We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a low key weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Location was great. Just about everything we needed was within walking distance.

Check-in was quick, our room was ready right away. Everyone at the front desk over the course of the weekend was friendly and helpful.

The room was nothing fancy but was clean and comfortable. Free wireless. Pool and hot tub were clean and open 24 hours.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank javakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 497 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2011

We stayed on a busy (the entire town was basically sold out) Saturday evening. Our biggest problem, that started from the moment we walked into the door, was the virtually non-existent customer service. We didn't get the type of room I had booked, and when we went to the front desk to ask to be moved, the woman behind the desk acted like she could care less, almost as if we were ruining her day by telling her this. She said there was nothing she could do for us as they were sold out. After some back and forth with her, we finally talked to the general manager who did manage to move some things around and place us in a better room.
Our room was of decent size and had some amenities that we liked (fridge, microwave), but seemed very grungy and not that clean. There was no glaring cleanliness issue, but it just generally lacked a clean feeling.
We heard slamming doors and other noises throughout our stay, I know this is hard to control especially during a busy sold out weekend, but it was not the most soothing environment to say the least.
In the morning, a housekeeper opened our door not once, not twice, but THREE times. No knock, no announcing she was entering the room. This was a good 2 hours before check out time, and we had the do not disturb sign on the door. I have worked in luxury hotels for over 10 years and I can guarantee that rule #1 of any housekeeping department is to announce your presence before entering a room, even if you think the room is vacant. If she had simply knocked, I would not have taken issue with the intrusion. Instead, it was completely unacceptable. We finally had to call the front desk to let them know of the problem and to contact the housekeeper to stop entering our room. No apology, no nothing.
Our check out was very similar to our check in.. a plastic smile, no thank you's, no how was your stay. It was a very unwelcoming experience.
To be fair this hotel is, as far as Ocean Shores goes, at a fairly decent price. However, I would warn anyone that hopes to have a romantic getaway or a quiet evening to look elsewhere. I am big on value when I stay at hotels, however I would have MUCH rather preferred to shell out an extra 50 dollars and stay somewhere I felt taken care of, and that the people really cared about providing service to their guests.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WSR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

This Ramada was pretty average as far as hotels go.

The staff was always super friendly, but from my experience in Ocean Shores, everyone is friendly.

That being said, this hotel is conveniently located as there is a restaurant next door, an IGA a few blocks away and the beach down the way. Both Hoquim and Aberdeen are only a 30 minute drive at most, and if you're into gambling Quinault Casino is nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This is a first. I've never complained about a room being too large, but this one pushed the limits! It would be great for a family with kids, who needed to set up extra beds, or room for the kids to play. The TV was so far away from the bed, we could hardly see it. It was nice that it had a kitchenette, which we weren't expecting. It also had a table and chairs for three, plus a desk and chair. Everything was clean, and the staff was friendly. The room had an incredible view. I would stay here again, as long as I could get a discounted price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Junabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

When we arrived a little after check in (3pm) we received our room key and headed up to the second floor.



we were excited to have gotten an "ocean view room" for only 79 dollars.



when i opened the door there were dirty room service plates and towels everywhere. i walked right back out pretty pissed.



i went down calmly and made them aware of the uncleaned room.

they asked me to wait 20 minutes and said they would send a maid right over.



hm..



so i hesitated and gave a look then turned around and sat in the lobby.



she then called me up and said the room right next door was ready which was "a better room anyway"



we walked back up to the second floor and opened the door. it was nice and pretty clean.

i went over to the window to look at the view and YOU CANT EVEN SEE THE WATER

no matter what room you are in at this hotel the ocean will not be visable.

all thats in view is the brush leading to the ocean far,far away.



we were with our 3 year old so we planned to use the pool since the ocean water would probably be to cold.



we drove over to the beach and set up shop. there were dead birds and trash all over the beach.

we didnt stay long.



when we went back to our hotel to use the pool it was closed due to a wedding reception being held.



the man at the desk said he could get us in at the casino/hotel pool down the street.



that infact never happend. it cost 15 dollars to get in to the pool.



the resteraunt there is REALLY good i must say.



after dinner we went to bed. ALL NIGHT WE HEARD THE UPSTAIRS NEIGHBORS



i could tell you the exact conversation they had. i called the front desk at 1am and complained.



it never stopped... all morning...



come to find out they put the wedding party on the top floor. WHY they would do that? i dont know.



parties should be kept on the bottom floor because of this very reason.



that morning i asked for the manager and there wasnt one. they told me to call her on monday.



when i called the front desk lady said SHE WASNT TAKING CALLS. and to leave a message



so i did. and politely said i had some matters id like to discuss with her.



she never called back and its been a month. i did try back a couple more times with no response.



HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE AT THIS HOTEL. NEVER WILL I STAY THERE BASED ON POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LoveseeingThisWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

My daughter and I planned a last minute trip with her 3 toddlers. We booked two rooms at a very reasonable price. The staff was more than accommodating and the rooms were very clean. We had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends, family or business associates.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanniebashford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Wasn't sure what to expect since my husband made the reservations for my birthday but I didn't have any complaints! Good location, Friendly Staff, and the Cleanest room I have ever seen. Also fairly large. Oh , and I am a really light sleeper so I usually sleep terrible in hotels but I have to say the bed was the perfect firmness and I slept great even on the ground floor!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean Shores hotels
0.8 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
2 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
#10 of 14 in Ocean Shores
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#7 of 14 in Ocean Shores
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Ocean Shores
279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Resort
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel

Address: 845 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569-9593 (Formerly Ramada Ocean Shores)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ocean Shores
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocean Shores
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean Shores
Price Range: $71 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the sweet grass of Ocean Shores, Washington, the Quinault Sweet Grass hotel boasts gorgeous ocean views. Located close to area attractions, the hotel puts you just minutes away from fabulous beaches, artisan shops, great dining and family fun. After catching some waves, rent a bike, fly a kite or check out the local fun center. It's all within a short distance of your hotel. After a day of fun-filled area excitement, spend some time relaxing in our luxurious hotel. Our fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub can help you unwind after a day of area fun. Stay connected with our free Wi-Fi or unplug and watch one of our on-demand movies. Or, better yet, ramp up and check out the nightlife. Quinault Beach Resort & Casino is just a short hop away. Enjoy fine dining in Emily's Oceanfront restaurant, live entertainment in the lounge and Vegas-style gaming in the casino. Play some of Quinault's great new slots, or try your hand at great table games. Let Quinault's shuttle be your DD for a night of fun. The Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel, formerly the Ramada, is the Quinault's newest property acquisition. The Quinault observe a long tradition of providing superior customer service to its' customers. We look forward to serving former visitors of the Ramada and friends of Quinault. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ocean Shores Hotel Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores Ramada Inn
Ramada Inn Ocean Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing