We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Shine On Red Lion Olympia"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"Shine On Red Lion Olympia"”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Once again, the Red Lion Olympia and it's team of employees excelled. From check in to check out, everyone so genuinely friendly and happy. Every year the grounds around the hotel just keep getting prettier. The setting for this hotel is awsome nestled in the beautiful trees overlooking the lake while watching an occasional deer saunder through the brush. Happy hour in the lounge is a treat, you can look over the grounds, the pool and the gazebos with the hanging fushia, so relaxing and picturesque. This hotel has it all from the large comfortable rooms and the mattress are wonderful. What I really love is driving from the hotel to downtown at the top of the hill, you have a beautiful view of the sound and harbor with the boats, and then town is just about 4 minutes away and fun to breeze through, especially the Farmers Market and Labor Day activities. The Red Lion Hotel is the perfect place to stay in Olympia, it has it all!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    295
    169
    71
    50
See reviews for
196
218
33
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

While participating in the Harbor Days event in Olympia, we stayed at the Red Lion for four nights. This was our first time there and we were very happy with the choice. The hotel is set in the trees and is very quiet and peaceful. It was only an enjoyable 5 minute drive from the hotel to the event at Columbia and State Sts. via a road that bordered a lovely lake.

Upon entering the lobby to check in, we were warmly greeted and our check-in was fast and efficient. It was so nice coming back to our room after a long day and finding a neat, clean and re-stocked room. Very much appreciated and we never saw any sign of maid service.

On our first evening we enjoyed sitting in the lounge looking out on the lake, trees, a beautifully manicured lawn, pool, gazebo, etc. So relaxing!! And, because we were there before 7 pm, we had half price appetizers and reduced cost drinks! :-)

The beds are very comfortable, the bed linens soft and plenty of towels. The room was very clean, spacious with a good TV, and a microwave and mini refrigerator, which we had requested. And, the best part was, the A/C worked very well and provided a "white noise" effect! :-)

Check out was just as efficient and check-in and the desk clerk seemed genuinely interested in the reason for our visit and in how we enjoyed our stay. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jxnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I've been on an extended consulting engagement in the Olympia area and have selected the Red Lion, staying 4 nights a week for the past 10 months. Over this time, the staff has been very consciensous to make me feel welcome and safe (the exact reason I choose the Red Lion vs. an apartment that was offered to me). I also appreciated the hotel was 'dog friendly' and accomodated the few weeks I brought my dog with the ground floor room and a thoughtful dog-treat bag each week he was with me. The Olympia Red Lion operation is fine tuned with an exceptional staff, a wonderful setting, good food, and a safe environment. Julie R. ~ Vancouver WA.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We held an event here with over 30 rooms booked, the RL staff did a very good job of helping and assisting our needs. The Hotel grouped us together into one wing which made the coming and going easier and much less disruptive for other guest. We found that the restaurant was very good and that the breakfast buffet a good value with good food. Although an older property, we like the large rooms and it is suprisingly quite for being close to the the freeway. Also great that it is close to Capital Mall for shoping/eating. Downtown Olympia is very close and a fun place to go. The entire group had positive remarks for the RL staff and assistance that they gave us. We would use this location again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground floor in the summer and you can lounge on the grass in the evenings with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 904star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here for one night to go to a funeral the next day. Check-in was very smooth and the front desk staff were really friendly. The room keys you get look somewhat like a USB flash drive, which is where our first problem began. The age of the hotel is apparent and we had to ask someone from maintenance come and fix our door lock. The gentlemen who fixed it was apologetic and nice and fixed it quickly. The room we had was very clean and the beds were comfortable, although I take my own memory foam pillow with me to any hotel I stay at. The TV stand had a broken door, so another call to maintenance! Again fixed quickly. Nights were enjoyable with no noise from the halls or outside. Pool is roomy and is free from any debris and the hot tub is nice and relaxing.

Despite the two initial hiccups we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Quiet location near an office and business center. Just over a mile from The State Capitol and downtown Olympia. Well kept property with lots of free parking out front and a nice outdoor pool and grassy courtyard out back. Check in was prompt and courteous. Rooms were fairly large and quiet with comfy beds. Overall nice hotel.

Room Tip: We booked at a substantial discount online. I am fairly certain most rooms are very quiet in this pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fish-Fun-Seaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed one night on a business trip. There was a dog show in the area, so lots of dogs staying in the hotel. Not a problem for me, but it was for one of my coworkers who is allergic. I couldn't get the first floor vending machine to accept any of my dollar bills (tried 5 different ones). Room decor was a bit dated and drab, and the blackout curtain on smallish window (overlooking the parking lot) was about an inch short so let in a lot of light, but the bed was comfortable and I had no serious complaints. I didn't try the restaurant but several coworkers complained about the less-than-stellar food at breakfast. Some of our group was told that breakfast was included with their room, and others (including me) weren't told anything about it--even though most of us were paying the same rate. Other than that, the hotel staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TM_Trademark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olympia hotels
4.4 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
1,156 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
1.2 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion

Property: Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Address: 2300 Evergreen Park Dr SW, Olympia, WA 98502-6008 (Formerly WestCoast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion we put you close to the heart of the city, and near all the best experiences. We have stunning views of Capitol Lake and surrounding wooded areas, set on 12 lush acres. With upgraded, newly renovated, hotel amenities and features including convenient travel packages, we provide you with a satisfying hotel stay guaranteed. Each of our spacious 193 Olympia accommodations offers premium amenities, modern comfort, and casual luxury for all travelers. Pillow-top mattresses and tripled-sheeted beds let you sleep easy. Our newly renovated guest rooms include all the hotel amenities travelers need, from free Wi-Fi to microwaves and refrigerators, we keep our traveler in mind. We're even a pet-friendly hotel. Let your dog out to sprint down Olympia's many lakeside trails. From recently renovated onsite dining to spacious meeting facilities, our hotel in Olympia equips any traveler with what they need for a perfect stay. Whether you're here for business or exploration, you'll find that the state capital is a hotbed of activity. From shopping to annual events, there's always something to do at Hotel RL Olympia. Introducing the Living Stage: From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, The Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. Responsible Travel: We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. It is estimated that on any given night in US, more than 600,000 people experience homelessness. As members of the lodging industry, we believe it is our duty to act. Project Wake Up Call is the response. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and its Olympia partner: SideWalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Olympia
Olympia Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing