We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kid's loved this!”

Hands On Children's Museum
Ranked #1 of 56 things to do in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Interactive exhibits teach children through activities.
Kennewick, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Kid's loved this!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We are grandparents of a 2 year old and a 3 year old. We went on a very cold and rainy Sunday and arrived right at 11:00 am - opening time and it didn't really get too busy until after 12:00. We were pretty impressed with all of the great play areas we were able to get to in the short time we were there. The kids loved the kitchen and grocery store. The 2 year old loved the water features. It was such a good visit that we bought the deluxe family package. It includes tickets for our daughter, her husband and children plus two extra tickets for guests every time they visit. The membership also includes discounts on the cafe and gift store. I think kids could spend most of the day there on just one floor. With all the rain Olympia gets it's just a smart investment. I agree with others here that it's best for each child to have a parent or caregiver watching them. One, the older kids tend to run the little ones over and it's good for parents on both sides to keep close watch. Two, it seems the museum doesn't have a security system to keep kids with parents like they do in churches, etc. Olympia has a lot of great features but this Children's museum should be at the very top of your must see and do list!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JZSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    59
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not for older kids...”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

this museum is very nice and has lots of activities...I took my 11 year old niece and we were board. lots of little kids having fun and it was good to support our local community. The age group would probably fit toddlers best and some 6-8.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sddelichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun for everyone”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Like the title says...this place is great for all ages. There is always something new to discover. Great way to spend a rainy day in Oly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank olygirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“once a week visit! ”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a great option for olympia families. Watch out for weekend and holiday crowds....and bring some purell, it tends to breed germs,as most of these kid places do! It truely is a gem! The cafe also offers great heakthy options for families.

Helpful?
1 Thank jillpikkle
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Had an awesome time!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We're from Indianapolis (which has the largest children's museum in the world) and decided to visit the Olympia Children's museum (to compare obviously :P) on a visit to my family in Lacey, Wa. We had a great time! Plenty of science labs to work with, and an art center where you can play with clay / putty etc on the second floor. The outside is neat for the kids to play in. We adults had a fun time playing in the sound decibel measuring room (you can scream as loud as you like in it and it measures how loud the scream was - what a way to let out the frustration lol).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ata A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hands On Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Hands On Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing