We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Decent food but too pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Cazador

El Cazador
Ranked #10 of 85 Restaurants in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Voted "Best Mexican" by Whidbey News-Times The Best of Whidbey Reader's Choice Awards 2010 thru 2015. Since 1982 we have remained family owned and operated are and proud to serve Whidbey Island delicous Mexican food! Whether you are craving some delicious Queso Dip, Churros, Carne Asada, Fajitas, Pozole, or Tortilla soup, you are sure to find something to love here at El Cazador.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent food but too pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The last time we had eaten there, I split a meal with my mom. I guess we shouldn't have told them that we were splitting it because they charged us an extra $2 just for a plate, they didn't even split the food up or give extra. The portion sizes were small. We had chimichangas but looked more like mini-chimis. The food was ok but not worth the money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maddietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    34
    17
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

NIce assortment of Mexican dishes and well priced, staff was helpful and friendly. Had four kids with us and they put us away from the other diners which was perfect for us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pitdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“El Cazador”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The restaurant is family oriented and has an obvious spanish flair. The help is friendly, quick to smile. Service is good, the food is good. The place is clean and has plenty of tables. Prices are a little high, but worth it. Delivery service available.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sunni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Boooooo!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The food was NOT good, especially not for the high, high price they charge! It was edible, but certainly not good! There are SEVERAL Mexican restaurants on the Island, and this is definitely the worst of them! Not impressed and won't go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank MrsAJG1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose R, Owner at El Cazador, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello,

A little stumped by your review here on Tripadvisor. What did you eat when you dined with us? What didn't you like about it? What items did you feel were overpriced? Did you ask to speak to a manager about your concerns?

As a local business our pricing is in line with surrounding restaurants. We also give all of our customers complimentary (unlimited) chips and salsa, which adds to the value of our menu, and large portions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in Oak Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great place for really good Mexican food. Very helpful staff. Food came out fast and the portions were huge. Awesome service. We could get the happy hour menu in the restaurant as we had children and could not go into the lounge/bar area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dc1152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cazador also viewed

Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 

Been to El Cazador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing