We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dreamy, Cozy Stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Stay and Play at Sandpiper Haven. Read our reviews and see what sets us apart from the competition.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stay and Play at Sandpiper Haven. Read our reviews and see what sets us apart from the competition.
Crab Feast on Expansive Deck, Enjoy the Views Across Penn Cove Complimentary access to Two Sea Kayaks and 12' Rowboat during Peak Months to Qualified Guests.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Stay and Play at Sandpiper Haven. Read our reviews and see what sets us apart from the competition.
Crab Feast on Expansive Deck, Enjoy the Views Across Penn Cove
Complimentary access to Two Sea Kayaks and 12' Rowboat during Peak Months to Qualified Guests.
Generous Great Room with Gas Fireplace, HDTV with Satellite TV, wireless high speed internet
Enjoy the VIEWS right from the Great Room across Penn Cove
Fully-equipped modern kitchen with high quality cookware, enough for a Thanksgiving feast.
Dine Inside or Out with bar seating, expandable table that seats 8, or patio table that seats 6
Master Bedroom with pillowtop queen bed.
Two twin beds in 2nd bedroom.
Games and puzzles for 'kids of all ages' - many more not show.
The two twins easily convert to a King Bed with supplied foam joiner, thick mattress pad and bedding
2 Bathrooms, all basic soaps supplied. Full bath in first bathroom, 3/4 bath with W/D in 2nd.
Rise early to enjoy winter sunrise in the Great Room.
Views of the Olympic Mountains from the Deck across Penn Cove
Sit on the deck, relax, and enjoy the VIEWS
Sandpiper Haven from the water. Two sea kayaks and rowboat available during Peak Months.
We are part of Ebey's Landing National Preserve.  No houses to the West.  Miles of Beach.
Peaceful day enjoying the summer breezes. Great spot to watch the Annual Penn Cove Sailboat Races.
Access to private heated community pool, Memorial Day wkend, and mid-June through Labor Day.
Borrow the 12' Rowboat (or two sea kayaks) to explore Penn Cove-Qualified guests during Peak Months)
Crabbing Gear available to use during Crabbing Season. Dungeness Crab caught right off shore.
Views to the West. Miles of beach to explore.
Bald Eagle near our house. Courtesy Guest Clyde Comstock: see Comstock Photography
Amazing Views across Penn Cove from the deck of the Olympic Mountains
Reflection in the window off Great Room from the Deck.
Magical winter sunset after the rains.
Enjoy the captivating scenery, right from the property
Winter sunset from the deck.
Evening by the firepit.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, Washington

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Theresa N
2 reviews
“Dreamy, Cozy Stay”
Reviewed November 13, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Sandpiper is just as cozy, sweet and dreamy as I hoped for. Lovely yard, clean, sweet, cozy retreat, beautiful views. Owners did their most to provide early check in and late checkout, so all was relaxed and we were not rushed. Family friendly games and movies. Close to restaurants and wine tastings!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2018
Dear Theresa,
Thank you again for coming to Sandpiper Haven and spending a cozy November weekend at our home. You folks were wonderful Guests and our cleaning crew gave you great marks! Do come again. -Julie and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LKB113
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Julianne and Peter were so communicative and accommodating prior to the trip I just knew it was going to be a great long weekend. Firstly, the house has everything, we have a three year old and there were games, puzzles, pool noodles, sand toys, the works. We grilled on the gas grill and cooked hot dogs around the fire pit as the sun went down. We used the kayak AND the rowboat and really it felt like we were staying at a very thoughtful friend's place. We 100% plan to return, a very memorable trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2018
It warms our hearts to hear you had a wonderful visit to our home in May! Wow, and you got all the boats out too :). You were great Guests and we'd love to have you back again! -Julie and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anonymous...
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Cabin right on Penn Cove”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Everything at this place is amazing. This was the most immaculate, well-equipped, well thought-out cabin we have ever stayed at. Believe the reviews. The location is breathtaking. The owners are wonderful. Just book it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect.
Liked least: We would not change a thing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2016
Dear Dr. G,
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! We can't thank you enough for the kind words and also taking the time to write such a sweet and strong endorsement! It warms our hearts and makes all the hard work worth it. Come gain. -Julie and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never wanted to leave”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Believe everything the reviewers say about Sandpiper Haven!
Wish we could have met the hosts to thank them in person with a hug, because that's how their home makes you feel- as if you age getting a huge, comforting hug. How can anyone anticipate the needs of so many guests and accommodate with such thoroughness and cleanliness! And the location...photos cannot capture the perfection of the views, the beach, the garden.
We have traveled the world, but have rarely felt this way about any place we stayed. Sandpiper Haven is simple perfection!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Proximity of neighbor
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2016
Wow Elizabeth. You really humbled us and made us feel so nice to hear your thoughts about your stay at our lovely home. We really appreciate the kind words and taking time to put it in writing. Do come again! -Julie and Peter (and I'm gonna hope for that hug, too, next time).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefront...
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Everything we wanted for our getaway”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Comfortable, clean, cozy. Everything we needed to enjoy time spent at the house, including an impressive set of toys and art for our young daughter. Location was perfect - private, beautiful, right on the beach for an amazing view out all the water facing windows, and super easy beach combing and boating any time without hassle. Everything for enjoying the incredible location was also covered - clamming, digging, collecting, playing, and the boats with gear, as well as amazing deck, firepit (check for wasps), and grill. Close to Coupeville and good base for rest of island, but we were so content and occupied at the house/beach, we hardly left. Julie was very responsive and very helpful with questions and recommendations. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/beach
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2016
Dear Robin, Thank you so much for taking the time to put into words your enjoyment of our property. That means so much to us. And I'm particularly pleased your daughter had plenty to do! Please come again! -Julie and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin H
1 review
“We spent the weekend blissfully drinking coffee and watching the tide change”
Reviewed March 2, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I almost hesitate to rate and review this place so highly because I'm afraid that if it becomes too popular it will be impossible to book - and I'm already planning our next trip. But we were so impressed I feel like I need to express that for them.

First, the location - we usually have stayed in various places in the southern part of Whidbey, and this was just beyond where we would normally drive to (we have been vacationing to Whidbey for several years, several times a year). But it was easy to access (not far off of the main road, and yet very quiet), and not as far as I had imagined.

Second, the setting. Looking out the living room, there is a completely unobscured view of Penn Cove - perfect, beautiful, and inspiring. We could barely bring ourselves to do anything but stare at the water from the living room. (Granted, we visited in winter and had an infant in tow, so we didn't have ambitions of doing much else anyway - but it was really hard to tear ourselves away even to go out to eat).

Third, the accomodations - the house is perfectly set up for a small family or a few couples to get away together. It is open and comfortable, and had everything you could need for a getaway (including niceities like spare toiletries in case you forgot something - better than a hotel!). They had crab pots and fishing poles, etc, which we fully intend to use on our next visit. They had games up the wazoo. It was extremely easy to feel at home.

So we'll definitely be returning, and you should stay there too.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2016
Dear Caitlin, We are just tickled pink that you had such a lovely stay and thank you for the extremely kind review, and so thorough! We appreciate your added efforts to put your thoughts down. You summed Sandpiper Haven up so nicely and our goal of creating a space folks want to come back to year after year. Thank you and of course, do come again! Julie and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia C
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend getaay”
Reviewed January 21, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This was the perfect place for a wee holiday. There was nothing lacking, we had everything to cook up wonderful meals (better equipped than home!). The beach views from the living room were amazing. Easy access to the beach. There is a fire pit, which we plan on using when we come back.
The location is perfect for exploring the island, it is close to the ferry to Port Townsend, go as a walk on and spend a nice afternoon enjoying the sites and shops in this historic town.
Good restaurants in Coupville. Christopher's and Toby's were our highlights.
All 4 of our group would highly recommend this lovely vacation home!
We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beach view
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2016
Thank you, Cynthia for your kind comments and we are so pleased you enjoyed the long weekend at our home - even in January. I have the same thoughts that Sandpiper Haven has a better-equipped kitchen than our own. So glad you were able to enjoy that and so much more. We are looking forward to having you back! -Julie and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing