We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful”
Review of The Nautilus

The Nautilus
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Nautilus
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Ocean Shores
sparkyotter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awful”
Reviewed April 7, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed there for a weekend away from the city. We have a dog that we brought, she is a trained dog and as soon as we let her out of the back of our truck we got the third degree about dogs off leash by this crazy office lady that sits and stares at people coming in and out. Then we went to the store and didn't know the dog couldn't stay in the room alone and we were gone 10 minutes and she yelled at us as soon as we got back.. The bed was hard as a rock, we had to have a couple of beers just to sleep on it. There are a lot nicer places where you won't get the third degree from the office spy about everything you do. Also we had weird bug bites after sleeping there, I can't say it was the hotel it may have been the beach, but I'm skeptical. Also the beds are right by the walkways outside and it is really loud in the morning if you like to sleep in, people are loud and clunk around.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sparkyotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    5
    1
    10
See reviews for
11
22
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Our stay at the Nautilus was very disapointing, The condo was no bigger than a motel room with a small bed, and the hide-a-bed was so uncomfortable that we had to put the mattress on the floor to get some sleep. There was no maid service the entire time we were there, even though we PAID for these services, the TV was BROKEN, and there was no phone book to make local calls. We paid 310.00 here for 2 nights, and could have used that money to stay at MUCH nicer hotel on the beach... I don't recommend this place to anybody. Sadly, I received a phone call from the Hotel clerk after check-out, SCREAMING at me for leaving dishes in the sink and towels on the floor. Even though there was no maid service the entire time we were there. She actually told me that she could CHARGE my credit card for CLEANING!!! Unbelievable!!! Please if you value your serenity and your pocket book, dont stay at this joint!!!! Ocean Shores is a Lovely place to visit though, and we didnt allow this place to ruin our trip, The locals are very friendly, and the beach is beautiful. Enjoy!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The misleading advertising, and the way I was treated by the staff. This place is bad.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Eatonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean Shores hotels

Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

The Nautilus is a wonderful place to "get away"! The location is peaceful and quiet, and the whole place is well maintained. They have one bedroom condos with complete kitchen, fireplace, and the balcony has an unobstructed view of the ocean. You can walk right down to the sandy beach. They have a nice little lawn area with tables for BBQ and picnics. We were in room 208 which is an end unit, so you have the ocean view through the glass doors to the balcony as well as a side window that looks up the beach. There is no elevator so you will have stairs with an upper level unit. We'll definitely go there again! Great place for flying kites too.

  • Liked — Great view of the ocean and can walk to the beach.
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WannabeTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddeexb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

Upon arriving at the hotel, we discovered a 2 page laundry list of chores that you are required to accomplish prior to "check out".
Beside each chore is a $25+ fee that the hotel will charge your CC for if it is not accomplished (IE: washing dishes, folding blankets, etc...)

My husband and I brought our dog along and paid their pet fee. A half hour after turning in our key, we got a call from the office saying that they would change us for an additional nights stay because there was a "pee stain" on the floor that would require them to have the carpet professionally shampooed. A PEE MARK?
I asked Robin, the manager what the deposit was for, and was informed it was to clean up loose dog hair?
(Right after I was rudely informed that in her 12 years of working at her "pet friendly" hotel, she has never seen a dog pee in a room?)

A trip that should have cost approx $350 ended up costing us $540. (a rather expensive trip to the beach.)

They also refused to give us a receipt/bill telling us what they were charging us for.

They run their hotel in a manner that allows them to take whatever money they want from you without good reason. They will be reported to the BBB as well as VISA for running Credit Cards without authorization from their customers.

VACATIONER BEWARE!!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank ddeexb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

RUN DON'T WALK AWAY FROM THIS [-] HOLE!!! My wife and I stayed here because of the reasonable pricing and good beach position. We soon found out that the reason they can be so fair with their room rates is because in the end they run up you credit card with absolutely absurd charges without your consent and NO itemized bill to see what these astronomical charges are for. A truly [-] poor operation.

  • Liked — That we got away with our shirts on.
  • Disliked — The entire place is a mistake.
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank traveler2581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2007

My trip was a last minute decision to get out of town for spring break, we were looking for a place that would take our family of four and our dog. I happened upon The Nautilus and called and asked for a rate quote the prices were so good and the photos settled any uneasy feelings I had about booking a place unknown. We were amazed when we arrived, it was clean and cozy, the perfect size for the 4 of us and amazingly enough, for a place that accepts animals there was no hint of there ever being an animal in there. The property was very quiet and clean, management was very informative about places to go and things to do. Just make sure you keep pets on a leash at all times, we did but one day my husband came in the door and the dog went out to greet him unfortunately he didn't see her and housekeeping found her, needless to say we got "schooled" about not keeping our dog on a leash.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mcclure2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, WA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2007

My husband & I stayed at the Nautilus for our 30th Anniversary, Feb.22-07, and had a wonderful time. The staff was very friendly & helpful. We had a very clean & well furnished 1 bedroom condo, with fireplace & an outstanding view of the ocean. And it was QUIET.
The Manager suggested "Mariah's" at the Polynesian for our anniversary dinner and it was fabulous, great food, service & clean for the amount of customers they served.
Would highly recommend the Nautilus, and don't be afraid to stay in a "condo" instead of a motel, the price was actually very comparable to the motels and we had all the perks of a fully furnished apartment.

Helpful?
7 Thank MomsTuxedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean Shores hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
0.7 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#7 of 14 in Ocean Shores
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ocean Shores
490 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nautilus

Property: The Nautilus
Address: 835 N. Ocean Shores Blvd, Rental Office 659 Ocean Shores Blvd. N.W, Ocean Shores, WA 98569
Location: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Front condo's Full Kitchens, easy beach access, walking distance to restaurants and convention center . Ocean Views from 2nd and 3rd floors.Some pet friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Nautilus Hotel Ocean Shores
Nautilus Ocean Shores
Nautilus Hotel Ocean Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing