We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limited menu but great views of the ocean!”
Review of Waves Restaurant BEST WESTERN - CLOSED

Waves Restaurant BEST WESTERN
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed June 24, 2014

When we went they had a limited menu and prices are a bit high. The views are to die for though and the full service bar was great. It is located on the 3rd floor of the hotel via elevator.

Thank Buzzsaw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 70 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

We ate at BW Waves Restaurant twice during our stay at BW Lighthouse Suites. Great view of the ocean from the west side of the restaurant. Our first meal offered us a choice of three specials and a menu with lots of choice. Five draught beers on tap to choose from including two brewed locally; one of the specials was a burger and beer for $12 and for an extra buck, it could be draught. Fish and chips was so well prepared that I ordered it again on our second visit; the chips were prepared better the first time (and likely the second time were oven heated frozen chips); fish batter was panko and light; with their variety of cocktail sauce, this was a memorable fish-and-chips meal to remember. Burgers were good both nights, dressed generously with lettuce, tomato, onion and pickle and a bun that lasted the meal without decomposing. Hoping for a desert, we were disappointed with choices but settled for a cheesecake with chocolate sauce and whipped cream; it wasn't New York Cheesecake, but it had weight and a tasty crumb crust. Looking around Ocean Shores, for a few days, I'd say, Waves is the best dining option offered.

Thank Sassamatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My wife and I had dinner here last evening. Excellent service and even better food. My wife had a special request not on the menu and the chef couldn't do enough to accommodate. All of the food was exceptional! Recently revamped, ocean view, great bar. Simply excellent! AND WE ARE NOT EASY TO PLEASE having eaten at some of the best restaurants on the west coast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Came in with our group of 8 for a family dinner and all of us came away feeling dissatisfied with our meal and experience. The service was slow and disorganized and we all kept looking at each other hoping things would improve as the night went on. It didn't. The food came in waves and the prime rib was not done the way we ordered. The fish and chips were overdone and not very tasty. We asked for steak knives and they only could provide 1 for our entire table! We ordered an ice tea which was on the menu only to be told they did have any.

A fire alarm went off twice during the meal and our lighting overhead was never fully functional. We asked them to turn up the lights-which they did only to have them go dim again. We could never figure out what was going on. The ventilation system seemed off also as the section of the dining area we were in was very warm and uncomfortable.

With the poor service, the poor food and the facility/maintenance issues I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone and we will never come back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We went to the Waves for Valentines dinner and were pleased to be promptly seated. There were about 7 occupied tables and 4 waitstaff. It took about 15 minutes for someone to take a drink order and another hour before we finally recieved our dinners. The staff seemed confused the entire time we were there and it never was clear who our waitress was. Confusion ruled the dinning room as an angry diner complained that no one checked on his table for 40 minutes and he hadn't been able to get a bill... This was followed by a waitperson walking aimlessly from table to table with steamer clams asking who had ordered them. An hour into our wait someone came and asked if we had gotten our food yet - we indicated we hadn't.

When our food finally arrived it was well prepared, the cook clearly was doing their job, but the waitstaff was really letting the cook down by delivering food late to the tables and being completey clueless on how to do their jobs. At one point, someone who worked there came by and said they were sorry about the service- indicating the clearly KNOW the service is a mess but don't fix it!

When my steak finally arrived I was promised a steak knife which never came, and when we asked for rolls the waitperson deliverd them and looked surprised when we asked for butter to go with them... The three foil wrapped cubes were dropped on the table.

We asked for our bill, only wanting to escape as we could no longer watch the keystone cops waitstaff- when the bill arrived it was wrong. We finally just paid cash ( no way were we going to see if they could run a credit card without messing that up) and we left. We will NEVER go back and would not recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shelly97060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waves Restaurant BEST WESTERN also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing