We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would pass over easily”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Coachman Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Would pass over easily”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I did not like the condition or appearance of our room. The breakfast wasn't good either. I would make some other arrangements for a hotel if this is the best there is. Friendly staff who gave us an excellent seafood restaurant suggestion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tellitlikeitis058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    115
    54
    9
    7
See reviews for
123
103
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed two nights in two different queen-sized rooms. Got the online rate just by asking which was the same as AAA/military rate. Nice and clean but with a slightly musty/damp smell in both rooms for whatever reason. It wasn't really noticeable after a few minutes with the door open while getting our luggage. Staff was friendly and very giving of advice on where to eat and drink. I did find it odd that we had to change rooms when we decided to stay a second night. Seems like we could have just stayed in the queen room we were in rather than transfer to another queen room three doors down. They were exactly the same...Pool and hot tubs were popular with the kids. Continental breakfast was ok but needed more seating in a larger room. I suggest you get there early if you want a table.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

The Coachmen Inn

This place gets decent reviews but there isn't much to choose from in Oak Harbor, so that should say something for its reviews.
The hotel is very average, right down the middle as hotels go. Seems like there are 3 sections of buildings all build in different time periods. The first section (which looks to be the oldest) is connected to the front reception area. The 2nd section is off on its own and looks to be a little newer but still oldish, and the 3rd section, also on its own, looks quite nice (better quality) and looks brand new from the outside, and if I were staying here again, I would request this latter section.

2 rooms in the "2nd" building were ours and they were barely okay and clearly older and not of great quality. Our friends room was even less so with very stained carpets, too creepy for us, but they didnt complain, or were to polite too.

Included breakfast, was what seemed like powdered eggs, bread of different kinds, cheap yogart, pancakes made for a toaster, Fruit Loops, Cheerios, Rice Crispys, and for such a large hotel, maybe 5 very small tables. The quality of food was simply not very good.  Looks like most people eat elsewhere.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
189 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at this place with a family of 4 for 1 night and we had a very nice stay! The person at check in welcomed us in an exceptionally friendly way! The room we had was huge and our children also liked the pool (although it's tiny in my opinion). I would have given top marks but we found the breakfast to be a bit poor. We stayed in about 15 hotels and motels on our trip through the US and in comparision, this breakfast was not bad, but a bit below average. Also the breakfast room was small and not very apealling. But in general, we really liked the Coachman Inn and would definitely recommend it to other travellers!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deedee-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We recently spent one night at the Coachman Inn. We didn't have a reservation and as we had our small dog with us we know getting a pet friendly room is sometimes difficult especially during high season. We were fortunate and they had a suitable room for us. The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. The front desk staff were incredibly friendly and were more than willing to help us with general information re restaurants, etc. We had a quiet room and didn't hear any road noise. The pool is small but certainly adequate. We recommend this property. Everything is done to make sure it is clean and presentable. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Whidbey Island is a super place to visit.

Room Tip: A room away from the main highway is no doubt quieter. This hotel is pet friendly which is great but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank newtonizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The room was huge and the beds were extremely comfortable. Everything was nice and clean and the hotel itself is very well maintained. Our room had a kitchenette and a balcony. We didn't have any trouble with the wifi as some people have reported. The only glitch in the room was that the water did not drain very well in the sink , it seemed to be blocked. The breakfast was ok, nothing special and there is not nearly enough room for everyone to sit down. That seems to be a problem everywhere though. We would stay here again, good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 4coasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is one of the best Inns we have stayed even though it caters more to the folks related to the Air-force Base that is close by. The rooms are very clean, have great beds and are big enough to accommodate four adults. The swimming pool and the hot tub are a nice bonus after a day in the car. We had a lot of fun and the front desk clerks were extremely helpful with directions and mailing postcards.

The breakfast was lacking in variety and there was not enough for those coming after 8am.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank magaimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
7.0 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Anacortes
466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auld Holland Inn
Auld Holland Inn
#3 of 6 in Oak Harbor
88 reviews
1.4 mi away
Acorn Motor Inn
Acorn Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Oak Harbor
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coachman Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coachman Inn & Suites

Property: The Coachman Inn & Suites
Address: 32959 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-2616
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Coachman Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the world of old-fashioned hospitality. Explore the many options of our immaculate 100 rooms and conference inn. All rooms provide full baths with shower and tub, coffee makers, small refrigerators, hair dryers and free high speed wireless internet service. Many of our rooms also have extra special features like Jacuzzi tubs and kitchenettes. Each room is individually decorated for that unique personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Coachman Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coachman Hotel
Coachman Hotel Oak Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing