We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go only if you want a great bed.”
Review of Swantown Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swantown Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 8 Olympia B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington state
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Go only if you want a great bed.”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Swantown Inn boasts great beds -- and it is very true that they are. Casey is a great cook and the food is wonderful, if you like cold scones. If only they would keep them warm and serve them with butter and jam. The entrees were very good. The railing going up the stairs to the rooms needed some good elbow grease and soap, but the room itself was quite clean. A look under the bed revealed left over paper that should have been spotted by housekeeping. There was no extra toilet paper in the room either. The selection of CDs was a nice addition to the room. I appreciated the ceiling fan and the linens were wonderful. If you want breakfast at a different time than they select, forget it. Nathan is friendly but unbending on many things. Watch out also for the prices on their website. The price listed is for one occupant only. If you have a couple, the price increases. Be forewarned. It is in a nice residential area of Olympia and Nathan is eager to tell you about the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gdalelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetBloke, Owner at Swantown Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
I am sorry our scones are not what you were expecting. We bake our scones fresh every morning, but they are always flavored scones, not a traditional English scone that we would serve cream (or butter) and jam with. As for their warmth, we do bake them from scratch every morning, they are usually ready about 20 minutes or so before breakfast for early guests to enjoy with a cup of coffee or tea if they wish. If we were to keep them warm in the oven, in the kitchen, they wouldn't be nearly as moist as they are or available for our early risers. From looking at your booking I would say that the scones you had during your stay were probably our maple pecan and on the second morning either our blueberry or cranberry walnut scones, all of which are frequently requested by return guests and raved about by others.

The front railing does have quite a few years of wax and polish on it, as it is original to the house, but does regularly get cleaned as well as the door handles, light switches and other items that are frequently touched.

As for the pricing, I am not sure what pricing you saw. I checked our website, which was recently updated, and it lists the price of the Percival room (the room you stayed in) as $129 per night, which is the rate for two people, although the rate for one person is less at $119, which may have shown up if you started the reservation process online before you called to make the reservation.

It is true that on the weekend (Sat, Sun and holidays) we serve breakfast at 9am. There are a few reasons behind that. We work at the inn full time, we don't get weekends off, and during this time period we are gearing up for our busiest time of year and often go months without a break or day off. The weekends are a chance for us to have an opportunity to sleep in. Many of our guests are also taking a break and welcome the chance to sleep in plus if we have guests eating all at the same time we can prepare breakfasts that we are unable to prepare for guests when they are eating at all different times (during the week we serve breakfast typically as early as 8am and as late as 9am, but for some business travelers, guests departing for the airport, etc will do breakfast at 7:30am). Some examples of those recipes are our savory herb bread pudding and savory thyme egg bake which are baked in one dish and then portioned out eight ways.

All of our guest rooms are stocked with an extra roll of toilet paper, in the Percival room it is located under the sink. Also we do not enter their room to service it unless the hang tag is out saying it needs servicing. We want our guests to think of their room as a sanctuary, knowing that no one is going to enter unless permission is given. During your stay the tag was not put out, otherwise we would have noticed the roll of toilet paper and swapped it out for you. You are correct that the paper under the bed should have been rectified before your arrival.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Olympia and that your next search for lodging provides you with something that better suits your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    15
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
76
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2012

At first glace this place looks amazing, walking in your greeted by Nathan in such a welcoming manner. The rooms : ) oh my goodness the rooms are amazing, Jeff and I stayed in the Percival room and it was perfect. The room was gorgeous and very romantic, and spacious. Casey's breakfast's are fantastic.. I dont usually like berries and the decadent french toast was so delicious that I did not even care, not to mention that their two children are they cutest little things. This was our first bed and breakfast and because of this experience we will stay in them again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeeStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetBloke, Owner at Swantown Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Hi Judee,

We are so glad you and Jeff enjoyed your getaway here during your anniversary and that we were able to introduce you to the bed and breakfast experience. May your many years ahead of you in married life take you to other great experiences! Thank you again for your high praises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Generally I'm not keen on B&B's for many reasons including most of the time queen size beds vs. big people beds. As I looked at hotels/Inns in the area they all seemed to have average ratings, while the Swantown Inn had 5's across the board. We stayed in the Columbia Room for two nights. While I'm not big on walking across the hallway to a private bathroom, we were rewarded in that it is large and very workable.

Columbia has a very nice king size bed and our entire experience was excellent. What really makes this B&B a delight--is not the brick and mortar---but the inn-keepers. Both are gregarious and interesting people who are also interested in you and your experiences----even though they've been doing this for 7 years.

The B'fasts were excellent and the location quiet, yet we were close to everything. Nice place---nice people.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthBay_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetBloke, Owner at Swantown Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for your compliments. We do think that we offer something above and beyond our local hotel counterparts! The Columbia room is our only guest room with the bathroom not attached to the room, but you are correct that it makes up for that fact by being a larger bathroom. And as a bonus all of our rooms feature the same comfortable king size mattresses! We hope if your travels bring you back this way you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
272 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

This place was quite nice, the breakfast was great and the beds were super comfortable, and the linens so soft. While Olympia is not my favourite destination to travel to, this Inn made it great.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JD778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We found this BB in the intenret for celebrating our wedding aniversary. Beautiful building, clean rooms, nice service by the host Nathan and Kacey. Close to everything in Olympia. The breakfasts were delisious. We would go again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipi2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Nice room, very clean, excellent service from the pleasant inn keepers. Good location near downtown.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2012

The food each morning was so good, that I wish I would have asked for the recipes. Also, the innkeepers were so nice and gave us some great suggestions for dinner. If you like b&b’s or would like to try a b&b, this is a great place to go. While you are there, get a massage at their day spa which is in the attic. It was a very relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: If you pay a little more, you can get a bathroom attached to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetBloke, Owner at Swantown Inn & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thanks for the nice review! Let me point out though that you don't need to pay more for an attached bathroom. The Columbia Room (which has a large private bathroom across the hall) is the same price as the Percival Room (which has an attached bathroom). We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olympia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
2.8 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
1.0 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swantown Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swantown Inn & Spa

Property: Swantown Inn & Spa
Address: 1431 11th Ave SE, Olympia, WA 98501-2411
Location: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swantown Inn & Spa, is a Bed & Breakfast Retreat, featuring four guest rooms, each with a private bathroom and a three course gourmet breakfast provided each morning. The Innkeepers have an in depth knowledge of local restaurants and attractions, which will help make your stay even more memorable. WIFI is available at no cost and guests have access to a computer with a laser printer. We also feature an on site day spa, staffed by Licensed Massage Therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Swantown Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing