We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Eld House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olympia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Eld House
Ranked #4 of 7 Olympia B&B and Inns
MD
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed at the Heron House with my daughter. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - unfortunately only one night. Would love to return! The owners are very kind and thoughtful. The cabin was spotless. The bed very comfortable! The views were awesome! It is so quiet and peaceful. Town of Olympia was just a short drive away. There are kayaks available - would have liked to try them out if we had more time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mousy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sullivan, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I just stayed at the Heron House for one day, but it was great! I really liked having the whole place to myself. Its a really unique log cabin, up the hill from the main house. It is perfect for one or 2 people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emptyNest59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights while visiting some friends. The Eld House is a separate unit from the owners' home and you get a fantastic view out onto the Eld Inlet. The unit is very spacious. The bathroom only has a shower but everything is well kept, tidy, and clean. When you arrive there is a selection of dry cereals, milk, muffins and fruit waiting for you for your breakfasts. Chris and Jennifer are friendly hosts but leave you to your space if you desire. We took the kayaks out one morning and happened upon a harbor seal that was curious about our presence. We also got to witness the oyster seeding operation that occurs in the Inlet. You're close to Olympia but also isolated enough to enjoy the beautiful scenery of the area. Would definitely recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elperro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband and I had a very relaxing stay at the Eld House. As other reviewers noted, the cottage was very clean, comfortable, and well equipped—it also was roomier than I expected. I'd have no problem bringing our two kids next time, although there is only one bathroom & no bathtub. I think it just depends on what you’re comfortable with and how much privacy you need.

Jennifer was very friendly and accommodating. When we didn’t have the right shoes for kayaking, she lent us a pair of her own (Please note-- if you plan to kayak, bring a pair of water shoes that will stay on. The sand by the shoreline would have sucked our flip flops right off, and there were too many sharp shells & rocks to be able to go barefoot.)

The cottage is above a workshop close to the main house & the grounds are shared with the family home; however we found we still had the privacy we wanted. Longs walks on the gravelly beach, a gorgeous view and a convenient location just minutes from the state capitol all made this a place to remember

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

It is in a beautiful location just steps from the beach.
Having our own kitchen was great as was the separate bedroom. It was great for a couple but woud be tight for more than a family of three as the other sleeping is in the living room area. Cold continental breakfast including a beautiful big bowl of fruit is in the suite when you arrive.
I missed a bath tub but would not stay somewhere else to get one.
We didn't see much of Chris and Jennifer but enjoyed them when we did.
We will be back.

Room Tip: So far only the one room/suite although they are working on completing a log cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slingl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98002
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

Minutes from Olympia, WA is The Eld House. This bed and breakfast shows pride of ownership with every step. From the fountains outside, the selection of kayaks to the fully stocked kitchen and leather furniture. To have the benefit of a place right on the Puget Sound, special dietary needs met with more than a smile, that has privacy and seclusion, wireless, full kitchen, washer dryer... it is all very nice. One bathroom so if there is a larger group, be prepared to share.
I am a fan. Especially when the owner goes out of his way to connect as we left and ask us how we liked our stay. This one has my vote. They show heart and soul.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelhartzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympia
5.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
5.7 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
5.4 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
5.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Olympia
6.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites - Tumwater / Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eld House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eld House

Property: The Eld House
Address: 5531 Sunrise Beach Rd NW, Olympia, WA 98502-8816
Location: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing