We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Besides the restaurant, this place is crappy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites - Ocean Shores
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Dupont, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Besides the restaurant, this place is crappy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Overall - this place needs some serious updating. I think they invested it all into the lobby. It is 70's all the way. The room was generally clean, but VERY, VERY dated. The only thing that looked decent was the carpet. The mattress were rocks, furniture was old and badly chipped, and damaged and the TV are 18" TUBE televisions!! The shower had black fungus on the lower tiles. Our room was on the first floor and had a fireplace and a "view". The fireplace was electric and the view was of the 8 foot hedge behind the hotel. We couldn't see the beach at all. If you do stay here, try to get on the third floor, otherwise, it's not worth the money. On the plus - they take dogs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjzrbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Ocean Shores, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are very sorry that your stay with us did not meet with your expectations, but thank you for sharing your experience. Your opinion is very important to us. Yes, some of our rooms still have the older style TV's, but we are working on getting the flat screens in every room. The Shilo Inn Ocean Shores was build in 1995, so it does not really reflect the decor of the 70's. Our artwork and sculptures throught the lobby and in the guest rooms are enjoyed by many of our guests. Please visit us again, and we will try to do better next time, to make your stay with us more enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Nikki Hoggan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    195
    110
    69
    47
See reviews for
227
252
37
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Our room was supposed to be ocean view , double queen suite, was a view of bushes. The floors are thin as can be , we kept hearing loud stomping which woke us up several times during the night, went on for a bit ,then would stop and start again an hour or so later, so it was a horrible nights sleep. Needless to say , we would not ever consider staying there again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank islabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Ocean Shores, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear islabound,

Thank you for your comments, and please accept our apology that you did not get a room on one of the upper floors. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to keep you as a guest. I will personally make sure that you get the room you are hoping for.

Sincerely,

Nikki Hoggan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Not Applicable
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

OVER SIX MONTHS IN ADVANCE You book a suite for your families 4th of July and receive a call that morning asking if you are showing up, otherwise they are giving your suite away! I told them they better not give my suite away! Pretty much had to put them in their place in order to keep my reservation! Then you go to check in and they do not put you on the floor you reserved and then they want you to sign the card for a higher rate per night then you booked in well in advance! Then they only give you the rate booked because you brought the print out of the reservation, with the booked rate, but remember that rate was for a different floor than we received! We could not sleep since they had us on a lower floor, which is not what we reserved, with people running all over the top floor at all hours of the night. Customer service is in the toilet for this place all the way around! Along with, they need to sued for False Advertisement for the rate change!

They don't even deserve 1 star, it's more like a negative 3!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schaefer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Ocean Shores, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear SchaeferS,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very concerned that our guests have a wonderful experience. Because July 4th weekend is such a busy one for us, we did call to confirm some reservations, but the intention was not to give away your suite, just to confirm your arrival. I am sorry that you were quoted a different rate at check in than you were told when you reserved. The person who checked you in was in training at that time and it had been a very busy day, so he may have been a bit confused, but I am glad that you were able to confirm the rate you were given. When we reserve, we don't confirm an actual floor at the time of reservation, and your reservation called for 3rd or 4th floor. I'm sorry that you were kept awake by the guests on the floor above you, people were up late due to the fireworks on the beach. We hope that you will stay with us again, and if you would like to further discuss your experience, please call me.

Sincerely,

Nikki Hoggan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This spring we planned a vacation at Ocean Shores Shilo Inn for the 4th of July to watch the fireworks. We booked a suite so that our family could watch the fireworks and small grandchildren could be put to bed early. We had two families travel 1000 miles for this holiday. When we attempted to check in on July 4th, the hotel told us that out reservation had been cancelled on July 1st. This was not our request, but the mistake of hotel staff. The hotel would do nothing for us. The town was booked and what rooms were found were three times the price. The only thing we received from the hotel was "sorry". Two families and 5 children under the age of 5 were stranded with no where to go. Even days after when I tried to get the hotel to compensate us for the vacation their staff ruined, we received nothing. The hotel general manager, Nikki Hoggans, wouldn't even talk to me. I send an e-mail to Shilo corporate and they didn't even reply. This hotel chain doesn't really care about you nor your vacation plans. If you are wanting to go to Ocean Shores on the 4th, right next door to the Shilo is a Quality Inn that has exceptional customer service. The view from the 2nd and 3rd floors is just as good as the Shilos and the rooms are less expensive. I will be going there in the future. No more Shilo Inns for me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Ocean Shores, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Stewart W.,

Let me start by telling you how sorry I am that your reservation had been accidentally cancelled by our agent. She had taken the call from your son, who called to cancel his reservations with usand she mistakenly cancelled your reservation because of the same last name. When it was realized by our staff that your reservation had been mistakenly cancelled, we quickly found another room in town for you, which was actually less than your original reservation, and called you on your cell phone prior to your arrival to notify you. So in reality, your entire family did indeed have a place to stay that night.

We really do care about the comfort and safety of all of our guests, and we did our best to insure you and your family of a safe and comfortable July 4th Holiday. As a Hotel Chain Shilo takes great pride in our good reputation of always putting our guests first. We are sorry for your inconvenience, and we feel that after talking to your son he and the rest of the family were quite satisfied with the alternate accommodations. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further if you would like to contact me at your convenience and certainly hope you will give us another opportunity when your travels bring you to Ocean Shores.

Sincerely,

Nikki Hoggan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I came for two days and just changed it to one. The room is dark and has a slightly unpleasant odor. It's a waterfront suite on top floor so I expected it to be nice. A wall separates window from sleeping area leaving most of room in darkness. I can't get rid of smell because it's too cold & windy to open door to balcony. And my grandson doesn't want to walk on beach because it's cold, far away and full of cars (it's ok to drive on beach here). So we're going home a day early to check into a posh downtown Seattle hotel to treat ourselves. On the plus side, the staff here are great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesterGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Ocean Shores, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear LesterGayle,

Thank you for your review of our resort hotel. I am sorry that you weren't happy with your hotel suite. Most of our guests are quite pleased with their Guest Suite. We are always willing to change you to another room as well if you aren't happy. If you visit us again I hope you will give us the chance to make things right with your accommodations. I am pleased that our staff made you feel welcome.

Sincerely,

Nikki Hoggan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The two nights we spent in the expansive suites at the Shiloh Inn in Ocean Shores were wonderful. Restaurant staff and service was superb!! The hotel is overlooking the beach and the sunsets were amazing. Will definitely stay there next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

As a senior couple, we felt well cared for with the safety items in the bathroom; enjoyed each having our own sink. Enjoyed being able to walk to nearby beach as my husband grew up near water & misses it. We would have hired a taxi or carriage to get around a bit more but did not see the opportunity. The coffee down in lobby was delicious & being Norwegian, I would have appreciated it being available all day instead of removed at noon. We enjoyed eating fresh seafood and all local sales people seemed very helpful & friendly. We would make the trip again.
Thank you

Room Tip: Depending on your mobility ability, be a bit closer to elevator but not right next door either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modernmilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean Shores hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
0.4 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
#10 of 14 in Ocean Shores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#7 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites - Ocean Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites - Ocean Shores

Property: Shilo Inn Suites - Ocean Shores
Address: 707 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569-9593
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ocean Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocean Shores
#4 Family Hotel in Ocean Shores
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites - Ocean Shores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful southern Oregon off Interstate 5 at Exit 30 is the 48 room, Shilo Inn. Medford enjoys a desirable climate year-round and the Rogue River, parks and theaters are nearby with lots of activities and planned adventures just waiting for guests of the Shilo Inn - Medford. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites - Ocean Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Ocean Shores Hotel Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing