We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute booking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Turtleback Farm Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Orcas Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Last minute booking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We called the Turtleback Farm Inn in a pinch when we had to change our travel plans for the evening. My partner and I took the last room available, "The Nook." This room really was a nook and was barely big enough to fit the double size bed and faced the main entrance to the farm house, so there was slightly less privacy. That being said, the bathroom was spacious and had a lovely large claw foot soaker tub. For a one night stay, on short notice we were very comfortable in the room.

Upon arrival we were also advised to look through the menus of all of the restaurants on the island (we also received suggestions and recommendations) and were told it was best to make a reservation in advance. We ended up appreciating this quite a lot, as most places were booked quite solidly even late in the season and we heard some other grumbling couples leaving the restaurant when they arrived without reservations later that evening.

The breakfast was quite tasty and was accompanied by wonderful service. We will definitely visit again, though we will try and get one of the larger suites next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    24
    6
    7
    0
See reviews for
19
61
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We visited Orcas island a few weeks ago with friends who were recovering from a serios illness. Everyone was helpful,great recommendation for dinner.. pleasant place until the morning when they had COLD showers. The owners were told and were only concerned that there was no hot water for the dishwasher! We never heard from them afterward with an apology..nothing. Would think twice aBout telling anyone else to stay there since they do not care about their guests. We were unhappy because this was our special treat and the first outing after a long illness
Judigraff@comcast.net

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed our last night on Orcas Island here. They were very helpful and gave us good advise. Enjoyed the clean fresh air and peaceful setting. Especially enjoyed the organic unfiltered apple juice for breakfast. You may need the ear plugs which they provide since it is an old farm house.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accord, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a sister reunion last wk in Washington state, chose Orcas isl as one of our stops and decided since a whale watch or kayak excursion took half the day we would spend the nite...
This B and B was a only a couple miles from the ferry in the west sound in a bucolic setting, the Inn overlooked a pasture with grazing sheep in the foreground with Turtleback mt looming in the distance; we were offered several selections of tea or coffee and opened a bottle of wine we had brought while sitting on our attached deck; we were invited to stroll around the 70 acre property and mingled with Chompers and her 2 lambs. Accommodations were cozy and bed linens and room decor were tastefully chosen, several CD's were stacked on a bedside table to choose for our listening pleasure.
A full breakfast was served in a cheery dining room with the same spacious views;
The proprietors and their dedicated staff worked together to make our stay memorable and relaxing; a great local restaurant was a mile down the street and overlooked a small marina and bay.
Turtleback Farm Inn is a special find and great value...
Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kayakcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a beautiful island and a wonderful B&B. Old farm décor with antiques and period furniture. The folks running the place were very nice and gave us good info on what to do on the island. The setting was very peaceful and the air smelled great. We left the windows open every night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We actually came here in 2011. Had a lovely experience here. Hosts were thoughtful and gave us local advice/ help and privacy. We enjoyed chess in the main room, breakfast in the morning and a fantastic stay. Lovely grounds and nice home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel2012_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I happened on this treasure while we were on vacation. What a beautiful location, rooms are charming and clean; staff was extremely helpful the breakfast was full on; decor was very nice; Bill and Susan thought of everything for each room. We had beautiful views, setting is very tranquil, cows, sheep, chickens (at a distance!), deer, we enjoyed the walks around the farm. We stayed in the original house, a more modern second structure is also on the property. I thought the price was excellent for all that we got.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orcas Island
2.9 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
3.4 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
4.5 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#1 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
9.5 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtleback Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtleback Farm Inn

Property: Turtleback Farm Inn
Address: 1981 Crow Valley Rd, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Orcas Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Orcas, the loveliest of the San Juan Islands, this landmark inn offers 80 acres of tranquil countryside with grazing sheep, crowing roosters, shimmering ponds and well-tended gardens. The restored "folk national" Farmhouse and newer Orchard House provide a haven for those anxious to experience the wide range of farm and island activities: gather fresh eggs, watch sheep shearing in the spring, go whale watching, sea kayaking, deep sea and fresh water fishing, birding, hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Turtleback Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing