We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ocean Shores Motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sands Resort
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Fall City
1 review
“Ocean Shores Motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family and I have stayed at the Ocean Shores Motel for the last four years and the same Sweet,kind and polite housekeeper/lanudry lady (Mary) is there she keeps things clean and looking very good in the rooms. As long as she is there we will go back.

Room Tip: The back side is the best it has a big area that your dogs can play or the kids can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eldon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    44
    33
    28
    49
See reviews for
56
48
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stanwood, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

I had booked a stay at The Sands "Shoreside" accommodations (they have the 'shoreside' and 'offshore' hotels) for a trip this weekend to Ocean Shores. It was a last minute booking and I had read the reviews but it was one of the few hotels that fit my budget.

Upon arriving we found the motel's parking lot badly cracked and horribly signed as to where the office was. We located the office and got checked in very quickly. Headed up to our room where we encountered our first issue with the door- it was a key lock and the lock stuck as well as the door- I had to body check the door to open it.

Upon walking into the room 3 of the walls were wooden paneled (much like you'd find in a mountain cabin) and it was VERY stuffy. There was no AC unit and a very big window. We went to open the window and found it had NO screens- mind we were in a third floor room with a 6 year old.

The beds were so firm it was uncomfortable to sit on them, let alone attempt to lay down. The bathroom was small and dated, we found mold around the seal on the tub, and the shower head was caked in grime.

In the main room there were several water spots on the ceiling and a teeny fridge and microwave.

We decided to call one of the other hotels in the area and make a reservation. Upon checking out the desk clerk did offer a one bedroom suite for a 'reduced' rate of $130 for the night but we declined and stayed elsewhere.

I would NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KassandraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean Shores hotels

New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were a bit apprehensive to stay here since it didn't receive the best reviews, but the price was right and we had our two small dogs with us so we gave it a shot. I'm glad we did! The place was clean, super friendly, fun and had a lot of charm. It's definitely an older motel, so it's a little rundown in places, but that just gave it personality. I'd rather stay someplace unusual like The Sands Resort than a boring generic Days Inn or Comfort Inn.

The pools were nice, the hot tub was GREAT and the room was decorated like a log cabin. Overall I highly recommend this place for anyone with kids or pets or with a group of friends. It's probably not the best place for a romantic weekend though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkletron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have stayed here several times. It's always been clean and in good repair. It is a short walk through the dunes to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yazoo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanaway, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The reasonably priced rooms and nice indoor pool. Nice people working there, really friendly and helpful. Rooms are smelly!!! Had to go to the store to get an air freshener. Pee stains on the floor from all the pets. Furniture was falling a part, wobbly chairs, no padding in the sofa, chair was full of dust. So outdated that even cheap, dusty fake flowers were out place there. I do believe that back in 70's or 80's it was a nice place to stay, now it's in need of major makeover. Have to say my favorite piece in the room was a really CUTE fake moose head. Bathroom was really tiny, but cute also. Nice size balcony with an ocean view,you could see wildlife. The trail to the beach was OK, just a little walk and you are there. Pet owners do not clean after their pets, so really watch where you step. Overall, if you are looking for something really cheap with ocean view and pet friendly come to the Sands, but personally I'll stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSmirnoff95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed over Father's Day weedend. Staff was very courteous and helpful making suggestions for dining and exploring the beach. Easy access to the beach just a short walk over the dunes. Extremely pet friendly.

Room Tip: Junior suites are great for a couple and the kitchen area helps cut down on the cost of dining out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Airmid8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

The room was reasonably priced. The Counter receptionist "Chris" July 11, 2012 5:pm shouldn't be aloud to work with the public. He was extreamly rude.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 315Frances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean Shores hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#7 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Resort

Property: The Sands Resort
Address: 801 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569
Location: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sands Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sands Resort has accommodations for groups and families of every budget, we offer a fun and easy getaway at an unbeatable value! Enjoy our breathtaking ocean views, take a relaxing sunset stroll along the beach, play in the indoor and outdoor pools, and unwind in our hot tubs. We offer pet friendly rooms and a free daily Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Ocean Shores
Sands Hotel Ocean Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing