We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely no rooms with more than one bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Winder, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely no rooms with more than one bed”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The first thing to be aware of is that there are no rooms with more than one bed. If you know that going in it really isn't bad I guess. No breakfast. Good free coffee though. Friendly staff. Good location. New looking property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fl0tsam_N_Jetsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela E, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank You so much for taking the time to rate our hotel. I am happy to know you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed our coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    37
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
39
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tofino, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Went to Oak Harbor to visit some friends for the day/night in April. I didn't have a reservation but this hotel was very happy to accomodate me upon walk in. The lady at the front desk was very helpful. She explained the differences between their hotel and the Best Western (sister resort) which I believe the only difference was the sister resort included a continental breakfast which was not the important to me. I had asked for just the most basic room as I would only be in it to sleep for a few hours. When I got to my room I was blown away. I couldn't believe how beautiful, updated, spacious, and clean it was for $100.00/night! There was a Kitchenette with an eating area, and a very large bathroom (especially for a hotel). Definitley worth the money plus more! I would love to return to this hotel when I can get back to Oak Harbor with more than just one day to spare! This is definitley a 5 star deal in my books!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank craearthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela E, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank You so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found your suite to be beautiful, updated, spacious and clean. Our staff looks forward to seeing you again!

Pamela Estes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here for the Whidbey marathon event, and found it conveniently located, clean, and staffed with helpful, friendly employees. It’s not your high-end hotel, but if you’re scoping it out as an option, then you probably aren’t looking for that anyway. If you want somewhere safe and clean, then this is your spot. It is higher-priced for the chain because of its location and lack of competition, but is a good bet for the area.

Room Tip: Ask for the side opposite the main road (west, I believe) - cuts down on noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelasAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela E, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be one of Whidbey's best. Please come back and see us next year for the marathon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
469 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a military town and there is no high end 5 star choices, but this is the nicest and cleanest hotel in town. It is very clean, very modern with good service and front desk. Not crowded or far from any restaurants or nearby activities. Rooms have nice kitchenettes which is nice to have with full cable TV service.

The only small downside is very limited shampoo and soap condiments in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrPKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela E, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Our entire TEAM is dedicated to making sure every guest enjoys their stay. We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review, and are so happy to know you consider us Oak Harbor's Best.

Pamela Estes-General Manager
Candlewood Suites-Oak Harbor, WA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Love that all the rooms are suites. Nice extras like popcorn in the room. Quiet and clean. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The girl on the morning shift helped us to find where to go for breakfast on a holiday morning. She also recommended Mt erie as a sight to see. It was beautiful...don't miss it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spungold33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela E, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. The Candlewood Team appreciates you taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us next time you are in Oak Harbor.

Sincerely,
Pamela Estes
General Manager-Candlewood Suites-Oak Harbor WA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was my second time back in the area, as I travel here for work occasionally. This is a pretty decent hotel for the area, unfortunately it doesn't have the amenities of some of the larger chains that we see in the bigger cities, but the rooms were clean, well kept, and the staff were friendly. I do like that most of the rooms have a small kitchenette, and the bathrooms are a fair size. The in house complimentary movie collection is also an added bonus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyB317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela E, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our movie collection. Our entire TEAM is proud to be considered one of the BEST Oak Harbor hotels by you. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in our area.

Pamela Estes-General Manager
Candlewood Suites-Oak Harbor, WA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I will compliment staff they were friendly. But the hotel is older and the room seemed to have a slight musty smell but for the night it was ok.

They did recognize that I am a platnum member of IHG and was upgraded. I don't know how much smaller the regular rooms are. I did cancel on of my nights and moveody to a hotel in Burlington mainly because the musty smell was getting to me.

I did not gripe because I think it was mainly because its Oak Harborand usually wet.

The location is good and easy access. The majority of the places to eat and shop are less than 1 mile. A little too far to walk unless its a nice day.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor. I think a higher floor would be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmm1174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
7.2 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
256 reviews
14.5 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
281 reviews
21.5 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auld Holland Inn
Auld Holland Inn
#4 of 6 in Oak Harbor
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor

Property: Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
Address: 33221 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-8717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Harbor Extended Stay Hotel Offers Comfortable Accommodations Travelers to Whidbey Island can enjoy our Oak Harbor hotel's beautiful location in Northwest Washington. We are conveniently located on Highway 20 with easy access to area attractions. Vacationers to our Whidbey Island hotel can enjoy beautiful outdoor attractions, while experiencing many indoor activities. City Beach Park and downtown Oak Harbor are in close proximity to the hotel. Other attractions that are less than a half-hour from our accommodations include the Admiralty Head Lighthouse, Meerkerk Gardens, Fort Casey, Deception Pass, Ebey's Landing and several different ferry services. Business travelers can easily access local businesses and corporations from our Oak Harbor hotel's convenient location on Whidbey Island. Businesses within 10 miles of our hotel include Whidbey General Hospital, Whidbey Naval Air Station, Labcorp, Northrop Grumman and Boeing NAS Whidbey office. Our all suite hotel in Oak Harbor makes you feel at home with a variety of choice amenities. You can enjoy convenience with complimentary laundry services and an on-site store with entrees, snacks and drinks when you're tired of eating out. Other amenities include complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access, a business center and a fitness center. End your search for the perfect Oak Harbor extended stay hotel by booking your reservations with the Candlewood Suites on Whidbey Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor Hotel Oak Harbor
Oak Harbor Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing