We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
What a gem!

Even in the winter, the walk through the woods and boardwalk were absolutely incredible. We saw... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Mary H
Depends on the time of year and day

The experience undoubtedly varies by season and high tide, vs. low. We probably went at the worst... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
B7998AKdavidp
,
nicosia, Cyprus
Read all 593 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Olympia
from $144.99
More Info
from $263.14
More Info
Seattle CityPASS
450 Reviews
from $99.00
More Info
from $263.14
More Info
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveler rating
410
151
29
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
410
151
29
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bald eagles bird watching high tide bring binoculars puget sound tidal flats beautiful nature long boardwalk spring and fall duck natural state flat walk interpretive center beautiful walk salt water board walk easy walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 593 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2018

This estuary was returned to its natural state when the levees were removed a few years back. It is amazing how it has been transformed. Walk ways and informative stops lead you along the way. Worth the stop off of I5. The whole family will enjoy it. If possible seasonal visits really tell the story of how the estuary works.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Ernie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

Great place to walk Very flat! Beautiful views of the surrounding area Can be very warm on a sunny day!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank lorilL9036YY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018

Flush toilets at visitor center. Parking is limited. No parking for RV's. Porta John's in the middle of the hike. Tide out: NOT much to see. Tide IN: Lot's more to see. This is a marsh area, that is affected by the tide. Do yourself a favor; spray at least your ankles for bugs. More birds and animals are present when the tide is in. The hikes are reasonably marked and great for a family outing. Most of the hike out to the sound is NO SHADE, so wear a hat, and take some water. There are a few benches for setting along the way, but not a lot. This is dog on leash area, so keep your dog on a leash. There are a few pavillion type covered areas on the long walk out to the sound. We visited in July, very hot, and not much animal activity. Keep an eye out for any animals, including baby skunks.... Oh so cute. There is a small gift shop here that had a great variety of items.

TIP: PLAN AHEAD: check out the tide chart,, more to see when tide is in. Spring or Fall is best. Wear a hat, mostly sunny areas on the hike. Put on bug spray.

If my review was helpful. Please give me a LIKE click. Thanks

Date of experience: July 2018
3  Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

If you enjoy hiking or are a birder, Nisqually is great. It's easy to access off the highway, has a lot of trail to hike and is set up to attract a lot of wildlife, oh, and it's a cheap trip.

Take note: Birds are fickle and you are likely to notice a big difference in what you see depending on time of year. We were there in February a few years back and saw dozens of Bald Eagles, Hawks and other raptors, where during our recent trip, in July, we saw only some little song birds and one impressive toad.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank madcheddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

My sons and I enjoyed walking on the trails, many shaded during the hot weather. We did not see much wildlife that day but enjoyed our visit.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank airedaleluva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews