We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great find. we'll be back”
Review of Canterbury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canterbury Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Certificate of Excellence
bellevue
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great find. we'll be back”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

my family and i were really impressed with this hotel. it was simply but nicely appointed - nothing fancy but impeccably clean with comfortable beds, good pillows and all the kitchen gadgets you'd need. Also, the pool is a great temperature unlike many pools that are too cold. When i told the staff it was my husband's birthday, they put a personalized Happy Birthday notice on their reader board, gave us a photo of it and gave us a small bottle of champagne. really nice touches. We'll certainly be back

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank camporange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    82
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
116
131
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We decided to spend our Anniversary weekend here and it was very pleasant. Pet Friendly and accomodating for our stay. Very quiet and relaxing. Our only disappointment was not realizing that there wasn't a continental breakfast and the coffee available in the room was yucky. The staff was friendly, room was very clean.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaisyMae482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

This place has been here for 40+ years. So...
Good Value and great for winter storm watch and what a storm it was.
Clean, well placed at Ocean Shores. We stayed in the unit 303.
Near Sharkys store
Clean and well cared for unit.
Staff was helpful and the pool is nice too.
Thanks for letting us stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrHibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Just got back from a wonderful stay at the Canterbury. We stayed in a first floor unit and skipped the view but saved 20-30 dollars a night and had a screen door opening out to the yard/path to the beach. In the yard area there are a few picnic tables with bbq's, so a first floor unit is perfect if you plan to cook some of your own meals.

The walk down to the beach is a little long (but it's the same walk for all resorts in this part of Ocean Shores) but if you aren't familiar with Northwest beaches you should know that you will be doing most of your swimming in the pool, anyway. The Canterbury has a nice indoor pool, with a depth ranging from 3 to 5 feet - perfect for school-aged kids. We walked down to the beach twice a day and swam in the pool twice a day and the kids had more than enough of the water.

If I had any complaints about our unit, I would say that the sofa and chairs in the living room could really use an update. They weren't terribly attractive and looked a little run down. Other than that, it was really nice to have a separate bedroom with a sleeper sofa for the kids. Don't run the gas fireplace at night or you'll wake up too hot, and give yourself plenty of time to do the dishes since that's not included with the maid service. You'll want to do some cooking in your room (and the kitchen is a huge plus) because the food in Ocean Shores is pretty geriatric and overpriced for the quality. There's no shortage of great ice cream places for dessert, so spend your money there instead.

We really appreciated the courteous staff and reasonable prices at this hotel - even the vending machine prices were more reasonable than anywhere else in Ocean Shores. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank tacomamama253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We had the most enjoyable stay at the Canterbury Inn. Everything was much more than expected. We stayed in a one bedroom unit on the 3rd floor and it was very nice with a fireplace and a fantastic view of the ocean. We loved the pool. We even were delivered a newspaper every morning. I can't wait to stay here again. Would recommend this to everyone. Close to down town, Great breakfast place almost across the street, and a very nice golf course very close. Also, we really loved our walks on the beach. It seems like you can walk for miles either way from the Canterbury.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

I've been going to the Canterbury Inn at Ocean Shores since I was a little girl, and now I love going with my own children. Since the rooms are owned by individuals, they each are a little different and have homey touches. They've done a lot of upgrading recently, and the whole hotel sparkles. The staff have been there forever, too, and are always friendly and helpful. We love being able to hang out in the room and make meals in the kitchen- affordable and less energy with little ones. We don't have pets, but they have rooms on the 1st floor that are pet friendly that our friends have enjoyed. The indoor pool is kept nice and warm- warm enough for our 1 year old who usually gets too cold in other pools. They also have a lending library and games for those days when you prefer to enjoy more time out of the weather. We love walking on the beach, but my kids also really enjoy running around in the grassy, sandy dunes in the hotel's backyard.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bhamhamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater, Washington
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We love The Canterbury Inn. Our room had all the comforts of home. Although the bed was way more comfortable. We stayed in a one bedroom unit with a fireplace and we were on the 3rd floor which had a fantastic view of the ocean. Both our kids had a great time in the heated pool. We had a great time flying our kite on the beach. We had a fantastic walk on the beach on found a glass float. That was exciting. We were right downtown and close to everything. What I did was watch the weather report and on a nice weekend I called down and made a reservation. And the weather was excellent. I plan on going down there again this spring on the next nice weather weekend. That way I can get summer like weather for winter rates.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fashionmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean Shores hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
293 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#7 of 14 in Ocean Shores
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Resort
#10 of 14 in Ocean Shores
126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
#9 of 14 in Ocean Shores
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Inn

Property: Canterbury Inn
Address: 643 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, PO Box 310, Ocean Shores, WA 98569-9344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean Shores
#3 Family Hotel in Ocean Shores
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocean Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canterbury Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington's coast, The Canterbury Inn has been in business for over 50 years. The distinct waterfront location brings the comforts of home and a beach vacation together. The Canterbury Inn features nearby beach access, manicured grounds, BBQ areas, indoor swimming pool/hot tub, spectacular ocean views, guest laundry, pet friendly rooms, kitchens, flat screen TVs, gas fireplaces and more. We even have complimentary board games for those rainy days. While we may not be the newest location in Ocean Shores, we are pride ourselves to be a clean and friendly establishment in which our customers are more than just a head in a bed. Come see why generations have been making The Canterbury Inn their "beach place in Ocean Shores." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Canterbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Hotel Ocean Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing