We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for family but not great on service”
Review of Grey Gull

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grey Gull
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Silverdale, WA
127
Reviewed August 19, 2003

My family and I just got back from our stay at the Grey Gull. We stayed in room 205 and it was really nice. Each unit is individually owned so the decor is different. Ours had new furniture and an updated look to it. I looked at a few other rooms which were nice but a bit outdated.
We loved having the seperate bedroom and kitchen. We traveled with our three children and this setup worked well for us. The swimming pool was also especially nice for the kids and it is kept very warm which is nice at the ocean! The only negative was the front desk. We asked for an extra half hour to check out and were adamantly refused! I had wanted to feed my three kids lunch before we hit the road but to no avail. The room was not scheduled with anyone else so it wasn't a matter of getting it cleaned in time...the person at the desk was just not going to budge. I also had requested a crib on the phone when we made our reservations and when I checked in...after several hours I called down and was told "sorry but we're out" thank goodness I had a King bed and our littlest could sleep in with us. A couple other times I went up to the desk to ask a question and was basically ignored until I said something. I found that too bad as I had really enjoyed staying at the Grey Gull--I think the front desk people need to work a bit on customer service--a little kindness goes a long way in my book.

27  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 513 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Bremerton, WA
13
Reviewed June 23, 2003

My family has been vacationing at the Grey Gull for over 10 years now.
We have framed pictures of our vacations there over the years, so many happy memories. For comfort, beauty, relaxation and fun, you can't beat The Grey Gull. We've unfortunately tried a couple others and were disappointed. The Grey Gull has spoiled us and we won't stay anywhere else at Ocean Shores. Someday we'll be taking our future grandchildren there too. It's our family tradition!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
seattle,wa
16
Reviewed June 4, 2003

My husband,daughter and myself drove down and spent a wonderful weekend @ the grey gull in april of 2003 it was our first time visiting and we didn't know what to expect. Over the phone they let us know we had a stove,fridge etc... so we came prepared with a few dishes,2 pots & pans for cooking etc...Boy were we in for a surprise!!!The condo we were staying in was fully stocked!!!All we really needed was the FOOD:-) (IGA grocery is conviently placed 4 blocks away)We were so pleased.We stayed for 2 days. My husband and myself came back the next weekend, just the two of us and we had a ball it was just like being at home because you had everything you needed. The staff went out of their way to please us on both occasions.The room was beautiful.The entire stay was relaxing.I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get away and relax. Also for pet owners, you can bring them along with you. I don't own a pet, but I thought that was a very kind act on their part for persons whom want to bring along their pets. Enjoy your stay. My family and I will be sure to return as much as possible. Cheryl Johnson

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
311
Reviewed February 19, 2003

My husband and I spent a relaxing two days at The Grey Gull. It's actually a condominium-type hotel, with beautifully furnished units. The view of the Pacific is awesome, and it's a fairly short walk from the hotel to the beach itself. There's an outdoor heated pool and hot tub. They're very nice, although it gets a bit noisy when they're full of kids. We loved our stay there, though. Everyone is nice and friendly and we hope to return soon. The Lawsons

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: egal, alle haben Balkon mit Meersicht
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank bete75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggmanager, General Manager at Grey Gull, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Auf jeden Fall mit Seaview buchen, ob Zimmer, Studio oder App.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jutta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean Shores hotels
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
583 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#7 of 14 in Ocean Shores
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
#10 of 14 in Ocean Shores
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Resort
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
#9 of 14 in Ocean Shores
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Gull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gull

Address: 651 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569-9344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocean Shores
#1 Family Hotel in Ocean Shores
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocean Shores
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean Shores
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean Shores
Price Range: $83 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grey Gull 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grey Gull is a condominium-hotel with 37 uniquely decorated, individually owned units. Located just steps from the beach, The Grey Gull offers great ocean views, a heated outdoor pool and hot tub, and BBQ area for convenient entertainment and a quality coastal experience. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen, clean-burning gas fireplace, and balcony or patio. Many units are dog-friendly, so be sure to bring your best friend! Whether you are sneaking off for a quick weekend getaway for two or planning a full family reunion, The Grey Gull will have a room perfectly suited to your needs. Experience the Quiet Quality of The Grey Gull today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Grey Gull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Gull Ocean Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing