We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ala Carte menu on a Sunday”
Review of Budd Bay Cafe

Budd Bay Cafe
Ranked #4 of 349 Restaurants in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
NZ
Level 6 Contributor
815 reviews
493 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Ala Carte menu on a Sunday”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Super friendly service and lovely view of the marina in a slightly tired building.
Salads were fine. Salmon was the star today as the COPPERs were in ..early copper done on a cedar plank with uninteresting rice and veg, Slightly over done fish could not mask the quality of the salmon = very good instead of excellent.
terrific spot to meet old friends for a leisurely Sunday ala carte lunch.
Nearby diners were hoe ing into what looked liked a whale of a buffet & they looked delighted!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    241
    81
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Sunday Buffet Brunch in Olympia!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Sunday buffet at Budd Bay is phenomenal! Lots of choices, always fresh, and the servers keep your water and coffee cup filled, The views are the best, no matter where you're sitting you have a drop dead gorgeous view of the water and marina. This is one spot you do NOT want to miss in Olympia. Their lunch and dinners are also pretty darn good with lots of fresh choices as well as some of the regular "stand-bys". Go enjoy a wonderful meal at the Budd Bay Cafe!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Lunch on a Spring Day”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had the Cioppino for lunch sitting by the bay on a partly cloudy spring day. The food was excellent with a real tomato base. Great service. I couldn't ask for more. Glad the hotel staff recommended the place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food with a view”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The restaurant is right on the boardwalk with outside seating available. Inside, tables are in front of the huge windows and booths are across the isle on a slightly elevated platform so every seat has a great view of West Bay Marina. The dining room is fairly quiet and you can have an intimate conversation without feeling like the next table over is listening to you. There is also a small bar area adjacent to the main dining room.

Service is great and the food is excellent. Last visit we started off with crab cakes that were very tasty. For an entrée I had Blackened Salmon with twice-baked garlic mashed potato, perfectly done asparagus, and a very nice dinner salad. My wife had the combo Crab and Shrimp Louie. Both meals were excellent and the Louie was exceptional. We did not have wine, but there is a fine selection of Northwest wines available.

Because of the location on the marina, the atmosphere is classy but not pretentious. You can dress as casual or formal as you want without feeling out of place. Prices are reasonable for a quality dining experience and I highly recommend it for couples, friends and special occasions. It is family friendly but definitely not a bargain for families with lots of kids.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yoda98513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what it used to be!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I started going to Budd Bay in the 90's-and it was the best! My husband and I tried to feel good about it but the last time we were there--food was just food! Staff were new to us and not as friendly--but when we would go for lunch-the bartender named David was always awesome. The minute we walked in he would say "hey guys-how are you" but same old menu-not as friendly-and we haven't been there for months!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saltbox2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budd Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing