabed had springs poking through. Staff did nothing to address our complaints about the broken air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miker023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orondo, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

http://www.desertcanyon.com/ Is for the golf course, but the hotel there is very nice and Corwin who manages the property run by Homestead Northwest always make us feel welcomed and is very gracious!
The hotel has great deals, and the mid week golf is some of the best that Washington has to offer!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arlin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed at Desert Canyon the last week of May was wonderful. The condo had almost everything that we needed. What we did need (detergent, soap, extra towels, etc.) we were able to get at the front desk. The employees were always pleasant and helpful. The golf course looks fantastic, though we were there to visit family in nearby Chelan, not golf. The jacuzzi was just a few steps away, and was always clean and available. This resort sits above the Columbia River, a bit isolated and beautiful. This is a perfect place for vacationers looking to get away from the city. The only downfall was that wherever we needed to go we had to travel some distance. The Cider Works (a great little convenience store) has fresh donuts and a demonstration on how apple cider is made. This is about five miles from the resort, and the closest store. So the traveler needs to be aware that for anything substantial they would need to drive to Wenatchee or Lake Chelan, both beautiful small cities.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRCarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainier
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Lovely setting on awesome golf course with scenic foothills in the distance. Spacious, posh room. Quiet, out of the way but midway between Wenatchee and Lake Chelan (20 miles). Cool restaurant with good food is perched on a bluff with killer panoramic views. Romantic place.

Daroga State Park boat ramp is just down the hill for boating on the Columbia River. Wine tasting in Chelan. Ohme Gardens in Wenatchee. Mt. biking around the golf course. Premier golf course. Simple groceries available 6 miles away at Orondo Cider Mill. Water sports are amazing if the wind is still.

  • Liked — beautiful seclusion with fine amenities and access to resort areas and boating
  • Disliked — desk wasn't too knowledeable about local resources. this place is isolated (a plus for us)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chimprowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 23, 2004

My Husband and I went to Desert Canyon Golf Resort expecting a mediocre vacation because of the low prices compared to other high-end golf resorts. We were very pleasantly suprised to find 5-star accomodations and a absolutely beautiful golf course. Our room had a fantastic kitchen with granite countertops and an amazing view of the golf course. The staff was also pleasant and the food at the restaurant on-site was fabulous. We were most pleased with the challenging golf course. It had the most amazing views of the river and mountains. Although the location is a tad remote it was definitely a relaxing wonderful vacation.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 6, 2004

I stayed at the Great Links Resort @ Desert Canyon August of 2004. Resort Lodge in Wenatchee, come on? Its true, just outside of Wenatchee on a premier golf course. Our room was huge, full kitchen, top of the line everything! Package deals for your stay and golf! Staff was professional and very friendly! If you are planning on staying in Wenatchee and playing golf you HAVE TO CHECK THIS PLACE OUT!

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orondo
20.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wenatchee
11.3 mi away
Campbell's Resort on Lake Chelan
19.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Wenatchee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 16 in Wenatchee
512 reviews
11.6 mi away
Deep Water Inn
Deep Water Inn
#4 of 11 in Chelan
163 reviews
21.1 mi away
Coast Wenatchee Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Canyon Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Canyon Golf Resort

Property: Desert Canyon Golf Resort
Address: 1201 Desert Canyon Blvd, Orondo, WA 98843-9630
Location: United States > Washington > Orondo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orondo
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Desert Canyon Golf Hotel Orondo
Desert Canyon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing