We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites - Ocean Shores
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Shropshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed July 27, 2008

This is a lovely hotel, with very spacious and extremely comfortable rooms all of which have a sea view overlooking the beach. However, although the hotel website implies that the hotel is right on the beach it is in fact about 200 yards off with a grassy area in between. It was very hot when we were there but it appears that there is always a strong wind coming off the sea, which is great if you want to fly kites.
We did not eat at the hotel restaurant, so cannot comment on it but we did enjoy sitting on our balcony with a glass of wine watching the glorious sunsets.
Ocean Shores is a very nice small resort, still very quiet even in mid July.

  • Liked — The views and spacious comfortable rooms.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stokersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    197
    115
    73
    48
See reviews for
234
258
35
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

Hotel and resturaunt is NOT worth the price you pay. Fit's in with the Ocean Shores aura. Dont expect luxury.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank jetboyerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We stayed at the Shilo for three nights from July 2, 2008 through July 5, 2008. This is the second consecutive year we have gone to Ocean Shores for a short family vacation to enjoy the fireworks on the 4th. The volume of fireworks in Ocean Shores over the 4th is really quite amazing and if you get a view room (preferably upper floor) at any of the hotels on the main drag (essentially from the Shilo to the Best Western Lighthouse) the show will be great. If you have not been to the area, the hotels on the beach side of the street have odd street addresses. The Shilo is 707 Ocean Shores Blvd. NW; the Best Western Lighthouse is technically on a side street but is in close to the 900 block of the main drag--the Days Inn is 891 Ocean Shores Blvd. NW--so anything odd between 707 and 891, plus the Best Western is perfect for the 4th.

The Shilo itself is one of the better properties in the area; it is maintained well, has an on-sight restaurant, indoor pool, steam room, sauna, and small workout room. We ate at the restaurant several times and while the place is not going to win any international culinary awards, it is good enough, the staff is friendly, and the view is nice. You are not going to get a whole lot better in Ocean Shores except for maybe at the nearby casino.

We were on the top floor in room 433 and the others we went with were in 431. These rooms are on the far end oppositive the hotel lobby, pool, spa, etc. If you want a room close to the lobby and pool, the first room on the first floor is 112 (and I believe the other floors have similar, if not identical numbering). Our room had 2 queen beds, a small webar area with counter, micro, fridge, and small coffee maker. 431 had one king bed and same amenities (except that 433 had a one person jetted tub instead of regular tub). Unless you really need two beds, I would definitely recommend getting a king bed room because the seating area with wetbar is significantly larger in the king room than in the queen-queen room. It may only be 5 feet difference, but since the rooms are long and narrow (to maximize ocean frontage), that 5 feet makes a lot of difference and really makes the living area a lot more liveable. In fact, the queen-queen room has only a loveseat in the living room whereas the king room has a couch. Both rooms were clean and maid service was prompt and excellent. The indoor pool is basic, but large enough to fit numerous people and was also clean.

We have stayed other places in Ocean Shores--specifically the Comfort Inn and Quality Inn. The Shilo is overall a better property than both and there is a lot more attention to detail at the Shilo. But, keep in mind, this is Ocean Shores, WA--not a luxury resort town. If you go there expecting anything other than basic amenities and something decent to eat, the target will be hard to hit. The Comfort Inn was also a good experience and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there either. I would advise against the Quality Inn though for several reasons, but mostly because it is a step or two down from both the Shilo and its sister property, the Comfort Inn.

  • Liked — Location and Proximity to Beach Access Road, Amenities, On-Site Restaurant, Indoor Pool
  • Disliked — Air Conditioning and Heater Controls were Confusing (but both worked fine, they were just difficult to figure out because there were two sets of controls)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Devil-In-Details
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

I have never stayed at this particular Shilo, but have stayed at others. This hotel is right on the beach access, which is a blessing and a fault. Far too much traffic for the location.

I have dined here several times and was never impressed. Very basic hotel furniture with no flair whatsoever. Lounge is decent but not at all impressive. Staff was never spectacular on any of my visits. It has a very drab scene. Food was mediocre at best, as well as overpriced for what it was.

After checking the prices it was $50 dollars more per room compared to The Quinault, which is a resort casino.

If you are going with kids it may be worth it. If you are a couple or adults….go to the Quinault, it is far better.

  • Liked — Location to the beach.
  • Disliked — Location to the beach access, in addition to mediocre furniture and service for the price.
  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firewalkwithmelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanshoresmanager, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Ocean Shores, responded to this review, August 3, 2009
Dear firewalkwithmelissa, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in 2005. Upon your return to the hotel we are confident that the new menus in the restaurant and the brighter ambiance will be a welcome addition to The Shilo Inn Ocean Shores. We look forward to you return to our hotel which features all ocean front rooms.
Sincerely,
Tim Van Houten, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

I ran a conference here a few years ago and was not impressed. Food was mediocre, staff was pretty clueless, the workout room is in the lobby, wifi was uncooperative, and the conference facilities are in serious need of updating. My room had a great view of the ocean, but that's the only thing it had going for it.

  • Liked — location is great
  • Disliked — old and the odd chlorine smell
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ktmae55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahuya, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

We had a very nice stay here. The suite was clean and very spacious. My only let-down was that the fireplace was electric (no actual fire), and worked on a timer, so when you're watching a nice looking fire, you hear the timer (40 or so min.) ticking away.
We came back one night with some leftovers we intended to munch on later, and I asked at the front desk when we came in if we could have 2 sets of silverware sent up - no sooner did I close the room door did I hear a knock - room service with the silverware!!
I was especially impressed by the huge lights on the roof of the hotel that shined on the beach at night - a very nice touch!
This 'all suite' hotel is worth checking-out! It's right next to one of the main accesses to the beach (convenient) and one of the nicer places I've stayed, even though it's only rated a 2 star.
I would surely recommend this place to friends, and would certainly stay there again!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Location, Nice Room, Great Service
  • Disliked — Electric Fireplace
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmsctb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Harbor County
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2008

The stay in Ocean Shores Shilo Inn was terrific. I had an Ocean View that was out of this world. The room was very efficient, clean, and fully equipped with even a T.V. in the bathroom! It was delightful to have the fireplace and kitchenette ajoining to the sleeping room. The restaurant was fabulous and the little gal who waited on me was friendly and very courteous. It was evident that this particular establishment had the markings of a well organized staff and management. The food was outstanding.... I had the Sunday brunch and the selection was great for the price. The eggs and ham were cooked to perfection and the atmosphere pleasant. I would highly recommend this particular restaurant/hotel to any guest coming to Ocean SHores and will definately be returning as soon as I am able to.

  • Liked — The Ocean and the great staff at the restaurant
  • Disliked — there was nothing bad
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Oceanbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean Shores hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#7 of 14 in Ocean Shores
272 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
0.5 mi away
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ocean Shores
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites - Ocean Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites - Ocean Shores

Property: Shilo Inn Suites - Ocean Shores
Address: 707 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569-9345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ocean Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocean Shores
#4 Family Hotel in Ocean Shores
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites - Ocean Shores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful southern Oregon off Interstate 5 at Exit 30 is the 48 room, Shilo Inn. Medford enjoys a desirable climate year-round and the Rogue River, parks and theaters are nearby with lots of activities and planned adventures just waiting for guests of the Shilo Inn - Medford. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites - Ocean Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Ocean Shores Hotel Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing