We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive stay in character inn”
Review of Auld Holland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auld Holland Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Oak Harbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Inexpensive stay in character inn but owing to older style accommodation there was very little protection from noisy WA Rte 20 just outside window. Bed comfortable, room clean but rather dated yet at least made a change from usual chain motels. Breakfast indeed very light but welcome was friendly and homely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chymron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 91 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Room was clean and comfortable. Most reasonable price in Oak Harbor. Definitely recommend to anyone who doesn't need anything too fancy. Noise was no bother from the road. Convenient place to stay if heading to Anacortez or as we did, took the ferry from Coupville to Port Townsend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank packerfan0920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The room we stayed in was nice. It reminded me a lot of an old ladys house. Smelled the same too. It was clean, but queen size bed was more like a double. I had no problem with the noise from the street could not hear it at all. The breakfast was just as promised "light" . All in all it was a nice stay somewhere to sleep that is clean.. Not romantic, but good enough to spend a couple nights at!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melysa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Excellent price-quality relationship. Advantages: free internet access, king size bed, old but clean room. Disadvantages: room facing the main road, therefore quite loud. Poor breakfast. A little bit of bread for the eggs or with some marmalade and butter are not expensive and would have made it a continental breakfast. Otherwise, the treatment was accetable. Highly recommended: stopmat the brigdes of deception pass before entering Oak Harbour and plan a trip to whalewatching starting from Anacortes (reservation recommended). Good pub restaurant nearby: the Flyer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbernal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

An old motel but reasonably clean(carpet stains show it's age). Nothing fancy with very basic breakfast but for the price you can't go wrong. Single glazed windows don' help with lots of traffic on nearby highway. Jets practicing till late at night are part of Whidbey island and have to be expected.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jager41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We would certainly stay here again in light of the cleanliness and very competitive pricing. That having been said, if you're finicky about modern furnishings or having a firm new mattress, or if a robust complimentary breakfast matters a lot to you, you might want to spend a little more and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I arrived a little late as we were at a class and I was unaware that the office closed at 10:00 pm. I immediately apologized for checking in late and was very polite. The FIRST thing that I was told was that "this is not a party place." I was really embarrassed, borderline offended. I then explained where we came from and where we were going - which I felt like I needed to do so it would be known we were not here to make trouble. I should NOT have felt obligated to tell our personal business. Even after my explanation I was told "Well we tell this to ALL our guests, the first call is to the police." Really, you tell that to ALL your guests? Parents checking in with children?? Out of towners, foreigners? I'm sure that is NOT how you greet THOSE guests. I don't believe that my I.D. was looked at, even though I presented it, but I am a 35 year old woman. I am not a teenager, not a hooligan, not a trouble maker. I am a local and professional in the town of Oak Harbor. I was embarrassed. I really feel the comments that were made to me were unnecessary and my behavior in NO way indicated that I was there to cause trouble. I won't stay again and I will share my story of how I was treated with others here in town.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DdiZZle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
7.6 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
21.6 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Holland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Holland Inn

Address: 33575 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-8744
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Harbor
Price Range: $106 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auld Holland Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique "Old World" charm on beautiful Whidbey Island. Our rooms are cozy and quaint. They feature wonderful antique furniture, that give every room a personalized feel. Stop by for a visit and meet our superb staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auld Holland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Holland Hotel Oak Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing