We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Grey Gull

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grey Gull
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Federal Way, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I can't wait to go back! First I have to say that I love that this is not a chain place to stay. It's a small privately owned Inn that has rooms for rent and also owners onsite in their own individually owned units which must be why it is maintained so well. If you're looking for a room on the coast with charm and a beach inn feel The Grey Gull is it. There's not a place to eat in The Grey Gull but the room had a normal size fridge, stove and microwave. They were really close to resturants and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    160
    33
    13
    14
See reviews for
170
212
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Grey Gull. This hotel to me acts as a safeguard against the temperamental weather at Ocean Shores. We had a mixture of brilliant sun and cold wind/ fog during our stay. When the sun was out, we went to the beach that was easily accessed by a trail system at the back of the hotel. When Mother Nature suddenly changed her mood and threw cold wind and fog at us, we went to the heated pool + jacuzzi both placed within a glass wind barrier and enjoyed the remainder of the day.
Should also mention that our room had a deck facing the ocean which was perfect for drinks as the sun set and a fireplace in the room once the sun was down. Overall a great deal, and we didn't have noise issues as suggested by other reviewers. Much to contrary, we saw an abundance of signs from the hotel management asking patrons to respect the quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booferino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Room 107 was great for our family getaway. We reserved rooms next to each other and being on the ground floor visited back and forth. Nice decks off each unit. Next time I might stay up a floor for the view. Great pool, hot tub and on the ocean. We played croquet on the lawn and had a great time. A family favorite.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We celebrated my 60th birthday with a weekend stay at the Grey Gull at Ocean Shores. It had been over 30 years since we'd stayed there, and I expected to find it rather worn. Wrong. We stayed in suite 207 which is beautifully furnished and decorated. There were six of us, and we all had plenty of room and comfortable sleeping arrangments. In the master bedroom, we had the biggest, most comfortable king-sized bed I've ever slept in. And with 1.75 bathrooms, there was never a wait for showers.
The kitchen was VERY complete; the living area was roomy. And the view would have been terrific, if only the weather had cooperated...
Service was friendly and fast. We had a slight issue with the fireplace igniter, and the maintenance man was there and had it fixed within a half hour. Front desk people were friendly, and I am told that we got a great price on a winter weekend promotion.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2011

I recently stayed at the Grey Gull with my teenage kids and a few friends. Everyone enjoyed the outdoor pool and the hot tub. The sauna was very relaxing and it was nice to have a shower room right at the sauna. The lobby was tastefully decorated and the kids enjoyed the game shelf. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The full kitchen saved on restaurant bills.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I stayed here recently, and while the staff were nice and I dug the pool, the noise levels at night drove me insane. The big fire pit outside is a party magnet, and at one am, packed with loud drunk guests, it was bad. I asked them nicely one night to chill, and they kind of did, but both nights we were there it was a battle to go to sleep with the screaming and hollering. If you are the kind of traveler who likes hoot and holler, get smashed, and forget the oldies and their cranky ways, then this place if for you. But for families or anyone who wants a restful sleep as part of the action, this ain't for you. Or me.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank gentlegiant5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Unfortunately this is not the place to have a relaxing vacation. The units all face the pool and courtyard and have an ocean view, which would be nice except for the all-night fire pit. Guest are encouraged to stay at the fire pit as long as they like, and we were kept awake until the wee hours of the morning by yelling and boisterous behavior two nights in a row.

After the first night I notified the office, which closes at 10:00 p.m. I thought they might check the fire pit when they closed the second night to ask the guests to keep it down, but the loud party continued. I like to hear the ocean when I go to the beach, not listen to drunken people yelling as I try to sleep.

Since the pool and hot tub close at 10:00 p.m, why not close the fire pit then, too, or remove it entirely. I urge the Grey Gull management to consider what they are trying to provide: a relaxing family vacation spot or a place for loud parties that last far into the night? With no staff present at the resort over night, guests are totally on their own. It's too expensive of a place to pay for and not be able to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Spicey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean Shores hotels
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
391 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#7 of 14 in Ocean Shores
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Resort
#10 of 14 in Ocean Shores
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Gull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gull

Property: Grey Gull
Address: 651 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569-9344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocean Shores
#1 Family Hotel in Ocean Shores
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean Shores
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grey Gull 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grey Gull is a condominium-hotel with 37 uniquely decorated, individually owned units. Located just steps from the beach, The Grey Gull offers great ocean views, a heated outdoor pool and hot tub, and BBQ area for convenient entertainment and a quality coastal experience. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen, clean-burning gas fireplace, and balcony or patio. Many units are dog-friendly, so be sure to bring your best friend! Whether you are sneaking off for a quick weekend getaway for two or planning a full family reunion, The Grey Gull will have a room perfectly suited to your needs. Experience the Quiet Quality of The Grey Gull today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Grey Gull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Gull Ocean Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing