We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Orcas Island
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Cap’n Mac makes the experience great!

My wife and I came to the San Juan islands for our honeymoon. We had a very loose plan. We came... read more

Reviewed September 19, 2019
78bronzechariot
,
Red Bud, Illinois
Convertible in the Sky!!!

Stu and his wife Roni are delightful!!! They are so welcoming and quick to respond to requests. You... read more

Reviewed September 9, 2019
Karen M
Read all 56 reviews
  
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
56
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
56
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews biplane ride his wife bi plane open cockpit captain mac san juan islands excellent pilot nervous flyer visiting orcas island surrounding islands highlight of our trip fabulous experience exhilarating experience flying experience roni stu airplane
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 56 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2017

What a way to experience the San Juan Islands!
And more than that, it is so satisfying to be in the good hands of Stuart and Roni MacPherson whose enjoyment of hosting this experience is obvious.
We enjoyed last summer's flight so much we wanted to fly again this year. We let Roni know as soon as we firmed up our vacation plans and had a Wednesday date to fly on the calendar. The weather was so good on Monday that my wife and I stopped in at the airfield to see if there might be an opening to take advantage of the great weather. Cap'n Mac and Roni said "absolutely!" and away we flew.
This flight was even better than that of the year before! And that's hard for us to imagine! Cap'n Mac is a wonderful pilot - attentive to air conditions, the flying experience and area interests of his flight guests, and to residents and travelers below us as Cap'n Mac maneuvered the plane thrillingly while keeping a respectful distance.
Such an enjoyable and awesome experience! We were giddy and smiling and had to remember to give the "thumbs up" or point to places of interest.
Whereas last year we camped on Cascade Lake and Cap'n Mac highlighted that area as well as Rosario and Mt. Constitution, this year we really appreciated the "flight plan" attention given to areas in the north and west - Sucia, West Beach, Waldron, Deer Harbor, Shaw. We enjoyed a great overview of the area last year, which was thrillingly enhanced this year.
My wife and I are so pleased and place these flights at the top of our Orcas and life experiences.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank duckabush_nk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

What an exciting experience! Captain Mac was very friendly and trustworthy. We loved our adventure from beginning to end. Thank you for sharing your expertise, airplane and amazing island views!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank MPetersL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017

Cap'n Mac BiPlane Rides- a random connection on a 20 hour visit to Orcas, it was the highlight of our visit. Stu MacPherson (Cap'n Mac) gave a detailed explanation of the flight, what we would see, answered numerous questions and made sure we had two basic hand signals to say "more please" or "don't do any more." The ride was gentle, pleasant, scenic and historical. His knowledge of barnstorming and story about how he got hooked in flying biplanes were inspiring and informative.
Would do this trip again in a heartbeat when we make it back to Orcas.
Felt the pricing was fair for the value received.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017

I reached out to Stu and Roni, last minute because I saw them soaring above. Not only did they squeeze us in a ride, but it was an absolutely amazing experience. Could not recommend this more! The view, the service, the planed, the ride- amazing! Thank you for such a fun end to the trip. n

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Emmi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017

Stu MacPherson, ably assisted by his wife Roni, are wonderful hosts. Stu is an accomplished pilot (8000 hours). And his vintage perfectly restored 1927 TravelAir 4000 biplane is a thing of beauty. Stu will accommodate your personal temerity or sense of adventure in conducting your flight. Beautiful way to see Orcas and neighboring islands - fantastic views. But you need to watch the weather, clouds and/or wind will make it or break it. Stu is very careful to pick the right conditions - be prepared to amend yours if a "glory hole" opens up and take advantage of it. My lady went up for the first time ever in a single engine, much less an open air one and has not stopped talking about it every since. Thanks Stu, Roni

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews