We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Smaller Scale Market”
Review of Farmers Market

Farmers Market
Ranked #4 of 56 things to do in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tacoma, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
639 reviews
251 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great Smaller Scale Market”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

My hubby and I have been here a couple of times. We come back here mostly for the fresh oysters! We love them! I also came to guy garden plants and found the prices to be reasonable for the quality. The sellers are also quite knowledgeable about the plants (MUCH better than the local Home Depot). This market isn't real big, but most of it is covered making it great on a rainy day as well as on a hot summer day! As for the "No Dog" policy, personally, I agree 100 percent!! I am tired of seeing dogs at place that sell food!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    69
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Don't Miss this Family Stop”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Farmer's Market, just steps away from the harbor and bay in downtown Olympia, is a must see stop for families; lots of local products for the house and kitchen, and lots of different organic foods. We always have lunch at the market. Don't miss a chance to walk along the wharf; plenty of public rest rooms and some nice views, although it could use a lot more development.
Also; there is a really nice 1.2 mile walk around Capital Lake just a block or two away. We've never had trouble finding parking, so I wouldn't miss the chance to visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lantirn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A little bit different”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Farmers Market is one of my favorite things to do in Olympia. It's a moderate sized market, and very individual, as it should be. It's partly under a canopy or ceiling of sorts so it's all-weather. Right now (warm weather season) it's open Thursday - Sunday 10 - 3, and it's a great place for lunch. I especially love their Indian food stand; got some delicious anise candies there. Other favorites that keep me coming back: the honey stand with fragrant salve; the fern stand (never knew there were so many varieties of fern!); and the apples in the fall. Last fall I found Baby Head apples, as large as a ... you know! My husband always grabs a few fresh oysters, which they shuck for your consumption on the spot. The produce is mostly organic, which is critical to me. Easy free parking, too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rattlebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Only in Olympia”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We discovered the Olympia Farmer's Market several years ago and have been going back whenever we pass by on I-5 heading south to Portland. But I think that it's over-rated. It is on the small side and you really have to be a big believer in 'organic' - whatever that means. And, you have to be a big believer in the high cost of buying organic. I bought a bunch of freshlly picked organic carrots and as I was munching on them in the car, I swear that they tasted better. My significant other was just shaking her head and said that they tasted better because of the price that I paid for them. The real reason that we stop at the farmer's market? Stewart's Meat stand and avoiding a lengthy side-trip to Yelm to visit their actual store. Try their pepperoni (extra spicy) and their homemade turkey jerky - absolutely the best that I have ever tried. We pick some up whenever the market is open and munch on it all the way down the I-5!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ROLAND R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Go!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Made a day trip to Olympia while in Seattle, and I am SO glad I stopped in to the Olympia Farmer's Market while there! It's only open Thurs-Sun in autumn, and after it gets colder, only on weekends--so check the website for official times/map location to be sure. But it is definitely, definitely worth the trip.

Handmade soaps, lotions, salves, cards, jewelry, baked goods, and some of the most gorgeous fruits and vegetables I've ever seen--like veggies on steroids! This place, in my opinion, is even better than Pike Place Market in Seattle, because it is big enough to merit a nice stroll walking around for food, snacks, and crafts, but it is not hard to park and the area is uncrowded and lovely for a stroll. Olympians are lucky to have such a gem right in their neighborhood!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeslaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmers Market also viewed

 

Been to Farmers Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing