We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome people,great food!”
Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
Ranked #25 of 47 Restaurants in Ocean Shores
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Portland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome people,great food!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

First time in the town we were looking for some seafood, since we were so close to the beach. Moby Dick's all you can eat fish and chips sign caught my attention and we decided to have our dinner there. The menu was awesome- where else you can order not only regular burgers but salmon,clam,shrimp and oyster burgers as well! We settled on oyster burger, seafood basket and clam chowder with fried bread. All food was delicious, especially clam chowder- much better than your regular,out of the can variety.
But the best part were the people who worked in this restaurant. In our group we had couple kids and a disabled person. The owner of the restaurant came over to "measure" kids who would get the free ice cream. Only our youngest would pass,but she motioned for the older one to crouch so that he would get ice cream,too. That was very sweet but I know that our disabled companion would get her feelings hurt if she wouldn't get the special treatment the kids got. I got up to pay for another ice cream,but without missing a beat the wonderful owner ordered for 3 ice cream cups! The ice cream arrived, dripping in caramel and I wasn't even allowed to pay for the extra adult one!
So very sensitive and sweet!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    46
    26
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Skip the fish, order the chowder”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Someone told us to try Moby Dick's for fish and chips so we did. I am a seafood and chips lover and I did not love the fish here. I ordered the oysters, and was not impressed. The oysters came with their much advertised "fried bread" that was not done and doughy in the middle (yuck). My husband ordered the fish and I tried a bite and was glad I ordered the oysters. Maybe it was the cook that day but the panko coating was overdone and really crunchy and the fish was not flaky and moist. My granddaughter ordered the clam chowder and that was the bright spot in our visit. The chowder is quite good. If you go there, skip the fish and oysters and go for the chowder.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish and chips”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Some of the best fish and chips we've had anywhere, especially the halibut. Great shakes, too. We come here every trip to Ocean Shores and we've never been disappointed. Really nice service!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“sit near a restroom when you get home”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Well first the very over weight guy at counter was rude and seem to not be having a good day. The fish was nice sized the Fry's were a little under cook. Then about a couple hours after eating well let's just say half a roll of tp later and running to restroom most of night I think next time we will pick somewhere else to eat

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmy29s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elma, Washington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great burgers with crinkle fries.”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I am not a fish person and prefer to stick with turf meals... although the do offer unlimited fish and chips for $12.99 currently.

My burger was good. The fries were crinkled, which are my favorite. Plenty of toppings for the burger. The strawberry milkshake was made with real berries and old fashioned, bonus!

Overall, the facility lacks space and the ordering counter is situated horribly as the line blocks the door. They offer outdoor seating which is great if the weather holds.

The food is worth the stop but expect some delays and inconvenience maneuvering.

Helpful?
1 Thank DrHedrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

 
Ocean Shores, WA
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing