We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great rooms! Very clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Acorn Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Oak Harbor B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great rooms! Very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Hotel seems very well maintained and looks like its in a consistent state of deep cleaning. Rooms get very dark at night- great if your light sensitive bad if you're a frequent night bathroomer- would be awesome to have a small night light in the bathroom- will have to pack our own in the future. Huge TVs, ornate furniture. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sqrrllvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    40
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
42
59
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

In short, it is a good place to stay. All is new, starting from soft bed, wallpapers/paint, and fixture in bathroom. You will not expect this from the outside. The State Hwy 20 is busy and noisy during the day, but it was not a problem during the night. You will find Wallgreen, and Safeway next door, and Wallmart is a few blocks away.
One of the extra pillow was kind of dirty, but they replaced it next day.
The breakfast is very limited: bread, toasts, and jam plus cofee and/or tea. However the rates ($) are simply great. Also, the owner told us that dealing directly with the hotel (rather than with the booking agencies) would save us the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tzd60820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Our room was very nice and clean, with beautiful furnishings. The owner was friendly. But, like others have mentioned, though, don't book online - call and reserve your room directly. The owner added $16.50 to our charges for the "online booking fee." The hotel failed to provide this disclosure when they listed themselves with Expedia, which is not a good tactic at all. We thought we had chosen a less expensive hotel in town, but it turns out we could have stayed at another property for less money and gotten points for our rewards account. We try to "stay local, eat local" on our journeys, but we aren't willing to pay a premium to do so when there is a trusted brand for a comparable price. As mynewstart77 says, this was a "bait and switch."

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We just dropped in needing a room to stay one night and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the interior furnishings compared to what I expected by the appearance of the dated exterior. I would definitely stay again as it was clean, quiet, comfortable and friendly. What a beautiful renovation! Thanks Acorn Inn!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a no frills hotel.
The rooms are newly remodeled, the place is clean and the owner friendly. Not bad for the price but call and book direct to avoid billing trouble. The owner has an accent and can be hard to understand so have a clean phone line when you book.

Room Tip: Take second floor rear rooms away from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We needed only a place to put our heads for 4 night, not a fancy resort. We booked the Acorn based on the preponderance of good reviews on TripAdvisor, and on the advice of one review, booked the "single room". With only one Queen bed and two quite comfortable, large chairs, it was great!

The owner, is a very pleasant (if sometimes a bit hard to understand) and helpful chap, who lowered the price by $20 per night without our asking, in return for the 4 nght stay. For the price, basic and clean would have been fine, but the room was lovely! Spotlessly clean, large, comfortable and fully renovated. I've stayed in rooms at $200/night that did not match the quality and cleanliness of the Acorn Inn.

The bed was very comfortable and my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Don't be fooled by the outside. This is an older hotel, that the new owner apparently closed for a half year, to completely renovate the place. We have friends on Whidbey Island, and you can bet we'll stay there, again!

Room Tip: If there are just two of you, go for the "single room". Nicely appointed, and one bed is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Enjoyed the cozy comfort at this non-descript inn near Oak Harbor's historic downtown. Would I stay here again? Absolutely. The interior of the hotel was recently remodeled. The colors are warm and the furnishings tastefully plush. It's very obvious that the owner takes excellent care of the place: the room was spotless and the flowers outside were gorgeous. It is an excellent value for the money. Only things I'd change: We had the large 1-bedroom suite with jetted tub. When the cleaning staff cleaned the tub, they weren't aware that the jets need to be turned straight or down, not up. The back jets were pointed up and created a bit of a mess until I could get them adjusted. Also, as large as the living room is, it needs a game or small dining table and a couple of chairs to fill the space and create a pleasant spot for in-room breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
5.6 mi away
The Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Coachman Inn
The Coachman Inn
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
2.0 mi away
Auld Holland Inn
Auld Holland Inn
#4 of 6 in Oak Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Motor Inn

Property: Acorn Motor Inn
Address: 31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Motor Inn Was Completely Renovated Recently and Has #1 Luxury, New Upscale and The Most Beautiful Hotel Rooms in Oak Harbor and Whidbey Island.Free Hi-Speed Internet, free HBO channels, free continental breakfast, large flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator in room, some kitchen units, honeymoon suite, centrally located, walk to city beach, few minutes to navy base, most reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Acorn Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing