We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Portions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bennett's Fish Shack

Bennett's Fish Shack
Ranked #5 of 46 Restaurants in Ocean Shores
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ocean Shores, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Big Portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I especially liked the bar area, which was separate. I sat at the bar and ordered hand breaded fish & chips with a bowl of clam chowder and a beer. I was surprise to see the huge pieces of fish and big portion of fries. They were delicious.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    224
    124
    38
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Way Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The prices are high - and what you get is fast food - the crab cakes were dry and cold. And then the service - they seemed disinterested at best. I suspect there is little oversight or management. Won't go again -

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mjeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another choice in OS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Crab cakes were excellent, fish and chips great, staff young yet attentive and a full bar with cocktails and several beers on tap to choose from. Other than Viet Hoa not much to eat in this town so welcome addition.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MCP12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best seafood in Washington State!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed in Ocean Shores for a week and a half. Ate at Bennett's all but two times. Tried the cod and chips, breaded prawns, cheese burger, clam chowder and seafood fettuccine. Each one was fabulous! The cod and chips are by far the best I've ever had! Their prices are very reasonable. Service is fast and very friendly. The owner, manager and service help were engaging and friendly. I felt like I've known them all my life. There is no other place to eat if you visit Ocean Shores. This place has a big menu that has something for everyone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank radryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Food-But”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had visited Bennett's on a proior visit to Ocean Shores and really liked the food. On this trip with friends we had lunch mid-week. Again we were not dissipointed in the food. The seafood was fresh, the portions were ample and the prices were still a bit high. My wife and I had the fish and chips; two very large pieces of cod ( other places would of cut them in half) with house cut fry's. Our friends had the clam strips and crab cakes. The clams were very good made from large slices of razor clams, the crab cakes were very good - lots of crab and not much filler.

As per other reviews, I agree the prices are a bit steep for a place where you order and pay at the counter, get your own drinks and dine in a somewhat sparse dinning room w/ hard seats, at least they did not expect us to bus our own table. Bennett's could be one of the higest rated resturants in town if the just "tweeked" their service modle a bit and maybe upgrade the wooden booths.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennett's Fish Shack also viewed

 

Been to Bennett's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing