We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third visit and we'll be back again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Charles Nelson Guest House
Ranked #2 of 6 Ocean Park B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 14, 2010

The Charles Nelson Guest House is one of those places that feels so comfortable, it is more like visiting a favorite relative than staying at a B&B.

Our hostess Ginger Gish is one of the sweetest people you could hope to meet. She goes way above the norm in trying to please her guests, always offering what ever little extra that might make your stay more enjoyable. She lives next door, so guests have this charming home and its spacious gardens to themselves.

The location is a great base from which to explore the Long Beach Peninsula and we never get tired of hiking the many trails in nearby Leadbetter State Park or walking the beaches of Willapa Bay across the street or the Pacific Ocean only minutes away.

Ginger's Breakfasts are always wonderful, but the thing that sets her apart from others is that if you love oysters, and Willapa Bay is famous for some of the best, Ginger will cook you up a big plateful along with the eggs, sausage, scones, baked oatmeal or whatever else you might be having for breakfast that morning. There are plenty of restaurants for dinner and Ginger will even pack any muffins or scones you couldn't eat for breakfast for you to enjoy later in the day.

She is a great animal lover and we enjoyed all her stories about the "pets" her husband wouldn't allow her to have. No animal intrudes on the guests quarters, but if you ask nicely she may introduce you to her very special rabbit with the lion mane.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Painter077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 60 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2010

Small (3 bedroom) B&B with large living spaces, and excellent breakfast. Guests have "full run" of the entire house (owners live next door). Originally selected due to it's location close to razor clamming, but would return for a relaxing visit. Hosts are welcoming and helpful. If you like B&B, this will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldWebfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Some times when you take a road trip and don’t make reservations you find you self in places you really don’t want to be in specifically a hotel or motel that’s less than desirable just because all of the good places are booked but with a little luck and some local information you can find the gems of all gems. We had such luck and good fortune to find Charles Nelson Guest House; there is no way to describe how wonderful this little slice of heaven really is. The owners Ginger and Curt are your hostess & host, their establishment is immaculately kept and we mean immaculately. Their hospitality is second to none and Ginger’s breakfast has to be rated as the best of the best. The best part of the whole situation is we left feeling that we had met two of the nice people who we will consider friends from this time forward. This is a must stop for folks who want a little piece of heaven or visiting the Long Beach Peninsula.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We had a great stay at this B & B. Food was great and so was the room. Owners were helpful in choosing a dinner reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnajo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We had a delightful visit. The hosts couldn't have been more gracious in making sure my partner got to view the England v Germany match. This is a wonderful B&B to stay in while you explore the WA coast. Very comfortable rooms, well appointed bathrooms, charming decorations and a yard geared towards relaxing while bird watching. We will definitely go back.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Johncj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Ginger and Kurt have made this by far the best B&B in the NorthWest, possibly in the country, and as such it is a terrific value. The inside of the house, and its surrounding yard and garden, are charming, cozy, and impeccably well kept. Ginger's breakfasts are nothing short of amazing; they are a blend of comfort food and fine dining...you will not find better anywhere! I have come here at least once a year for several years, with my husband and four friends. We always look forward to our stay, we always have a fabulous time, and we always book our next reservation before we leave.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDXtraveler97229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We had a great time at this bed and breakfast! The attention to detail was phenomenal and the service was fantastic!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeybee48_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Park
7.0 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
10.2 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#2 of 8 in Long Beach
1,859 reviews
2.0 mi away
Campbell House at Klipsan Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Surfside Inn
The Surfside Inn
#1 of 4 in Ocean Park
44 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Charles Nelson Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Nelson Guest House

Address: 26205 Sandridge Rd, Ocean Park, WA 98640-4319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ocean Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Park
Price Range: $197 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charles Nelson Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Charles Nelson Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing