We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU CAN SMELL IT!”
Review of BBQ Joint

BBQ Joint
Ranked #6 of 92 Restaurants in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Transplanted Texans serving real Hickory Smoked BBQ and real Southern Sweet Tea. Our side dishes and desserts are made from scratch. Memphis Baby Back Ribs, Texas Beef Brisket, Carolina Pulled Pork, Smoked Chicken and Spicy or Mild Sausage. Come try our award winning BBQ and warm hospitality.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Knew it was genuine BBQ by the smell when i walked into this "joint". We stopped here on our drive from Anacortes to Freeland after a day of whale watching. We were hungry! We found a nice variety of smoked meats and a nice selection of side items. A very helpful staff. The BBQ Joint may not be as good as the BBQ in Kansas City, but they are pretty darn close. A great find on a great island.

1  Thank tivmamtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBQJ, Owner at BBQ Joint, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

We are very happy you gave us a try. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. It means a lot to us and brings us new customers. We think the smell is one of our best advertisements:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 138 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

My family and I stopped here on our way to Deception Pass park. We picked up a little bit of everything! It was so good. The sausage was delicious. As were the corn bread muffins. I'd definitely go back if I was in the area. A thumbs up from the kids, too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BethanneU4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBQJ, Owner at BBQ Joint, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

We appreciate the good review and are glad we got to play a small part in your visit to Deception Pass. We love when you bring the kids! Hope you come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I love the BBQ joint. They stick to what they know and have the bet BBQ around! The desserts are pretty good too, but with all the food I usually have to take that home.

1  Thank For_The_Hope_Chest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBQJ, Owner at BBQ Joint, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

We love the title of your review! Thank you for recognizing we don't try to do everything - just a few things very well. Your compliments mean a lot to us, we are grateful that you told us (and everyone:-))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

GO!! It may look like a little hole in the wall from the outside...but don't let appearances keep you from such fabulous food. Step inside to the very quaint and clean restaurant and step up to the counter...don't waste your time with the sandwiches just get the 3 or 4 meat plate pick your sides...be sure to have some REAL sweet tea, and enjoy!! Love, love this place. We have never gone to a place 3 out of our 4 days in a town to eat...it was that good. Who knew you could find such authentic southern cooking in Oak Harbor WA!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is hands down the best quality of food in Oak Harbor. The only way you are going to beat this food is catching fresh salmon, and doing a BBQ yourself. (No these people don't sale Salmon here).

Now if you compare this place to other BBQ restaurants in the south you will find this is just average.

So keep this in mind. If you need to eat somewhere in Oak Harbor, and you aren't catching fresh salmon, then this is hands down your spot. If you don't have to stop and eat in Oak Harbor, then you aren't missing anything by driving on by this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BudgetMediaPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BBQ Joint also viewed

Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 

Been to BBQ Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing