We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes! Customer Service and Quality done right.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Coachman Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

After several hours of traveling, we were warmly greeted at Oak Harbor's Coachman Inn. My husband and I stayed in one of the rooms with a King size bed. Very clean, nice room with kitchen, bathroom, living area and a good size private balcony (fit two of us with room to spare for two more chairs/two guests).

We found the room had a wonderful home away from home feel allowing us to comfortably spend time appreciating and taking in Washington State's beauty.

From the moment we arrived until we checked out five days later, each staff member beamed with excellent customer service skills.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Michele O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 343 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014

Second stay here for an overnight in Whidbey. The front desk service was top notch - they were very gracious about a last minute date change. When we arrived they had made an error in the type of room they had reserved for us, and upgraded us at no extra charge to make it right. We stayed in the Crow's Nest (rm 500) which is a 2 king bed, 2 bedroom, 2 full bath suite with a large great room with a large TV, and kitchenette with a fully supply of dishes and pots, pans, etc. Full breakfast included in the room rate with hot and cold options and fresh fruit. The outdoor pool is heated and very comfortable. It's not a fancy place and the decor is a bit dated but that's not something our family values. We were very happy with our stay and would choose the Coachman again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tall_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I've stayed here twice, and both times was very pleased with the hotel. The rooms are large, well furnished, and ours had a kitchenette (stovetop but no oven).

The front desk staff was very nice, and even recognized us from a previous stay maybe 6 months earlier.

It's right off the highway, which is convenient for travelling around the island, but the rooms are far enough away that noise isn't a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuai_Le123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

So here is the thing about reviews on hotels, you absolutely have to qualify what and how you are reviewing.

This hotel is a fine little place as long as you are not expecting luxury or quiet relaxation. This is good as a base for other activities but not really a place where hang out in the hotel room is the thing you are there to do.

The staff was friendly, room clean (not perfect but good) and pool adequate. This is a fairly large place with outdoor acessed rooms.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank JAMorris81212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We've been to the Coachman Inn 3 times in as many years. Our decision to stay here each time we've visited Whidbey has largely come down to price, and for that, you really cannot beat the Coachman Inn. But as we get older and more traveled, we've begun to realize you do get what you pay for

We stayed 3 nights in July, our longest time at the hotel and the only time during peak season

First, the good stuff

For the price, you really do get a nice sized room and convenient location. It's right off of SR 20, meaning it takes maybe 10-15 minutes (likely less) to travel to many state parks and stores. Our kitchenette unit was large, about as big as most studio apartments, and contained several drawers, cabinets, a sink, counter top, and more.

In terms of amenities, it mostly checks all the boxes. It has a small pool and hot tub. They serve a varied breakfast each morning, though the quality (temperature, taste) was a bit hit or miss. It has full Wifi, but it's pretty slow. Nothing to write home about here

Now for the bad

The quality of the room - despite the size - is pretty poor. The furniture is dated, very "used", and surprisingly uncomfortable, and that unfortunately includes the bed. The TV during this trip was just awful: it was this giant CRT monster clearly from the early 2000s, and the quality of the channels was garbage

The room was fine for the 1st night, but the lack of comfort became more obvious the 2nd and 3rd nights, especially as we spent more downtime in the room after a day of hiking and sightseeing. It's just not a very relaxing room to hang out in, which is a shame

As I alluded to above, the amenities sound good on paper, but quickly fade in luster when you actually use them. For example, the pool was small, kind of cloudy, and was closed an entire day during on vacation - maybe something had happened, but that's awful timing during a hot July week.

The check-in/check-out process is also needlessly complicated, requiring a lot of signatures, line printer printouts, and a 10-15 minute wait. I think their software is just really dated, but it can be annoying when under a schedule

Finally, the staff were pretty unfriendly this time around. This is new, so maybe they were having bad days or we caught them at bad times, but even simple questions ("How early can I check out? When is the pool reopening?") were met with exasperation and one-word answers.

The Coachman Inn is not bad; it's just not good. If anything, it's the definition of an average hotel. While average can certainly cut it for a short or small-budget trip, you'll likely regret an extended stay.

Room Tip: We've stayed in 3 different rooms, all of which were roomy and fairly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Coachman is generally my :home away from home" when I stay in Oak Harbor for Race Week.

Granted it is somewhat dated, but they have done the most they can with what they have, and seem to take a genuine interest in ensuring guests are comfortable within the obvious limitations they have ( dated facilities ).

The breakfast is nothing to get too excited about, but at least they have it and it is warm and comforting.
Rooms , especially in the annex, are on the large side, and have everything you need in a room ( i get the suites, so your mileage may vary ).

Beds are relatively comfortable. Linens and sheets on the good side of servicable. Chamber folks do indeed leave handwritten, heartfelt notes that feel good.

On balance, for a local chain, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Get the annex if you can. No elevators however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mattheww765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was my second visit to this hotel and I did not regret it. We had a deluxe queen room with 2 queen beds, a pull-out sofa, a mini kitchen and a balcony. The beds were very comfortable and the location was pretty quiet. Parking was right outside our room and the room was very spacious. We swam in the outdoor pool late in the evening, and it was so warm and refreshing. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
7 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Wild Iris Inn
The Wild Iris Inn
#1 of 4 in La Conner
528 reviews
11.9 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
455 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oak Harbor Inn
Oak Harbor Inn
#4 of 4 in Oak Harbor
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coachman Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coachman Inn & Suites

Address: 32959 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-2616
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range: $104 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Coachman Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the world of old-fashioned hospitality. Explore the many options of our immaculate 100 rooms and conference inn. All rooms provide full baths with shower and tub, coffee makers, small refrigerators, hair dryers and free high speed wireless internet service. Many of our rooms also have extra special features like Jacuzzi tubs and kitchenettes. Each room is individually decorated for that unique personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Coachman Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coachman Hotel
Coachman Hotel Oak Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing