We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay with Susan and Bill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turtleback Farm Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Orcas Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“A lovely stay with Susan and Bill”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My girlfriend and I went for a short trip to Orcas and found turtleback inn on Google. It's a lovely little farm with cute, clean rooms. We stayed in the valley room which had a beautiful view of the farm valley below the farm house. It was really foggy in the valley in the morning which was a nice effect. Breakfast was great, and the farm allowed us to take a nice little stroll before we headed in to town for dinner. Sitting by the fire with some of the guests at night felt quite rustic and relaxing. Overall a great stay, and we'll definitely be coming back. Thanks Bill and Susan!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vijayb1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    24
    6
    7
    0
See reviews for
19
62
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Inn is beautiful as is the land on which it is situated. Susan, the owner, was aloof and seemed disinterested in us as her guests, which detracted from our overall experience. The Inn is spotless and the rooms nicely set up, but they could use some updating in regards to the bedding and towels, which should have been retired awhile back. The breakfasts were average and disappointing considering the hype that we had read about them. The food presentation was lacking and the portions were small. The young assistants were great but could not make up for the other negative factors. We would not return nor recommend this Inn to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisB0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Upon our arrival Innkeeper Samantha greeted us at Turtleback Farms. She was very detailed in explaining about the Inn, helped us with dinner reservations and what to see and do in the area.
Our room Valley View was very spacious with comfortable chairs and a sofa to relax and great light for reading. We enjoyed sitting out on our deck with French doors leading out to a grassy are for our dog to play. She really enjoyed playing with Matt, Susan and Bill's dog.
The room had lovely wooden floors with nice rugs and a great old claw foot bath tub. The relaxation that we felt and the quiet peacefulness of the inn will be remembered for a long while.
We really thought the evening sherry and homemade dessert cookies were a nice touch to come back to in the evening after dinner as well as the roaring fire in the gathering room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhwytreehuggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I lucked out. This was one of the only rooms available on Orcas Island on the weekend I planned to propose to my fiance. We stayed in the Orchard House. We flew in on a float plane into West Sound from Seattle, and it is a short drive to the inn from the marina. I let the owners know I was going to propose to my spouse there, and they were very helpful in making this weekend special. We dropped off our luggage, and went for picnic on the property which is well kept, yet not overly groomed (which would make if feel less authentic). We returned to our room, which I conspired to have decorated with flowers before hand (with help from some family and friends). The double doors to the porch were open, providing a wide view of the valley. The sun was setting and it was gorgeous. We had dinner at the porch table, where I proposed. The whole stay was magical, and the tub is definitely big enough for two ;)

Room Tip: I would recommend the Orchard house, 2nd floor. That has an incredible view of the whole farm, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Turtleback Farm Inn has a great reputation which must be keeping it occupied. The location is beautiful however the inn needs to be updated starting with the mattresses, pillows, and towels which were way past an acceptable standard.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookieLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

A very well-run property. We stayed in the main farmhouse in a room at the front of the house. Breakfast was lovely. One morning we ate on the terrace and watched sheep grazing in the fields below. The inn is comfortably furnished, making us feel as if we were in a home. I especially appreciated the tasteful decor and the conspicuous lack of anything overly cutesy or faux country. My single complaint is that we heard the noise of breakfast preparations from the dining room in the early morning. I don't know when I will be back in the San Juan Islands, but when I am I will stay at the Turtleback Farm Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
177 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

This is our third stay at the Turtleback Farm and over the past twenty it's remained as good as ever. The charming inkeepers, Bill and Susan, are gracious hosts. We've only stayed in the Meadow View and Valley View rooms in the original farmhouse, but I suspect all of the others are as comfortable as these. The breakfasts prepared by Susan are scrumptous! Orcas Island is a great getaway with plenty of good restaurants and activities or just an opportunity to relax.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fisheggs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orcas Island
2.9 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
3.4 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
4.5 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#1 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
9.5 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtleback Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtleback Farm Inn

Property: Turtleback Farm Inn
Address: 1981 Crow Valley Rd, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Orcas Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Orcas, the loveliest of the San Juan Islands, this landmark inn offers 80 acres of tranquil countryside with grazing sheep, crowing roosters, shimmering ponds and well-tended gardens. The restored "folk national" Farmhouse and newer Orchard House provide a haven for those anxious to experience the wide range of farm and island activities: gather fresh eggs, watch sheep shearing in the spring, go whale watching, sea kayaking, deep sea and fresh water fishing, birding, hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Turtleback Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing