We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stay here every time we visit Olympia - 2-3 times a year. Since becoming a Doubletree the facilities have been upgraded a bit - all very nice changes - feels much newer and the pool and fitness area were really clean. It is just two blocks from the Farmers Market, one block from the warf walk, next to a great restaurant (Gardeners) and a good wine shop, and a great seafood market too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank FoodieAndLocavore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! It is great to hear that you like our new changes to our property since we have become a DoubleTree. We worked hard through the renovation this last summer and renewed everything from the pool decking to the wallpaper in the rooms. We hope you were able to experience the other new additions like our PressNW Bar and Bistro, our breakfast buffet and Starbucks. Thank you for writing this review as we appreciate your feedback! We look forward to seeing you and your family again the next time you visit Downtown Olympia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 613 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

This motel was overall very pleasant with a few exceptions. Pillow odors, noisy fridge and no maid service the second day of my stay. The pillow and fridge issue seem to be a standard of many motels except the most expensive these days.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

To start, thank you for your feedback on your most recent visit with us! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the majority of your stay however, I apologize for the issues you mentioned in your review. Concerning any maintenance issues, no matter how small, we always encourage our guests to make us aware so we may better serve you. We want to provide the best hotel experience for our guests and that includes making them as comfortable as possible while they are travelling. It is disappointing that your room was not serviced during your stay and this will be addressed for any future reservations as that is not the standard we work hard to uphold here. Please let us know if there is anything else we may do for you to improve upon your previous stay. We appreciate your comments and hope to get another chance to really "wow" you with a DoubleTree experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Hotel was within walking distance to downtown where i had business. Overall very clean and was satisfied with my stay. I would definetly stay there again if i should require to do furher business in Olympia.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Leonard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your feedback as it helps us make future stays better for you. It is great that you enjoyed our Downtown location since it is one of the many features of our property that we are proud to have. Our staff will be happy that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to provide an excellent DoubleTree experience while you are travelling! We look forward to accommodating you on your next trip to town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Double Tree by Hilton is centrally located, a great value and a clean and comfortable place to stay. The service is friendly and efficient and the rooms are clean and spacious. The king sized bed was great and we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

To start, thank you so much for the kind review! We appreciate your feedback as it is invaluable to us and makes us better for each stay. We love our Downtown Olympia location and we are happy you do too. Our staff will be pleased that you were satisfied with their service and our new remodel into a DoubleTree. It is great you had a wonderful experience with us and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Olympia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My family always stayed here when it was the Pheonix Inn. No more. Big increase in cost with fewer amenities. The rooms are no nicer than before, but you get nickeled & dimed to death. So sad to see this change for the worse.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakemamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

I’m very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience at our hotel. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and we apologize for letting you down. I will be sure to keep your feedback in mind as we're always working to improve our overall guest experience. I thank you for your review and I really hope you'll give us a second chance if your travels bring you back to our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The location and the hotel were both excellent in cleanliness, staff and location. The cost per night is higher than other area hotels with more features. The location is within walking distance to downtown and local buses. I stayed there on many occasions when it was the Phoenix Inn, it has improved in cleanliness, but lost several of the features that made it a cost comparable stay. I will be staying at a less expensive, but equal quality location on my next stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ross L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

First, we would like to thank you for submitting this survey! We are happy that your stay was satisfactory, though we wish your experience could have been better! It is great you appreciate our location in downtown as we feel that is one of the aspects that make us unique in the area. We are glad our guest service and updates we have made through the summer exceeded your needs during your stay as that is what we aim for. With all of the changes that we have undergone with the conversion to DoubleTree by Hilton we have been busy trying to gain our guests feedback in order to make our hotel the best that it can be. Your comments and concerns are invaluable and are appreciated. We do hope that you will consider giving us another chance to improve on future stays with the DoubleTree quality the next time you are in Olympia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

About three years ago, we booked a four-night stay at what was then the Phoenix Inn. It was a disaster and we checked out after one night. When it was turned over to the Hilton people as a DoubleTree, we had high hopes and booked it again. Alas. This place isn't bad, but it still has a long way to go to meet the standard of a DoubleTree.

We came in about 6 p.m. on a Sunday -- no one at the front desk. So, not a good start.
Lobby looks better and so do the rooms. But the bathrooms have not been upgraded. There is a bathroom fan that buzzes 24/7. Heating system still impossible to control. The hot water barely trickles out of the bathroom faucet. Our room had a new fake-leather love seat -- we know it is new because the tag is still on it. It would be impossible to find a sofa that felt as cheap or as uncomfortable as this one.

The hotel prides itself on having a coffee bar -- great, except service closes down at 10 a.m. I repeat, there is no place in the hotel to get coffee after 10 a.m. Desk clerk referred me to restaurants on either side of the hotel -- neither of which were open.

WiFi is off and on. Business center consists of one PC in the corner of the lobby. The hotel says that Hilton Honors members get bottles of water. Never saw those. The buttons in the elevator note that the second floor is for HH folks, but we weren't placed there and the desk staff said the rooms on the third floor were better.

We are always amazed that a state capital city like Olympia doesn't have better hotel options. I would think Hilton would jump on the opportunity, but it hasn't done that so far. Not with its mediocre effort at this hotel.

One last note: It is going to be tough to turn this around for Hilton -- every time you air a concern to a hotel employee you are told it's Hilton's fault.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Cwanninger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

First of all, thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Though it seems your most recent stay with us has improved upon the previous one, it is disappointing to hear you still were not completely satisfied with your experience! I am sorry for the inconveniences you endured during your stay as we are still working hard through the last legs of our transition into the Hilton family. I understand there are aspects of our property that we are in the midst of remedying for future reservations and many of them include ones you mentioned in your review. For any maintenance issues you had, we urge our guests to report them and we will do our best to resolve them as soon as possible to the best of our ability. Our goal is to make your stay comfortable by providing excellent guest service and quality amenities to make you feel at home. As it seems these were not met throughout your time here, we apologize and hope to have another opportunity to really “wow” you the next time you are in Olympia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olympia hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
1.5 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
1,261 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia

Address: 415 Capitol Way N, Olympia, WA 98501-1024 (Formerly Phoenix Inn Suites Olympia)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range: $121 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Olympia hotel located in downtown Olympia in Washington State, just minutes off of I-5. Our hotel is near Olympia, Washington’s major attractions including the Downtown Waterfront area, Percival Landing, and the award winning Hands-On Children’s Museum. The hotel is just across the street from Budd Inlet of the Puget Sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites Olympia Hotel Olympia
Phoenix Hotel Olympia
Olympia Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing