We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to get away with your spouse!”
Review of Judith Ann Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Judith Ann Inn
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We loved our room on the second floor, great view of the ocean. The jacuzzi tub is perfectly situated with a great view of the ocean. Very private, we did not see or hear anyone else that was staying here. I would buy all your food and eat in, not a lot of reasons to leave your room except to walk on the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TacomaLv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 141 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

Great suite with whirlpool tub and separate bedroom.Full kitchen and balcony. Note that there is no housekeeping service. Room 106 is on the end. It is an ocean view, but you are not that close to the beach. Price and fact that gas fireplace and wireless internet were not working kept it from 5 stars.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Recoveringlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

With architecture reminiscent of a southern mansion, the Judith Ann Inn is a captivating sight, juxtaposed against the backdrop of blue skies and the Pacific Ocean. For someone who believes nothing recharges the mind and soul like the ocean can, trips to Ocean Shores, Washington, have always been a treat.

An unassuming little northwest coastal town just a couple hours southwest of Seattle, Ocean Shores doesn’t try to compete with the beauty and drama of the Pacific, but if it did, Judith Ann Inn would be a worthy entry. With its grand staircases and impressive pillars, stepping onto the property was like stepping back in time.

My husband and I experienced the intimacy and comfort of a suite at Judith Ann Inn one uncharacteristically mild weekend in January. Having stayed at several of the nice hotels in town, we were not expecting anything that would blow us away, so just entering the Richmond suite was an eye-opening experience.

Music drifted from the living room as a long hallway lead us pasta bedroom where an inviting king-sized bed waited and past a roomy bathroom to a full, well-stocked kitchen, decorated with the words, “Be Warm, Be Welcome, Be At Home.” Just beyond the kitchen the spacious living room, warmed by a gas fi replace held the piece de resistance: an elevated jetted tub that looks out to the dunes and the ocean.

Even though the weather cooperated beautifully enough for a long stroll on the beach and through town, the inn would be a romantic getaway even in the coldest, stormiest of winter. Positioned at the edge of town, just a quick walk from the majesty of the ocean, Judith Ann Inn offers privacy and convenience. With the fully equipped kitchen stocked with the essentials, home-cooked meals are easy. Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet connection is available for those who need to remain connected. The spacious shower with enough room for two is just another fun reminder for couples to enjoy even more time together.

The Inn houses nine uniquely decorated but similarly laid out suites. It can host family reunions, wedding ceremonies, anniversary celebrations or retreats. The Supreme Bridal Suite can come with chilled champagne and flowers for celebrating couples. Small receptions can be held in the beautiful banquet room that opens onto a spacious balcony that can also host an oceanside ceremony. Whatever the occasion, Judith Ann Inn is a wonderful location for all celebrations fun and/or romantic weekends.

What I found wonderful on top of the amenities that left us wanting for nothing, was how the inn lets you enjoy as much or as little of the elements as you wish. When the doors are closed, the absence of sound is just as deafening as the roar of the ocean. Let the ocean in through the windows as you soak in the jetted tub, or step out on the balcony and revel in the fresh air and let the invigorating sound of the crashing waves wash over you. After two nights of peaceful sleep in the comfortably soft king-sized bed, and being gently awakened only by sunlight, we were very reluctant to get back on the road. Staying at Judith Ann Inn for just a two very short days, provided us the relaxation and peacefulness of a much longer stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Garethmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judann, Manager at Judith Ann Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Thank you so much for posting your magazine review of us on tripadvisor, Great Idea! How is life in the Southwest. Best of luck to you in all your ventures.
At your service,
Amy Bohn, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Having read some of the reviews, I could hardly believe the negative ones!! This is a lovely Inn, VERY CLEAN, AMY & YOLANDA, VERY ACCOMODATING!!!, rooms are well appointed (although I did agree w/another guest that another chest for folded clothing could be provided...we stay longer than a couple of days)...& do agree w/same guest regarding the TV. We are older, retired & have been trekking to Ocean Shores for 45 yrs for an "ocean fix" w/our children. The TV has always played an important role when our ocean activities were done for the day. It so happens, even w/the lovely surroundings, serenity and just being at the beach, we still enjoy watching TV. This was our 1st time on the second floor and the view was incredible (has spoiled me for future visits...I will want to be upstairs!!)..Our only complaint would be the owners choice for the TV in the living room. Surround sound could not be controlled and background music definitely drowned out the voices. You have to sit directly in front of the TV for a clear, precise picture. I went to the bedroom where the picture and sound was so much better. Loved the room but disliked intensley the living room TV. It is obviously an early 2000 edition and needs to be replaced.
We will return to the Inn. We love it. Amy & Yolanda...you are irreplaceable and most definetly under appreciated!!!! Thanks so much for all your kindess (and putting up w/our inability to operate the TV's in The Savannah ...room106...for some reason, they are more difficult to use). Am thinking we will try another room upstairs...w/a better TV :-)

Room Tip: If you want peace and tranquility, this is the place. Absolute privacy & no intrusions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oceanlover241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judann, Manager at Judith Ann Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Thank you so much for the kind, constructive criticism. We really appreciate hearing what works and what we can improve upon. Guest feedback is very important to our process here as each suite is individually owned. Very helpful information since you have stayed with us more than once and have stayed in more than one suite here. Thanks again for taking the time to communicate!
We know you'll be back.
At your service,
Amy Bohn, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My wife and I spent 2nights here and it was the best time we had this was our 2nd time going to The Judith Ann Inn and it seemed as though it was better the second time. We stayed on the second floor spectacular view of the ocean even at night. We recommend going there for a romantic get away It was so quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJSHUFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judann, Manager at Judith Ann Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to review us online. We really appreciate you sharing your experience. Thanks for the generous tip! Tips in our industry are sadly becoming a rarity so it really made our day!
At your service,
Amy Bohn,
Manager, Judith Ann Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed in the Lexington suite for my birthday at the end of September. We came in on a Thursday night and were planning on leaving Saturday morning, but were enjoying our stay so much that we extended for another night (they were nice enough to rebook the room for us Saturday, even though we had not reserved it). The suite is very nicely laid out, and very clean.

I enjoyed the jacuzzi tub with its view of the Pacific very much - as I'd expected - but was surprised how large the deck is. We ended up spending a good deal of time out on the deck, enjoying the sound and sight of the ocean. We got nearly all our meals as takeout, since we liked the room so much.

A few (very minor) caveats - it's odd that there is no chest of drawers for folding clothes. There is only one nightstand and bed lamp in the bedroom. There's plenty of room for both another nightstand and a small chest, and those would be nice conveniences. I have no complaints at all with the kitchen appointments - everything we needed was there. Bring your own coffee if you're junkies like we are and need more than one pot. Filters were provided, although I had brought some just in case. There's a toaster for that morning bagel, and a full-size refrigerator.

I walked down the dune path to the beach, and found it fascinating. The dunes are their own ecosystem, quite separate from the beach. It's not a short walk, but it's an easy one, and the beach itself is spectacular. We could watch the big kites from the deck, too.

We found the hotel very quiet - granted, we were there offseason and came midweek, but even when people started coming in on Friday and Saturday, the staff had obviously made some effort to book the rooms such that people retained their privacy. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, checking several times to make certain we had everything we needed.

Take advantage of the midweek coupon special on the website if you can - it's a great deal. I didn't check out the view from the first-floor rooms, but I suspect you'd see mostly the dunes, so if you want to see the open ocean, the second-floor rooms have a fantastic view.

We did sort of wish there was a barbecue available, but given the hassles that would create for the inn, I'm not surprised they don't provide them. The televisions are aging projector models, probably due for a replacement, but who comes to a place like this to watch TV anyway? (There were quite a few movies worth watching in the office for borrowing, although we'd brought our own.) We opened the fold-out sofa and had ourselves a movie night one blustery evening; it was very cozy and very relaxing. We didn't watch the television at all, so I can't say anything about the channel selection; I did notice they had the music channels on when we came in (there are surround-sound speakers built into the walls, which is nice), but I mostly wanted to listen to the ocean. There are ceiling fans in the bedroom and living room, which do a nice job of keeping the air circulating. The skylight in the bedroom is an unfortunate choice; I understand why they did it (the room needs the light), but it makes it hard for a night owl like me to sleep in, since there's no way of shielding the light.

We found the inn convenient to everything we wanted to see in Ocean Shores - there's an IGA and a liquor store just down on Chance a la Mer, and pharmacy and tons of gift shops as well.

Room Tip: Definitely select the second floor; it's worth the extra few dollars for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geniph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judann, Manager at Judith Ann Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Thanks very much for the review, so nice to see such a detailed description. I am impressed with your writing. Pleasure to have you at the Inn. Incidentally all my other suites have new flat screen TV's but the Lexington Suite 201. Tried to get owner's of that suite to go another way. You can see how that discussion went. I believe the argument was they were holding out for newer oil filled LED TV technology and the tube TV was superior in lifespan to LCD TV's. Maybe review comments will help persuade owner's of this suite to reconsider their TV selection so I am grateful you included commentary on the TV in your review. Hope the future brings you back to our door.
At your service,
Amy Bohn
Manager, Judith Ann Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

My hasband and I recently enjoyed our 1 yr anniversary the second time around and let me just say that we had a wonderful 3 night stay at the Judith Ann Inn. It was our 1st time there but believe me it won't be our last! We brought our own food and wine and we barely left the room because everything you need is there from the well-stocked and fully equipped kitchen to the large jazzuci tub in the living room. They even had a washer and dryer in there! We stayed in room 105 the Charleston Suite and it was beautiful. If you haven't stayed here at the inn give it a try and believe me you won't regret it one bit! Thanks to Amy and Yolanda for everything!

Room Tip: Check out the rooms online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouAnn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judann, Manager at Judith Ann Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Thank you so much for your high praise. We enjoyed having you. Glad to hear you will visit us again.
At your service,
Amy Bohn
Manager, Judith Ann Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean Shores hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
0.9 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#9 of 14 in Ocean Shores
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ocean Shores
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#7 of 14 in Ocean Shores
309 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
#10 of 14 in Ocean Shores
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judith Ann Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judith Ann Inn

Address: 855 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569-9593
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Ocean Shores
Price Range: $166 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Judith Ann Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled like a treasure on the beach in Ocean Shores, you will find the newly finished Judith Ann Inn Ocean Shores resort. The timeless elegance will sweep you off your feet and leave you breathless! The architecture was inspired by the turn of the century southern mansions, and posses all of the charming characteristics you would expect of this time period. Grand staircases and magnificent pillars greet you as you make your approach. As you ascend the staircase, you feel as though you have stepped back in time. Each of the 9 suites is furnished and decorated in replica period furnishings, creating a truly unique experience for its guest(s). The Judith Ann Inn caters to intimate getaways. Whether that means getting married out on the balcony overlooking the ocean, renewing your wedding vows, or meeting some friends for a girls' weekend out! It is guaranteed to be memorable. The views from the balcony and two-person jetted tubs are simply breathtaking. Built right up to the protected wildlife area of the dunes, you experience the perfect balance of nature and the majesty of the ocean surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Judith Ann Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judith Ann Hotel Ocean Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing