We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet deal for a great room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Acorn Motor Inn to your Saves list
Acorn Motor Inn
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Oak Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sweet deal for a great room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Upon entering, I felt at ease. Nice decor and welcoming. Excited to be on a date with my husband, far from Seattle, I felt we were given special treatment. We were upgraded to a king sized room at no extra charge. The room was gorgeous! The furniture was beautiful. The TV was huge. It was clean, cozy and inviting. I would have been happy just staying in and curling up on the love seat for movie night, but we had plans in Oak Harbor. A simple continental breakfast of toasted bagel and coffee was an added bonus. I could not have been more pleased with our experience. One of our best date nights ever.

Room Tip: If you call the hotel directly, you can skip the on line service charge. As if the price isn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pattio666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Acorn Inn was the last stop on our journey through the San Juan Islands and my only wish was that we had stayed there the entire trip. The price was the most reasonable of the hotels we stayed at, yet it was the nicest and cleanest. The hotel offers ample parking, morning coffee and pastries, and is conveniently located near local restaurants and tourist attractions. I am looking forward to returning to Oak Harbor and the Acorn Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjaRaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Center, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a newly re-modeled motel. Room was very spacious and clean,with some very nice unique furnishings. Smaller motel, clean, and quiet during the day and night. Wi-fi worked great, and 68 channels of T.V. to choose from. There is a great seafood place, Seabolts, a 1 block walk from the motel, that I would highly recommend, with moderate prices. We came here on business, and will definitely come back on our next trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEQUIM
Level Contributor
178 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Like another recent reviewer, I can't understand why some folks are knocking this fantastic Inn. There is absolutely no other place in Oak Harbor where you can stay in a beautiful room with two queen size beds for $59. The closest price for similar accommodations was over $100 per night in Oak Harbor. I read the reviews that said the manager, Gary Wing, made some comments about preferring customers to book direct with the Inn instead of using a booking service (which by the way can take 8.5%-20% of the price of the room). For $59, I wanted to make sure they got the entire amount of the money, so they can keep the prices low!!! There was no problem with reserving the room by phone - we got exactly what we requested. Keep in mind that they have recently spent about $1 million refurbishing this place (I stayed there many years ago before the renovation and it was very "dated" back then). Like another reviewer said, "don't judge a book by its cover". It doesn't look like much from the outside because all their money for renovation went into their rooms. For example, our room (#219) had a completely tiled shower/bath, solid wood headboards on the beds, extremely comfortable "living room" type chairs (best we have ever had in a hotel); solid wood dresser drawer (with tongue and groove joints on the drawers), flat screen TV, comfortable beds, etc., etc., etc. The only "knock" on the place is that the room appears very small because the large and high quality furnishings!! Nevertheless, the room is extremely comfortable. The continental breakfast is very limited, but the muffins are huge! Keep in mind, folks, we're talking rates of $59-$69 for all this!! Make your reservation by calling Gary at the Acorn Inn instead of booking on-line. You'll help all future visitors to this outstanding property enjoy excellent accommodations at an extremely good price!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjnjjwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My daughter and I were extremely tired by the time we got to Whidbey Island so we appreciated a first floor room that was clean, pleasant, comfortable, and had free Hi-Speed Internet. It was well placed to local stores and as with everything on Whidbey Island, close to sightseeing. The breakfast was adequate. Certainly for the price, it was an excellent choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharleneMinshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

While I rate this as average, the rooms were clean and the bed very comfortable. It is not a 5 star motel but it was very satisfactory to us. Muffins and bagels with coffee and OJ for breakfast. A refrigerator in room and a microwave. There was a Safeway(6am opening) across busy street with a light, some fast food and a Walmart close by. There was a nice beach withing walking distance if you were a regular walker. I would stay in this motel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyable and restful overnight stay at this inn. Room was spacious and clean - parking convenient.
We didn't eat the breakfast offerings as had other plans, but noticed basic items were offered.
Good choice for overnight on Oak Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WKGuy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
5.6 mi away
The Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Coachman Inn
The Coachman Inn
#3 of 4 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
2.0 mi away
Auld Holland Inn
Auld Holland Inn
#5 of 7 in Oak Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
5.0 mi away
Garden Isle Guest Cottages
Garden Isle Guest Cottages
#3 of 14 in Coupeville
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Motor Inn

Address: 31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Motor Inn Was Completely Renovated Recently and Has #1 Luxury, New Upscale and The Most Beautiful Hotel Rooms in Oak Harbor and Whidbey Island.Free Hi-Speed Internet, free HBO channels, free continental breakfast, large flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator in room, some kitchen units, honeymoon suite, centrally located, walk to city beach, few minutes to navy base, most reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Acorn Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#