We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
In my Neighborhood

I live just across the road to Deception Pass State Park, and one can never spend enough time... read more

Reviewed October 28, 2018
flomerdr
Deception Pass and Whidbey Island - Yonder Sky

Excellent tour for any adult, young, old, or in between, married or single. Fun time to be had... read more

Reviewed September 18, 2018
Ambassador817557
via mobile
Read all 269 reviews
  
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
206
41
12
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
206
41
12
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour tour boat ride harbor seals great tour whale watching tour deception pass tour guide captain brett fun ride bald eagles local wildlife saw seals different perspective got lucky highly recommend this tour orca pod buy tickets
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 269 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2018

For a Father's day surprise I took my guy to Deception pass to experience the evening 2.5 hour summer whale watching tour. The booking process was easy, and we were sent an attachment of helpful info. I had no idea there were ICE CREAM CONES at the little shop. I decided to go with the Colossel which was the largest ice cream cone I have ever met. It girl that was helping was sweet and patient, even to the point of asking which flavor I wanted "on top". Do people do that? The waffle cone was made large enough to accommodate the tower of delicious ice cream. Incredible! She showed us where to go on down the road to the dock. We were met by a super friendly guy and were helped on board by Dawn. They were fun and knowledgeable and we had a blast! We saw Orcas, a Humpback and Minke whales. It would have been cool to get a bit closer to them. We were told all are to stay 200 yards away from them and not cut them off. This is important, of course! Thank you to all for a memorable trip!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank carole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2018

If you want to see a truly majestic site, you cannot miss the Deception Pass between Bellingham and Whidbey Island. It was named Deception Pass by some old time mariners for the "deceptive" speed of the water when channeled through the pass. We always enjoy seeing the natural areas of each place we travel and this was a beautiful part of our recent visit. If you are daring enough, you can walk across the bridges (there are 2) and really enjoy the views.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Robb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2018

Chartered the trip for a memorial / scattering ceremony. The crew were wonderfully accommodating. It was too early in the season for whales but the day turned out beautiful giving everyone a smooth ride. Also learned some interesting historical facts about the various spots.

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank MichL_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2018

Skipper Brett and Guide Jared did an awesome job, rivaling the excursions we did last year in Glacier Bay, Juneau & Ketchikan!!! We saw harbor seals, eagles and other wildlife AND amazing vistas of the surrounding archipelago islands - while thoroughly enjoying the company of very friendly & informative crew who treated us like family. We did the hour long jet-boat tour and it absolutely made our day!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank TSNW52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018

This is a great ride for getting really good views of the bridges at Deception Pass from under the bridge. Even though this ride is in a catamaran hull jet boat it is not a fast and get soaked type ride. We went through the pass several times and went to several of the islands in and around the pass. The ride was somewhat leisurely with the boat stopping frequently so we could view wildlife. We saw Canadian geese, porpoises, eagles, seals and a number of other birds on the trip. We got a lot of really great pictures. If you want a fast thrill ride this is not the one for you. If you want a nice tour of the area by boat and a good narration plus the chance to view local wildlife, this is the one for you. The ride is a little pricey, but not too bad and since this is something you will most likely only do once you should go ahead and do it. You buy tickets up on the main highway at a store that is well marked. Then you turn south on a marked turn and drive a ways down to a small harbor that is part of a state park, The tour is not well marked once you reach the pier so you may need to look for the guides carefully. Also, because this is a state park, you will need to fill out a one day $10 parking slip to park your car there. The guides will help you with this. Again - fun ride, worth the little extra money and trouble.

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews