We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very comfortable and pet friendly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coachman Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   32959 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-2616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and pet friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We were impressed from the time we checked in. This Inn gives a huge portion of hospitality. They offered extra coffee, soap, towels etc. at the time of check-in. The front desk gal was very nice, asked to meet our two Yorkies and treated them like family. Just behind the hotel is a large grass lawn, I think it may be part of a church's property, but makes for a great dog walking area. Our room was very quiet and clean. It looked up to date with furnishings. We had a studio with 2 queen beds. The mattresses were very comfortable. The lighting in the bathroom vanity area was excellent. The shower water pressure was great. We had a kitchenette with a small fridge, toaster, microwave, two-burner stove, pots, pans, dishes eating utensils, coffee pot. Everything you may want to fix a quick meal in the room. We arrived at about 4:00 pm, well before the 11:00 pm pool and sauna closing time. Unfortunately the sauna was closed for unknown reasons. The hot continental breakfast had scrambled eggs and sausage gravy, bread items, cereal, yogurt and fresh fruit. If you can't eat gluten or dairy, the only food available is the eggs and fruit. I would like to have seen more hot proteins like sausage, ham or bacon. If we decide on another quick getaway to Whidbey Island, we will certainly stay at The Coachman again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    88
    39
    7
    6
See reviews for
78
82
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Outstanding stay again. Counter people very friendly and helpful, alerting us to all activities in the area for the week. Room spotless with nice furniture etc. Wonderful experience and cannot recommend this motel more highly. Everything very nice.

Room Tip: We always ask for an upstairs room, always a bit more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usdeputysurveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Out-of-town guests stayed in suite for a week. The room was large with a well-equipped kitchenette. Facilities are kept very clean, beds and furniture are comfortable, and the staff was very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about area attractions.

There were a number of families with small children in the same building, but the room was well-soundproofed, and quiet inside. One additional thing I appreciated was the landscaping . . . beautiful flowers & vines in bloom outside next to walkways, and trees which form a visual screen between the buildings

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JJSCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

There are a lot of nice people who work here and they seem genuinely interested in making sure you are greeted and cared for. However, there are issues. The rooms are quite dated and the furniture is inexpensive and tired. They keep things clean, which is a plus, and they have added some new art but the carpet and couches and chairs should have been replaced years ago. The breakfast is another issue. I've been here several times (booked by a company I speak for. They have a deal with them so this is my only option) and most of the time the breakfast consists of eggs (boiled one day, scrambled another), toast, yogurt, biscuits and gravy and a bowl of apples and bananas. On this trip, they were out of everything but some cereal and toast two of the four mornings we got there. Workers came out, saw the eggs were gone, and disappeared. We waited twenty minutes and nothing more came out. We left. After the busy weekend, we thought it would get better but even with a half empty hotel, the food was gone or cold by 9AM.

I cannot compare this with other hotels as this is the one the company books me in. Oak Harbor is not full of chain hotels but a couple of them have moved in and might be worth a look.

Room Tip: They have suites that have more room to stretch out, but the furniture is uncomfortable and dated in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickMead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My family stayed here for 1 night. There was a HUGE living room and dining area. The kitchen was small but adequate. We had 2 LARGE bedrooms with a bath in each one. We also had a full sized washer and dryer in the foyer of the suite. It was bigger than any apartment I ever rented. The staff was nice and they gave us a discount for being military. I think this was called a penthouse but it was on the bottom floor. It also had a sliding glass door and an outise seating area. If you are looking for ultra-modern, it is not. It is clean and large. The pool and spa were closed for the season but we enjoyed family time with TV and free wi-fi.
It was close to many restaurants. The town has a WalMart, KMart, etc. Since we had been in the ONP for a few days, this seemed like civilization. HA!

Room Tip: I don't know about other single rooms. We only stayed in the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Maine
Level Contributor
178 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a good place to stay. The reception clerk was a joy - helpful, bubbly, and a lot of fun - always a good way to start your visit. The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable, and they contain all the necessary amenities. The price was very reasonable, but don't forget to ask for your AAA, AARP, and military discounts. We didn't get a chance to use the pool. Breakfast is your average hotel/motel breakfast. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Coachman Inn is a fairly straight-forward place within a short drive to downtown Oak Harbor. The prices are reasonable, the rooms are standard (my mom, bullmastiff and I had a double and it was more than enough space) and though I wouldn't want to live there, it was certainly nice to come back to a clean, decent room after playing on the island all day.

The most important thing to mention - at least as far as my own preferences are concerned - is the cleanliness of the room. The linens were fresh, the room smelled clean (not like dog) and the AC worked quite well. It was also quiet enough that we felt comfortable leaving my dog alone in the room for a few hours, and there are grassy areas and neighborhood roads that are suitable for walks. Patrons without pets won't have a problem with the inn, either: I'd stay there with or without the dog.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenfir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
7.0 mi away
The Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
13.4 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
1.4 mi away
Acorn Motor Inn
Acorn Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coachman Inn

Property: The Coachman Inn
Address: 32959 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-2616
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Coachman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welocme to the world of old-fashioned hospitality. Explore the many options of our immaculate 100 rooms and conference inn. All rooms provide full baths with shower and tub, coffee makers, small refrigerators, hair dryers and free high speed wireless internet service. Many of our rooms also have extra special features like Jacuzzi tubs and kitchenettes. Each room is individually decorated for that unique personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coachman Hotel
Coachman Hotel Oak Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing