We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option for Oak Harbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
USA
Level Contributor
414 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Best option for Oak Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a military town and there is no high end 5 star choices, but this is the nicest and cleanest hotel in town. It is very clean, very modern with good service and front desk. Not crowded or far from any restaurants or nearby activities. Rooms have nice kitchenettes which is nice to have with full cable TV service.

The only small downside is very limited shampoo and soap condiments in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrPKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela E, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Our entire TEAM is dedicated to making sure every guest enjoys their stay. We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review, and are so happy to know you consider us Oak Harbor's Best.

Pamela Estes-General Manager
Candlewood Suites-Oak Harbor, WA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    33
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
18
35
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Love that all the rooms are suites. Nice extras like popcorn in the room. Quiet and clean. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The girl on the morning shift helped us to find where to go for breakfast on a holiday morning. She also recommended Mt erie as a sight to see. It was beautiful...don't miss it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spungold33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela E, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. The Candlewood Team appreciates you taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us next time you are in Oak Harbor.

Sincerely,
Pamela Estes
General Manager-Candlewood Suites-Oak Harbor WA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was my second time back in the area, as I travel here for work occasionally. This is a pretty decent hotel for the area, unfortunately it doesn't have the amenities of some of the larger chains that we see in the bigger cities, but the rooms were clean, well kept, and the staff were friendly. I do like that most of the rooms have a small kitchenette, and the bathrooms are a fair size. The in house complimentary movie collection is also an added bonus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyB317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela E, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our movie collection. Our entire TEAM is proud to be considered one of the BEST Oak Harbor hotels by you. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in our area.

Pamela Estes-General Manager
Candlewood Suites-Oak Harbor, WA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I will compliment staff they were friendly. But the hotel is older and the room seemed to have a slight musty smell but for the night it was ok.

They did recognize that I am a platnum member of IHG and was upgraded. I don't know how much smaller the regular rooms are. I did cancel on of my nights and moveody to a hotel in Burlington mainly because the musty smell was getting to me.

I did not gripe because I think it was mainly because its Oak Harborand usually wet.

The location is good and easy access. The majority of the places to eat and shop are less than 1 mile. A little too far to walk unless its a nice day.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor. I think a higher floor would be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmm1174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Price was slightly higher than I like. However, it was well worth it. Location was great... just north of Goldie Road on Hwy 20.

I grew up around Oak Harbor and wasn't sure that the quality I like was to be had. But I found it here. We have a little dog and the restrictions were quite reasonable. Banned from all public areas. There was a door leading directly to the pet area - a nice little garden.

No "breakfast" like other hotels. The 'cupboard' is a small room accessible with our key card. It has all the convenience foods we could expect. They gave us a voucher for one free 'anything in the cupboard'. Free fresh hot coffee at 6:am.

We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor in back. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

You cant beat the price for the location if you are only here for the night. There are restraunts and coffee shops all over within a half mile! For sure will be back.. Beds are comfy as well. The staff is quite hospitable as well.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brodykeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

For the Oak Harbor area, Candlewood is located next to China City restaurant (see my review of them also) and edges out the competition with great beds and clean rooms, but can be a bit pricey. With a government rate discount, single night stay $104 after tax.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center
7.2 mi away
The Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
14.5 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Coachman Inn
The Coachman Inn
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auld Holland Inn
Auld Holland Inn
#4 of 6 in Oak Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
1.6 mi away
Acorn Motor Inn
Acorn Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor

Property: Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
Address: 33221 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-8717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Harbor Extended Stay Hotel Offers Comfortable Accommodations Travelers to Whidbey Island can enjoy our Oak Harbor hotel's beautiful location in Northwest Washington. We are conveniently located on Highway 20 with easy access to area attractions. Vacationers to our Whidbey Island hotel can enjoy beautiful outdoor attractions, while experiencing many indoor activities. City Beach Park and downtown Oak Harbor are in close proximity to the hotel. Other attractions that are less than a half-hour from our accommodations include the Admiralty Head Lighthouse, Meerkerk Gardens, Fort Casey, Deception Pass, Ebey's Landing and several different ferry services. Business travelers can easily access local businesses and corporations from our Oak Harbor hotel's convenient location on Whidbey Island. Businesses within 10 miles of our hotel include Whidbey General Hospital, Whidbey Naval Air Station, Labcorp, Northrop Grumman and Boeing NAS Whidbey office. Our all suite hotel in Oak Harbor makes you feel at home with a variety of choice amenities. You can enjoy convenience with complimentary laundry services and an on-site store with entrees, snacks and drinks when you're tired of eating out. Other amenities include complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access, a business center and a fitness center. End your search for the perfect Oak Harbor extended stay hotel by booking your reservations with the Candlewood Suites on Whidbey Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor Hotel Oak Harbor
Oak Harbor Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing