We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtleback Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Turtleback Farm Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Orcas Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed our last night on Orcas Island here. They were very helpful and gave us good advise. Enjoyed the clean fresh air and peaceful setting. Especially enjoyed the organic unfiltered apple juice for breakfast. You may need the ear plugs which they provide since it is an old farm house.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    24
    6
    7
    0
See reviews for
18
61
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Accord, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a sister reunion last wk in Washington state, chose Orcas isl as one of our stops and decided since a whale watch or kayak excursion took half the day we would spend the nite...
This B and B was a only a couple miles from the ferry in the west sound in a bucolic setting, the Inn overlooked a pasture with grazing sheep in the foreground with Turtleback mt looming in the distance; we were offered several selections of tea or coffee and opened a bottle of wine we had brought while sitting on our attached deck; we were invited to stroll around the 70 acre property and mingled with Chompers and her 2 lambs. Accommodations were cozy and bed linens and room decor were tastefully chosen, several CD's were stacked on a bedside table to choose for our listening pleasure.
A full breakfast was served in a cheery dining room with the same spacious views;
The proprietors and their dedicated staff worked together to make our stay memorable and relaxing; a great local restaurant was a mile down the street and overlooked a small marina and bay.
Turtleback Farm Inn is a special find and great value...
Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kayakcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a beautiful island and a wonderful B&B. Old farm décor with antiques and period furniture. The folks running the place were very nice and gave us good info on what to do on the island. The setting was very peaceful and the air smelled great. We left the windows open every night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We actually came here in 2011. Had a lovely experience here. Hosts were thoughtful and gave us local advice/ help and privacy. We enjoyed chess in the main room, breakfast in the morning and a fantastic stay. Lovely grounds and nice home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel2012_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I happened on this treasure while we were on vacation. What a beautiful location, rooms are charming and clean; staff was extremely helpful the breakfast was full on; decor was very nice; Bill and Susan thought of everything for each room. We had beautiful views, setting is very tranquil, cows, sheep, chickens (at a distance!), deer, we enjoyed the walks around the farm. We stayed in the original house, a more modern second structure is also on the property. I thought the price was excellent for all that we got.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This bed and breakfast is the best my family and I have ever stayed at: excellent hospitality, clean rooms, quaint decor, delicious breakfast, delicious afternoon cookies! The owners were extremely helpful with anything you needed such as driving directions, restaurants, shops, what to do on the island, and allowing guests to walk around their farm meadow. Not to mention how easy it was to book a room and have it look exactly the way it is pictured on their website. My family had never been to Orcas Island before and staying at the Turtleback Inn made our trip amazing! The only thing better was seeing the Orca Whales on our whale watching trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The woman (Susan) who did all the work seemed overworked and a bit cranky. She checked us in and cooked and served breakfast which was not very good. Eggs overcooked, toasted muffin cold and dried up. We have traveled a lot and stayed in many B and B's. We thought this was the worst of any.

Room Tip: ask for a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fensterSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orcas Island
3.5 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
9.5 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
2.8 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
9.8 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtleback Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtleback Farm Inn

Property: Turtleback Farm Inn
Address: 1981 Crow Valley Rd, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Orcas Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Orcas, the loveliest of the San Juan Islands, this landmark inn offers 80 acres of tranquil countryside with grazing sheep, crowing roosters, shimmering ponds and well-tended gardens. The restored "folk national" Farmhouse and newer Orchard House provide a haven for those anxious to experience the wide range of farm and island activities: gather fresh eggs, watch sheep shearing in the spring, go whale watching, sea kayaking, deep sea and fresh water fishing, birding, hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Turtleback Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing