We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family and quality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hot Rock Pizza - CLOSED

Hot Rock Pizza
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We make homemade, hand tossed brick oven pizza in our open kitchen where you can watch your pizza being made and baked in our brick oven. Whether you're craving a good old pepperoni pizza or something different like our Whidbey pizza with pesto, artichoke , fresh basil and feta cheese we have an amazing pizza for you.
Oak Harbor, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“family and quality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Delicious food and amazing quality! A great family atmosphere and a well put together small business. They were great when they were just a pizza truck, now they are amazing! Friendly service!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessicathecraftegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow, what a mistake.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I've seen the "trailer" associated with this restaurant at farmer's markets - the product looked good and it seemed like a novel idea. While visiting Oak Harbor on Whidbey Island, we were surprised to see they had a brick-and-mortar restaurant as well - and thought it was worth a try. Hoo boy... never again. How can I sum this up? Glacially slow service - we nearly walked out. No glasses offered for the bottled beer. Ridiculously small "salad" that was no more than a pinch of mixed greens from a Costco blister-pack. When the pizzas were brought out, they were first given to a couple at the wrong table. (Incidentally, when that couple's pizzas were brought to them - their order was incorrect.) My wife ordered the "margarita" pizza, and was so disappointed, she literally couldn't eat more than one bite. No olive oil, just a translucent layer of crushed tomato, no more than three or four olive-sized dots of cheese on the entire thing, and what couldn't have been more than a total of one small basil leaf. Imagine dipping the tip of a wedge of burnt pita bread into a can of diced tomatoes. That was essentially her experience. Did I mention the service was essentially negligible? After what seemed like a few hours, someone came by, and we politely expressed our disappointment. No apology, no manager intervention....and subsequently....no more than a virtually negligible tip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch. Took waitress forever to come take our order after bringing water. Ordered lunch special of a side salad and personal pizza, also a beer. She came out 10 minutes later and put the bottles on the table. I aaked for glasses for the beer and she looked at me confused. Finally brought a glass. Not one for my husband. Salad came out 15 minutes later warm and wilted. The pizza was cold and had 4 nickel size areas of cheese. By the time she came back to check on us I was already so disappointed. She said she could send it back but at this point and an hour later. Why bother? $35 later, no apology and not even a manager stopped by. Don't waste your time or money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Island Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We went to dinner around 6pm on the day of their grand opening. Long wait as expected, however, the pizza, salad, garlic bread starters were excellent. The restaurant is in a quaint street known as "downtown" Oak Harbor. Nice shops, antiques, coffee houses, and other restaurants to choose from.
The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure you were satisfied.
Good choice of pizzas, and beer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ldo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Level Contributor
221 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Best Pizza Truck on the West Coast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

A local of Oak Harbor told us to check out the farmers market and "eat the pizza if the pizza truck is there". I was a bit dubious about what a pizza truck is but was delighted to see this custom built (by the owner) pizza oven in a trailer. The pizza is as fresh as you can find, the toppings creative and delicious, and the men in kilts are not too bad either! One of the best food trucks I have eaten from in a long time - and that says a lot after visiting Portland too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank suitscase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Rock Pizza also viewed

Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing