We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho hum!”

Nisqually Red Wind Casino
Ranked #7 of 57 things to do in Olympia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Red Wind Casino specializes in gaming, dining and entertainment in the greater Olympia area. We're now Redder Than Ever. Clean Air: We've added more than 42,000 sq. feet of smoke-free gaming and dining. Check out our smoke-free slots, bar and all new Medicine Creek Deli! New, Updated and Renovated Restaurants: In addition to remodeling the Blue Camas Buffet, the Medicine Creek Deli and the Squalli-Absch Grille, we've also opened a brand new fine dining seafood restaurant named std tulcak which means "food from the water" in the Lushootseed language. More than 1,400 Slots: We now offer the latest releases while still maintaining your timeless favorites in both our smoke-free gaming area and our main casino floor. We also offer a full array of table games including craps, roulette, blackjack, Pai Gow, three card poker along with Keno and Speed Keno. Nisqually Red Wind Casino opened its doors in May of 1997.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

First of all I got my birth day free meal, good crab, shrimp, green salad, prime rib was dried out, other meats were like something out of a tv dinner. There weren't many people in the buffet at this time, seated at a super small table, nobody around to refresh plate to put crab carcasses on, did it myself, hard to get extra napkins. So I went to gamble....wrong! Lost $20 in about 8 minuets, there's always b.d. Time next year to eat crab and shrimp!

4  Thank Reubentinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 180 of 213 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

The main dining room serves an "Early Bird" dinner prior to 6 PM and Prime Rib is one of there specialties. In my opinion, it is the best prime rib in the county for the price (seniors early-bird price is about $9!)

1  Thank GeoJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWindCasino, Guest Relations Manager at Nisqually Red Wind Casino, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2016

Hi GeoJerry and thank you for your review! We still offer Sublime Time (early bird dining) for all of our guests at the Squalli-Absch Grille and we now offer a special Eventide menu (early bird) for everyone in our Seafood Restaurant! We hope to see you again and that you'll let us know what you think! Thank you again for your review and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We checked on line before going to this casino and the reviews were just average. So, being in the area for the day decided to try it for ourselves. It is a very busy casino and the slots seemed to be about average but looser than say The Point or Seven Cedars. It is an older casino but clean and people are friendly even though we did not see many.
Buffet was not that good. Prime Rib okay but everything else just average. I had a dessert and could have used it to play hockey. Ask for a fresh one and it was the same. Will go
back if in the area though. Good selection of machines.

1  Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWindCasino, Manager at Nisqually Red Wind Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

We are happy that you chose to stop in and visit while you were in the area. We appreciate your feedback about your experience at the Buffet and will work to improve so that you don’t have this problem on your next visit. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

All three eateries are reliable. The Buffet is fantastic, the dining room is good and the deli is good.

2  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWindCasino, Manager at Nisqually Red Wind Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for visiting us and your review of our café and buffet. We appreciate your business and hope that you will join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The smoke in the casino is a big turn off to those of us who do not smoke. there are never enough games in the "non smoking" area of the casino to bring me back again. It's a shame because I think there are more people who don't smoke nowadays.

3  Thank USN_Seabee_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWindCasino, Guest Relations Manager at Nisqually Red Wind Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2016

Hello USN_Seabee_Wife, we definitely understand your concern of smoke being a turn off when it comes to casino. We take guest concerns seriously and use them to improve your next visit. Our guests wanted a new non-smoking section and we're very happy to announce that in 2015 we completed our expansion and as a result we've added 42,000 sq. ft. of smoke-free gaming for our guests to enjoy. We've also revamped our air filtration system in our smoking section as well. We do hope that you'll give us another chance and check out the changes we've made! Thank you again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nisqually Red Wind Casino also viewed

 

Been to Nisqually Red Wind Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing