We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Family Gathering at Heartwood House”
Review of Heartwood House

Heartwood House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orcas Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heartwood House
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Orcas Island
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this vacation rental. Our eight family members, including a one-year old and 4 year old gathered at Heartwood House a week or so ago for a few days. The house is not only beautiful and spacious but almost anything we could have possibly needed from beach towels to games to coffee to high chair and pack-n-play were available for our use.

We made use of the wonderful hot-tub with a view of the Sound, as well as the hammock, firepit and sauna. A spacious kitchen and large grill filled all our needs for cooking. We were about 10-15 minute walk down to the cute village of Eastsound.

Heartwood, which is used often for retreats, excudes peace and tranquility. Even if your vacation has rainy days, you won't feel disappointed because you will be taking a vacation in this house. Pictures do not do it justice.

Room Tip: You should note that there really are only three bedrooms. Two of them have slightly removed alcove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eghow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Myself and my friends recently stayed at Heartwood house for a small reunion. We were greeted by Gretchen and Paul upon arrival. They pointed us in the right direction for all our needs and made us feel right at home. The house was built by a ship builder, so there is beautiful timber structure throughout and it is tastefully furnished and decorated. The house has 2 stoves, with an ample supply of timber. There is a sauna, hot tub and an outdoor fireplace for a campfire and a few songs! These features offered much fun and relaxation for everyone. The village of Eastsound is a five minute walk away. It is a pretty little village with interesting shops and good places to eat. The house has plenty of trees around it and has a view of the bay. I would recommend Heartwood house to anyone, the only problem is going back to reality after your stay!

Slán agus beannacht,

David O' Malley
County Mayo, Ireland

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I stayed at Heartwood House for two days during the Christmas holidays and I had a terrific time! On arrival, I met with Gretchen, who was extremely accommodating and welcoming - great tips on things to do and see on the island including restaurants and cafes; really enjoyed the home cooking at Olga's Cafe especially the Blackberry pie!!!

The house is beautiful and very cosy with great views!From start to finish I had a wonderful time - trust me when I say that it was very hard leaving Heartwood House to return to a busy city life.

Thanks a million for a lovely stay and in the words of Arnie "I will be back!"

Michelle Quinn
Vancouver, BC.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelle q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My family (three members) and our cousins (three members) had the pleasure of staying at Heartwood House over the summer holidays and it was just amazing!!! It is a short walk to the lovely town of East sound with numerous restaurants and wonderful markets each weekend.
The house is fantastic with everything you need to just move in and relax and there is heaps of room for the kids to play.
Highly recommend Heartwood house!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cath1478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orcas Island
0.3 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
5 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
252 reviews
6.6 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
271 reviews
11.7 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
165 reviews
12 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartwood House

Address: 70 Langell Ln, Box 1952, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9275
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Orcas Island
Price Range: $395 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heartwood House is a beautiful, handcrafted post and beam home, located a short walk from the picturesque village of Eastsound on Orcas Island. The Island Cedar, Alder and Madrona woods used to build Heartwood create a warm and welcoming feeling as soon as you enter the house. Relax on the deck or in the Great Room while enjoying a serene southerly view of Eastsound Bay. An ideal destination for vacations, family reunions, workshops and retreats. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing