We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly people, good food!”
Review of BBQ Joint

BBQ Joint
Ranked #8 of 86 Restaurants in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Transplanted Texans serving real Hickory Smoked BBQ and real Southern Sweet Tea. Our side dishes and desserts are made from scratch. Memphis Baby Back Ribs, Texas Beef Brisket, Carolina Pulled Pork, Smoked Chicken and Spicy or Mild Sausage. Come try our award winning BBQ and warm hospitality.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
235 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Friendly people, good food!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Had lunch here after a friend from Texas recommended it. I'm not generally a big fan of bbq, but this place is really good. The people are very friendly and the prices are reasonable. I've heard many bbq connoisseurs rave about this place, so it must be authentic.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBQJ, Owner at BBQ Joint, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Being Texans ourselves, we love when other Texans reccommend us. Please thank your friend for us. Thank you for leaving us such a nice review. Our goal is great food, friendly service and happy customers. Reviews like yours help keep us here! We are grateful you took the time to post this.
Sonna & Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    35
    10
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Englewood
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Talkin' real "Q"”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

If you are feeling a hankering for some really good barbecue, you need to look no further. It's right here. You can smell smoke when you enter the place and that to me is always a good sign. Service is at the counter and you carry your food to your table. This place is not about decor or ambiance. It's all about good service, friendly people and really good barbecue. The sides are very good as well. Home baked deserts. Tea both sweet and natural plus serve yourself fountain drinks. Prices are reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tbone42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBQJ, Owner at BBQ Joint, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Getting feedback like yours is very rewarding to us. We are so happy you liked our food and service. Many thanks for take your time to post this. Please visit us again soon.
Sonna & Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whidbey island, washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always good food, friendly service, awesome desserts”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Love the spicy sausage and ribs best, but be sure and save room for one of the made from scratch yummy desserts! True southern hospitality reigns supreme at BBQ Joint!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tracktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBQJ, Owner at BBQ Joint, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
We absolutely love to get 5 star reviews! Thank you so much. The experience you describe is exactly how we want our customers to feel. We truly appreciate it.
Sonna & Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I love ribs - and these were some of the best I've had!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This place was absolutely awesome. Living in the PacNorWest, good bbq is very hard to come by. These ribs were really really really (you get the idea) good. I've had better bbq sauce, but the sauce they did have didn't detract from the overall taste of the ribs. I'd definitely visit again without hesitation!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kbarnard10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBQJ, Owner at BBQ Joint, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We really, really, really appreciate your great review of our restaurant. We are very proud of our ribs and we are so happy that you enjoyed them. Hope to see you again soon. Sonna & Tim Ryan, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We always eat here at least once when we are in the area. I always get the same thing--the pulled pork sandwich. Everything else looks good, but why mess with something this good. Relaxed, comfortable atmosphere, nice staff, and very clean.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBQJ, Owner at BBQ Joint, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
We really appreciate your kind remarks. Thank you for posting this good review. It is very important to us. Sonna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BBQ Joint also viewed

Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 

Been to BBQ Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing