We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Bakery with Breakfast and Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bread Peddler

The Bread Peddler
Ranked #2 of 13 Dessert in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups, French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Olympa, WA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“French Bakery with Breakfast and Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The owner is french and he brought his techniques and taste and the result is delicious food and coffee. The bread is the best; as good as any to be had in Seattle or San Francisco, and Paris too. Delicious pastries; not the ultra-artistic looks of many we saw in Paris this year, but the flavor is every bit as good. Even the salad dressing has a je ne sais quoi flavor that makes it delicious (and makes me understand I will never duplicate what the French can do with simple foods).

For breakfast, there are a half-dozen french egg dishes on offer. Most people have a pastry, but on weekends especially the breakfast business is brisk.

There are only four or five sandwiches at lunch, but all very good; I prefer the ham and comte with dressed arugula on baguette. Every day they offer two soups; one is always vegetarian, if not vegan. The Bread Peddler now offers wine with lunch, and you can choose between two or three cheeses to have with breakfast or lunch.

Staff are friendly and efficient; many are long-term employees, so that tells you something. Each dish prepared individually so a little slower than some locations abut not problematic and the quality is worth the extra few minutes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    81
    19
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Among the top west coast bread makers and that's saying a lot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

It takes awhile to get used to it's rhythm and informality but the 'help' knows their stuff. Finding a place to sit looks impossible around brunch time but somehow it's not

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank georgehuskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great eggs & toast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a great little Olympia spot. Great variety of baked goods and amazing breakfast. Good sized portions too. I always get the two poached eggs on toast with the chevre and balsamic glaze. So good. Awesome bread pudding and scones, and serve local Batdorf coffee. It's expected to wait in line and fight for a table, but it's worth it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lilroxychica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Don't order French onion soup looks and taste like poo”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

This place was very dirty the floors, tables ect. The service was very scattered and very different. I had the madam hot sandwich which was ok but my date had the chicken sandwich with the French onion soup, the bread was super hard and to crunchy to eat and the soup looked and tasted like barf. It made jail soup look good. I probably won't be returning ever again.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashleyyale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Driving from SeaTac Int'l Airport to Port Angeles, it was worth for us to stop by Olympia just for the great lunch at the Bread Peddler! We called in to order onion soup and croque forestiere right before taking off from the highway and we truely enjoyed the delicious quick bite. I e-mailed to the store before the trip, and the owner, Andre came to our table and surprised me that he greeted me by my name. Great food and heartwarming service!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hiroko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bread Peddler also viewed

 

Been to The Bread Peddler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing