We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice place close to town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coachman Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place close to town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

It is not fancy, but friendly staff and has clean big rooms. Breakfast has a good variety of hot and cold items. It's close to the Navy base and local restaurants. I travel alot for business and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cpttex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    88
    39
    7
    6
See reviews for
78
82
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nevada, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Older but nice facility. The staff people were friendly and helpful. Good basic breakfast - the sausage links added on the weekend was a nice touch. We were in Oak Harbor for the A-3 Skywarrior Reunion. The headquarters was at the Best Western, a short walk away. The rate here was better than the reunion rate at the BW. Co-incidentally the apartment where we lived 49 years ago was only a couple of blocks away and looked better than when we lived there. We stayed a couple of days outside the reunion dates to sight see on the Island and go to the Coupville Arts & Crafts Fair. We noticed that several of the vendors from the fair stayed here also. Oak Harbor has certainly grown since we were there last. We enjoyed our stay at the Coachman and the reunion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A friend recommended the Coachman Inn when we were accepted as vendors at the Coupeville Arts & Craft Festival. It was a 15 - 20 min. drive, but a welcome, restful motel. We were on the ground floor towards the end where it was very quiet. After a long day at the event, we very much appreciated that. Our check-in went quickly and the front desk gal, Beth, was welcoming and helpful with dinner ideas. The room was clean, comfortable beds, and everything we needed. The breakfast was adequate, although the waffle machines weren't working right as the dough stuck to the grids and couldn't be used. :-( We will definitely return next year if we are vendors again at the event, and certainly any other time we are in that area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jxnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Coachman is an old-fashioned motor inn. Nothing fancy, but the folks here are very nice. We had a spacious apartment-like room with a kitchenette, and we were able to stay with our family dog along.Those are the pluses. I agree that the furnishings and the bathrooms are dated, and there was a mildewy smell as well. I would choose South Whidbey over Oak Harbor any day, but if you have to stay overnight here, the Coachman is a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whidbeylover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I am responding to the review that Doug J wrote, I cannot address his room but I was there when he checked in. We all had to wait as there was so much going on in Oak Harbor that the motel was full. I was in line before him and I did not get my room key until after him.. I did not mind as the staff was doing all they could. He was so rude to the girls at the front desk that I was embarrassed for him. I know that there was a delay in getting our room keys but I do feel that the staff did all they could to get us into our rooms. There was no rudeness from the front desk when he became so nasty. (I would have told him to get lost) We will always stay at the Coachman. We stayed at the Acorn the night before and paid $189 before tax for a room half the size and a muffin for breakfast. Our breakfast at the Coachman was the best and I do mean the best!!!!! Great place to stay and the staff goes over and above to make us welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What we liked: pool, location, price, friendly staff.
What we did not like: dated furnishings; carpet, doors and walls looked dirty and worn.
What was just OK: breakfast, cleanliness of room.
Overall, an OK place to stay....we would probably stay again if coming to Whidbey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddie4bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

To begin at the beginning the front desk clerks were all horrible. They would not allow the AAA discount. We had a 1.5 hour wait for our room and did not get the room till 4:15. Could you say, "sorry"? We were put in a "suite" it was large but decorated by Grandma. The hot tub was cold as was breakfast. There were 3 garbage bags next to the front desk for two days (at least). We found the TV remote under the bed. The small dining table had chairs soiled beyond belief. My wife tried to take a bath after getting a chill in the hot tub. The water came out the color of diarrhea. We boiled water to brush our teeth. We got to breakfast early enough for cold scrambled eggs. As we checked out around 9:30 we heard other guests complaining about no food. They ran out. At check out, I complained about the bath water and suggested they not rent the room until a repair could be made. They blew it off. We paid full bore for our "suite" in this dump. Stay away... there is a Best Western a block away.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room and check the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
7.0 mi away
The Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
13.4 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
1.4 mi away
Acorn Motor Inn
Acorn Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coachman Inn

Property: The Coachman Inn
Address: 32959 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-2616
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Coachman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welocme to the world of old-fashioned hospitality. Explore the many options of our immaculate 100 rooms and conference inn. All rooms provide full baths with shower and tub, coffee makers, small refrigerators, hair dryers and free high speed wireless internet service. Many of our rooms also have extra special features like Jacuzzi tubs and kitchenettes. Each room is individually decorated for that unique personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coachman Hotel
Coachman Hotel Oak Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing