We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Charles Nelson Guest House
Ranked #2 of 6 Ocean Park B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“most excellent”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The location is perfect,close enough to shopping and restaurants and a fantastical wildlife preserve. It's even close to Long Beach, but it partakes of none of Long Beach's tackiness. We tried some of the local restaurants, and they were good, but they don't compare to Ginger's cooking. You won't go away hungry after breakfast, but more importantly, you may go away inspired. I grew up among oyster fields, and her take on fried oysters brought back wonderful childhood memories. But that's just one of many takes on breakfast she has. We stayed three nights and had different treats each morning. The accommodations deserve mention as well - the rooms are well laid-out, the dining area and living room are inviting, the book and dvd collections are extensive. A lot of thought has gone into this place.

Room Tip: for a view of the bay, choose the front. For a bit more quiet, choose the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful, relaxing stay at this B&B. It was clean, comfortable and the hosts were very welcoming. Ginger made us delicious breakfasts and by special order, fried up some fresh local oysters for us and made her famous salmon hash. She also made a scrumptious peach cobbler one night which was great to have after a long day at the Kite Festival. We also had a view of the moonlit bay from our room and enjoyed our walks through the garden. The bed was very comfortable and the bedroom and bathroom were both spacious. It was nice staying on the Oysterville side of the Long Beach peninsula to avoid the noise and traffic from the crowds that were visiting the kite festival. We also had interesting talks with the other guests. Make sure you eat dinner at Jimella and Nanci's market café! It was splendid food. We will come back to this B&B!

Room Tip: We had the room at the end of the hall--with the best view of Willapa Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

There just aren't enough superlatives to characterize this B&B. The setting is really nice, close enough to Long Beach to enjoy the kite festival, or the Blues and Seafood festival, or the Jazz and Oysters festival, or whatever else is happening, but secluded enough to be quiet and contemplative. Ginger's breakfasts are a wonder (you won't be needing lunch!), and she and Kurt are super nice people. They'll give you honest appraisals of the local dinner spots, and help you make reservations if needed. The rooms are large and comfortable, each with its own private bath, the common areas are really nice, with reading material of every sort available if you want to settle into one of the hammock chairs. I've stayed in B&Bs all across the country, and I've never found one that came even close to CNGH!

Room Tip: All three of the rooms are exceptional. Each has its own characteristics, but you really can't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This truly is the best B&B ever. Ginger and Kurt are delightful hosts, and their B&B is a delightful and charming escape. Ginger's breakfasts are TO DIE FOR!!! We go there at least once a year, and she always has some new delicious creation to offer, but we do request our favorites too, which include salmon hash with scrambled eggs, and pan-fried local oysters and bacon on the side. Her scones are killer delicious too. As if that's not special enough, their hugs and warm hospitality make it an extra-special place. We've been going here with two other couples for about 10 years, and always have such a terrific time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDXtraveler97229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My boyfriend brought me here as a birthday present and it was absolutely great. Neither of us had been to a B&B before so didn't know what to expect. Ginger was super friendly and the breakfast was amazing. On the second day she made french toast using croissants as the bread and our minds were blown. The house itself is nice and cozy and the beds were comfy. I'm so happy this was how I got to spend my birthday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladypenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just got home and was happy to post a review! July 14 - 16, 2013 was our visit. It was absolutely wonderful. Sounds to good to be true, but really it is. We stayed in Charles room over looking Willapa Bay. Watched the sun come up. Breakfast was a yummy - and since my husband and I were the only two there for the stay - she treated us to our choice of food. We will go back, probably sooner than we had planned. The house was lovely, the yard was well cared for. Seriously, a truely wonderful vacation. Thank you Ginger!!!

Room Tip: if you want to look over Willapa Bay while sipping coffee and sitting in bed - Charles room is the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

From the moment you meet Ginger (host/owner) upon check-in to the warm hug you get from her as you say goodbye, you understand that the Charles Nelson Guest House is very special. We rank it among the best Bed and Breakfast stays. The garden has impeccably manicured plants of every kind, and other features (e.g. a neat gazebo, pond) that draw your attention. It is beautifully adorned with unique antiques, and enticing and tranquil rooms, which instantly cleanse any of your worries from the outside world. This guesthouse can only be described enchanted. A vast selection of teas and coffees can be prepared when you want a cup at a time. The cuisine in the best neighborhood restaurants cannot match Ginger’s outstanding gourmet breakfasts with fresh fruits, juices, crepes, sautéed local oysters, omelets, and other delights, all carefully prepared in Ginger’s spacious kitchen. Only when you begin pondering where you will go for dinner does your appetite reappear. My wife enjoyed a relaxing soak in the tub after a long day of hikes. Slumber arrives quickly as you retire to one of the guest bedrooms. You awake to the noise of the seagulls and perchance, a view of the water on the tranquil bay. We suggest you visit outside of peak season, as we did, to truly enjoy this unique wonderland.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their individual charms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Park
7.0 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
9.1 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#7 of 8 in Long Beach
257 reviews
9.8 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Campbell House at Klipsan Beach
10.0 mi away
Best Western Long Beach Inn
8.4 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Nelson Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Nelson Guest House

Property: Charles Nelson Guest House
Address: 26205 Sandridge Rd, Ocean Park, WA 98640-4319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ocean Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charles Nelson Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Charles Nelson Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing