We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grey Gull is like taking a step back in time!”
Review of Grey Gull

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grey Gull
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We are from Texas and loved the cool weather in Ocean Shores. The Grey Gull made our stay even better with a fantastic view of the ocean from the 3rd floor (room 304). Each room is individually decorated and the full-size kitchen is fully stocked for cooking. We loved the pool, hot-tub and cooking out at the picnic area.
The staff at the Grey Gull are very helpful and nice. There are movies and games for use in the lobby along with a quick hot cup of coffee.
Don't forget to fly a kite while in Ocean Shores! We hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Top floor is the best, awesome view of the ocean! Remember, move chairs around quietly when eating d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggmanager, General Manager at Grey Gull, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel! We were happy to host you and your party, and we hope to have you back with us again. Keep in mind, we do offer group rates for room blocks of 5 or more, so consider The Grey Gull for your family reunion!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 498 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have never had a bad experience at the Grey Gull. We plan on going back again very soon. It's so relaxing and just a short walk thru the dunes to the beach. We've gone there in good weather and bad. It's always been fabulous.

Room Tip: The top floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Frankeezgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggmanager, General Manager at Grey Gull, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We look forward to having you back.

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was a nice hotel. We had a 2 bedroom condo - nice rooms and plenty of space as well as a stocked kitchen (except for the food). The beach is about a 5 minute walk down a wooded path. You can't see the ocean from the 2nd floor, not sure about the 3rd floor.
clean.

Room Tip: you can't see the ocean from 1st or 2nd floor, not sure about the 3rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandrajeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We celebrated my husband's birthday by spending one night at the Grey Gull. We stayed in unit 314, which had an amazing view of the ocean and mountains. We immediately realized we should have spent more than one night. Our room was a one-bedroom condo with all the amenities of home. We are already making plans to return for a much longer stay. But next time we'll be staying in our friend (Jeri Burgess) condo -- unit 214. It has the same amazing view and is delightfully decorated in a nautical theme. The Grey Gull is a beautiful, comfortable, hidden treasure right on the ocean.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarciaBrixey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Not only as a 40-year international business traveler, but as one in the middle of a 10,000 mile tour of the U.S., I found this motel to be very under-rated, both in value and experience.
On this trip, we've stayed mostly in 3-star motels, with the occasional 2-star when we lacked choice; we picked the Grey Gull on that basis and were very pleasantly surprised. On a holiday weekend we booked one-night; shortly after arrival and based on the experience, we extended.

Our room (202) turned out to be a mini-suite, with all of the conveniences one would expect for an extended stay, including kitchenette and all of the accessories. The room was in excellent condition, with everything crisp and new/modern accessories. The room was tastefully decorated, and included both a gas fireplace and flat-screen television, complete with full surround-sound speaker system. The king-size bed was very comfortable, and the room included a balcony and chairs that faced both a heated outdoor pool and the ocean, (a short walk to the beach). Everything appeared clean and well maintained. Wireless internet was easy to connect to and reliable. The staff was pleasant and accomodating.

Throughout the stay, one observes little reminders that these folks are in the hospitality business, viewing the experience through the eyes of their guests, and adding little touches to make the experience positive. I view the Grey Gull as "3-stars +" relative to anywhere else we've stayed on this trip and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mickey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We wanted a place on the beach where we could have our dog and this was perfect. All facilities worked fine, staff was friendly. Decor a little dated, and internet slow, but for price was a good deal. Very clean.

Room Tip: First floor rooms do not have ocean view because of dunes, but did have nice patios onto the grass a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tldurgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The Grey Gull is an older resort but we found it clean and well-maintained. We had 3 adults and 2 kids and stayed in a corner ground floor unit, Room 112. The units are privately owned, so we were told all are furnished differently. Ours had a living room, dining area, large fully-equipped kitchen, 1 bathroom, and a separate bedroom with two queen or double beds - not sure what size they were. The bedroom had a slidding door to the deck and small TV. The living room also had a slidding door to the deck, gas fireplace, large TV, fold-out couch, and two comfy reading chairs by the large windows. The big hit with the kids was the heated outdoor pool and hot tub. The pool was nice and warm on our first evening, but much cooler (78 degrees or so) the next 2 days. The units all face the pool so you get the feeling of being at a "resort", specially when the sun is out. We didn't experience the loud guests at the fire pit like other reviewers mentioned, but then again we stayed there in the off-season, April. The grassy area has large hills which the kids enjoyed running up and down, and the trail to the beach was long for a 4 year old, but fine. We took advantage of the large selection of games, pool and sand toys that you can borrow. In the lobby, there are also books and lots of movies you can take to your room. Our experience with the movies was a failure though. The first night the movie we selected didn't have the DVD in it, just an empty case. The second night neither us, nor the lady from the desk, could figure out how to work the DVD player. However, the staff was homey and accommodating. This is not the Four Seasons, and some things like the pool and hot tub, show their age, but we would stay there again, specially with the kids.

Room Tip: Corner rooms (112) are great when you travel with kids - easy access to grass area, beach, and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AreWeHavingFunYet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean Shores hotels
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#7 of 14 in Ocean Shores
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Ocean Shores
276 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
#10 of 14 in Ocean Shores
587 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
#9 of 14 in Ocean Shores
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Gull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gull

Address: 651 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569-9344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocean Shores
#1 Family Hotel in Ocean Shores
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean Shores
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean Shores
Price Range: $104 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grey Gull 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grey Gull is a condominium-hotel with 37 uniquely decorated, individually owned units. Located just steps from the beach, The Grey Gull offers great ocean views, a heated outdoor pool and hot tub, and BBQ area for convenient entertainment and a quality coastal experience. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen, clean-burning gas fireplace, and balcony or patio. Many units are dog-friendly, so be sure to bring your best friend! Whether you are sneaking off for a quick weekend getaway for two or planning a full family reunion, The Grey Gull will have a room perfectly suited to your needs. Experience the Quiet Quality of The Grey Gull today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Grey Gull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Gull Ocean Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing