We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still very good food, but can only order ala-carte”

Viet Hoa Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 47 Restaurants in Ocean Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
225 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Still very good food, but can only order ala-carte”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We first went by on a Monday, but the lights were out, so we went elsewhere. The next night, the same thing, but we pulled in. It turned out that they were open, but due to the lighting and faded paint, we couldn't see the parking spaces (they run N/S) and, despite the restaurant being absolutely empty, we were asked to reposition our car! This is a nondescript place, nothing fancy, and it was a good thing for them that their food was good last year, else we might have taken our next choice again. This year, they no longer had "specials" that offer a combination of offerings, but on the other hand, the restaurants that do tend to have one thing or another in their "special" that doesn't appeal to someone, and the urge to substitute for something becomes overwhelming. That set aside, we ordered ala carte, and we found that doing so provided ample amounts for our party, whether a single order of soup or a single ala carte other menu item. As previously, the food was not only ample, but fresh and colorfully presented. And, a nice touch was orange slices (which we've had one other place, but they're unfortunately no longer in business) along with the traditional fortune cookie to conclude our meal. A good thing for the customer: they're open late - 9:30 this night - but the light traffic could lead to this not lasting long.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bricsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    71
    27
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average American-style Chinese Food”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Typical American-style Chinese food with prerequisite Chinese zodiac paper menus and fortune cookies (not sure where fortune cookies came from... I don't think they have them in China). We tried a couple of the lunch specials and left satisfied. Would go back when looking for a meal that doesn't sit in your stomach like a sack of potatoes. Pleasant and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3wiretrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Shores, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We love this place good variety of food, and some of the best PHO I have ever had. Food is always fresh and great tasting. another one of our favorite place to eat in town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank iDECALSPLUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Although it seems to be being billed as a Chinese restaurant the food is closer to Vietnamese or Thai food, much cleaner and healthier than the typical Chinese food. Definitely the best restaurant I have found at Ocean Shores and I will be eating more meals here this week.This is not a fancy place just a bare bones restaurant where food is the main focus and the prices are reasonable, portions are large,and service is fairly quick. Give it a try, I dont think you will be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mace648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Shores, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

There is another Chinese food restaurant here in Ocean Shores avoid that one and come here.First time we came tried the Vietnamese soup it was good. Second time my husband and i had chicken chow mien and chow fun. Both very good. Its hard to find a good restaurant here in Ocean Shores but if looking for Chinese I really recommend this one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cyndie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viet Hoa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Viet Hoa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing