We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feast for the eyes on a romantic, secluded estate”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olympia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Mallard Cove
Ranked #1 of 8 Olympia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, TN
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Feast for the eyes on a romantic, secluded estate”
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Loved it. The Inn at Mallard Cove is absolutely gorgeous- the house, the grounds, the view of Puget Sound. We enjoyed our stay very much. The owners, Don and Linda are the perfect hosts, quiet and unobtrusive, but have thought of everything and are available for any needs. Breakfast was beautifully prepared and served. My only regret is that we only got to stay one night . If we are in the area again, we will definitely try to stay there and next time, hopefully for two or more nights.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank IsabellaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
141
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2007

A really great choice for a relaxing B&B in a private, but easily accessible, semi-rural location with a fine view of Puget sound.

The food was excellent, and the host and hostess (Don and Linda) took care of our every need.

We used this as the central point to visit Seattle, Mt. Rainier, Mt. St. Helens, and Olympic National Park, all easy day's drives.

It was a pleasure to return each evening.

D&D from CA

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank DandDfromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2007

I have just completed a 5 night stay at this B&B. My husband was supposed to be with me on our vacation, but our plans changed, so I was there alone taking care of personal business in the area. I highly recommend it for the 'single' traveler.

I was made to feel at home from the moment I made the reservations and then had to change the dates of my stay. Don and Linda are nothing if not the perfect hosts. The scenery, the peace and quiet, the FOOD and the inn itself was perfection in all ways for this traveler.

This area rarely gets hot weather, and it came in briefly while I was there. The innkeepers did everything in their power to make their guests as comfortable as they could during this brief hot spell. Cool marine air helped them in this endeavor. It was the place to be!

The views, the grounds, the house itself is peaceful and beautifully kept. If you want some pampering or want to take a loved one for a treat of pampering and relaxation, this is the place!

  • Liked — Hospitality and great food
  • Disliked — A bit out of the way when doing business in Olympia (but I liked the quiet of the area too)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank moodyblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2007

The Inn at Mallard Cove is a unique experience. One is directly in touch with nature, but close to the Seattle/Bellevue urban area. Linda and Don, the inn keepers, go out of their way to make your stay special, including a full, formal breakfast made from scratch. All aspects of the stay contribute to a semi-religious renewal of the spirit and one leaves with a fresh outlook on life. It's the perfect vacation or alternative to sterile commercial hotels. Whether one stays for a day or a week, the experience is unforgettable, especially the raccoon show each evening and early morning. A car is a necessity.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CaptainPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2007

My mother and I stayed here in June 2007 for one night. We would have loved to stay much longer! It was the best B & B I have ever experienced.....and I do mean an experience! The attention to detail was astounding both in our room and in the many common areas which we had access ....the library room had floor to ceiling books (with a moving ladder to reach top shelves) and comfy chairs. The room next to it had an huge fireplace with 2 couches and afgans to cuddle up with a book or watch the big screen TV....also a compter at desk area and another desk for reading or writing. We had warm homemade cookies and beverages in the evening...delicious! The innkeepers, Don and Linda, made you feel like long time friends, their attention to detail was extraordinary. We stayed in the Garden Room, 4 poster bed with canopy,exquisite decor,candles surrounding the Jaquzzi tub, lavendar bath salts and soap (even a ziplock to take home the handmade soap). Gas fireplaces in each room, slippers and fluffy robes, many
other things too numerous to mention. All rooms had a balcony .Breakfast was served in a dining room looking out to the water, trees, and animals (racoons feeding on a distant deck) of the Olympia Pininsula. The delicious breakfast was served on china and crystal. Don attended to each guest, filling up coffee cups and juice glasses and serving the courses.
12 arces serenity awaited you outside, trails to the beach, lovely gardens and even kayaking ! We'll have to go back for that. Our stay will be longer next time! Thank you Don and Linda for unique inn experience....recommended too all!

  • Liked — The rooms, setting and innkeepers...excellent!
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything!
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Iluvitalysicily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Our stay at the Inn at Mallard Cove was exceptional. The innkeepers were fabulous, and made us feel so special from the minute we walked in. The rooms are gorgeous, views amazing from each one. We enjoyed walking around the grounds and seeing some neat wildlife. The breakfast was so delicious. We can't say enough about this place. We definetely plan to be back, if not make it a yearly place to escape! Even though we were only there for one short night, it really felt like we got away from our busy life.

  • Liked — The room and the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mitta56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

The innkeepers, Don and Linda, have provided their fortunate guests with every possible comfort in a beautiful home where good taste and generosity prevail. The surroundings are inviting too, the shoreline being accessible from the deck, and both beach and surrounding woodland providing haven for many lovely birds. Superb food exquisitely served, ready advice and helpful sugggestions, a most comfortable sitting room and attached library--all these provide an ambiance conducive to staying longer than we, alas, were able to do. I would like to think we could return, and certainly we recommend both place and people to other travellers.

  • Liked — Friendliness of hosts
  • Disliked — dog seemed less than friendly
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hetty7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olympia hotels
9.8 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
5.5 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
1,170 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
8.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
8.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mallard Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mallard Cove

Property: The Inn at Mallard Cove
Address: 5025 Meridian Rd NE, Olympia, WA 98516-2340
Location: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is an elegant waterfront English Tudor estate on fourteen secluded, heavily forested acres. Awesome views of Puget Sound. Private beach. Gardens galore. Rooms so comfortable and breakfasts so delicious you won't want to leave! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing