We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food, service can be slow”

Peppers Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #172 of 345 Restaurants in Olympia
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
189 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very good food, service can be slow”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have been to this hometown Mexican restaurant a number of times so obviously we like the food. The service has been fine on some visits. A couple of times they have been very slow and, unfortunately, did nothing to achnowledge that. Not even an apology.

On our most recent visit we took advantage of the salsa bar to enjoy the freshly made warm tortilla chip appetizer. My dinner of chile rellenos, cheese enchilada, and guacamole tostada was excellent. My wife got the enchilada espinacas. My daughter also got the guacamole tostada. My son had the cheese enchiladas. We are very content with this visit (after a day of hiking at Mt. St. Helens.)

Prices are typical for a Mexican restaurant.

The decor is simple and the crowd on Sunday night of Labor Day weekend was casually dressed.

We have not gotten desserts at this establishment.

The soft drinks had free refills. That was welcome since I was thirsty from our walk.

If the service were more reliable I would rate them higher.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank schota1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
302 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“High prices, slow service”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I did not realize that asking for mole sauce on the enchiladas would double the price. The service was excrutiatingly slow and when I got my meal the sour cream and guacamole was missing. I did not point this out because I figured it would take to long to milk the cow and grow the avocado. And the mole sauce was very salty. The salsa for the chips was very tasty, and the restaurant offers a salsa bar.

Helpful?
Thank Brimsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best salsa selection AND fresh-lime margaritas”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Appreciate the welcoming staff, authentic salsa choices (at the salsa bar IN the bar), fresh, warm tortilla chips...we tried the spinach quesadilla, our friends split the spinach enchilada and all were pleased--yes, a round of spinach for all, thanks! We loved the bargain prices and the custom approach to margaritas. The evening we were there, any type of tequila could be used in a margarita for the same price (!) and you can request fresh lime rather than those awful, sugary mixes. Have yet yet to sample more of their food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lina005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle area
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average mexican food with good service.”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I have been here a dozen times it is an average Mexican restaurant menu nothing that really sets it apart from any other enchilada and burrito place. Good for a quick lunch with coworkers etc. Good service as a general rule.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Me&Boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympa, WA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average to good”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Dependable mexican food at a reasonable price. Delivery is dependable too.

Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peppers Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing